PDA

View Full Version : Confused about using SLI with Rog Raidr



Uclydde
01-28-2014, 11:46 AM
When I was reading the FAQ for the Rog Raidr, I got kind of confused as to the part about SLI. I want to use a Maximus VI formula board with 2 graphics cards and 1 Raidr, so where should I put each part so the Raidr doesn't hinder the SLI setup? Thanks!

HiVizMan
01-30-2014, 12:52 PM
33020

I would say the bottom slot with the 4 on it.

Nate152
01-31-2014, 09:43 AM
Yep HiVizMan is correct, Raidr goes in the x4 slot, Nvidia cards need x8 to function.

Praz
01-31-2014, 01:58 PM
Using the bottom PCIe x16 slot for anything will result in the second PCIe x16 slot dropping to x4 which will disable SLI.

HiVizMan
01-31-2014, 04:12 PM
Praz I hear you but where is the ROG RAIDR meant to be fitted in this case?

Praz
01-31-2014, 04:21 PM
If using SLI slot 3 is not an option for anything. For SLI and a third PCIe x4 or greater device this motherboard was the wrong choice.

Nate152
01-31-2014, 06:01 PM
Ah yes I see now, Looks like you could use the Raidr with X fire with this board but not SLI.

HiVizMan
01-31-2014, 06:31 PM
If using SLI slot 3 is not an option for anything. For SLI and a third PCIe x4 or greater device this motherboard was the wrong choice.

Thanks Praz for clearing that up.

Uclydde
02-01-2014, 09:18 PM
If using SLI slot 3 is not an option for anything. For SLI and a third PCIe x4 or greater device this motherboard was the wrong choice.

So there's no way to use SLI with a ROG RAIDR with this board?

Nate152
02-01-2014, 09:29 PM
Not with that board, you could with the Maximus VI Extreme.

Uclydde
02-01-2014, 10:44 PM
So what would be the layout with that?

Nate152
02-01-2014, 10:52 PM
Maximus VI extreme pci express lanes are like this :

1 card x16
2 cards x8 x8
3 cards x8 x16 x8
4 cards x8 x16 x8 x8

Praz
02-02-2014, 01:38 AM
So there's no way to use SLI with a ROG RAIDR with this board?
Using any PCIe device in the third slot will result in not being able to use SLI. This is a limitation of the Haswell CPU. Viable workarounds include using a motherboard that incorporates a PLEX chip such as the Maximus VI Extreme, a motherboard that has the 3rd slot PCIe lanes coming from the south bridge or moving to the 2011 platform.

Uclydde
02-02-2014, 05:19 PM
Using any PCIe device in the third slot will result in not being able to use SLI. This is a limitation of the Haswell CPU. Viable workarounds include using a motherboard that incorporates a PLEX chip such as the Maximus VI Extreme, a motherboard that has the 3rd slot PCIe lanes coming from the south bridge or moving to the 2011 platform.

Thank you!

welshy46
02-09-2014, 10:47 AM
Using any PCIe device in the third slot will result in not being able to use SLI. This is a limitation of the Haswell CPU. Viable workarounds include using a motherboard that incorporates a PLEX chip such as the Maximus VI Extreme, a motherboard that has the 3rd slot PCIe lanes coming from the south bridge or moving to the 2011 platform.

I think I bought the wrong board. I'm running a single 290x and a Raidr ssd on my MVIF, glad I saw this thread before I bought a second 290x. Which was going to be next week, nice one Praz and Nate for sharing. I was originally going to get the MVIE but settled on the MVIF thinking it was all the board I'd need. Thanks again, this has saved a lot of head scratching.

Nate152
02-09-2014, 04:43 PM
I think I bought the wrong board. I'm running a single 290x and a Raidr ssd on my MVIF, glad I saw this thread before I bought a second 290x. Which was going to be next week, nice one Praz and Nate for sharing. I was originally going to get the MVIE but settled on the MVIF thinking it was all the board I'd need. Thanks again, this has saved a lot of head scratching.

Hi Welshy, You can use the Raidr Express with X Fire on the Formula VI board but not SLI. The pcie lanes go like this for 3 cards x8 x4 x4. AMD cards only need x4 to work where Nvidia needs x8.

welshy46
02-09-2014, 09:50 PM
Nate sir,cheers for that. Had my xb all measured up for a MVIE. I wasn't looking forward to having to shell out for a new board and water blocks on top of another card and block. just to keep my trusty Raidr. I had considered a pair of Samsung 240gb ssd's in raid and 3 290x, and ditching the Raidr. Probably stick with 2 for now, time to finish my build and get back to Bf4. Thanks again, AMD ftw

1Shotwonder
04-02-2014, 04:19 PM
dang well there goes the wonderful idea of using my formula and sli 780s with the raidr ;/