PDA

View Full Version : SSD as Primary Drive

Nystik
01-30-2014, 12:15 PM
Hi all,

Just purchased an ASUS ROG G750JW which arrived today, and so far I'm very happy with it. The laptop came with a 1TB HDD and 256GB SSD. Although I can see that both drives are installed, it seems that the entire operating system has been installed onto the HDD by default (as the SSD has an empty space usage). I'm looking to put good use to my SSD and complete a fresh install where the OS will be booted directly from the SSD. I plan to first make USB and disk backups of the OS before attempting to do so.

I'm no tech expert, so I was wondering if there are any step-by-step guides on how to freshly install the OS (Windows 8) onto the SSD, and enable it as the primary booter? I wish to use the extra 1TB HDD as secondary storage. I don't need to clone anything as there are no documents stored besides the OS at the moment.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.

EDIT: This is what I can see under disk management
http://i57.tinypic.com/ziommx.png

Myk SilentShadow
01-30-2014, 12:32 PM
Go to www.asus.com click on Support, type in your model number and hit enter. Click the drop down box under OS and choose relevant version and look at the utilities drop down list and look for ASUS Backtracker. Download and install it to your laptop and then run it. There should be a guide in the main G Series laptops Forum :)

Welcome to the ROG Forums :)

gazzacbr
01-30-2014, 12:50 PM
... and then see if you can find the numpty that installed it like this and give them a severe thrashing.
geez, what are they doing?
what exactly was the point of installing an empty ssd?

looking on the bright side, take this as a good oppertunity to install a clean os and ditch all the asus bloat/crapware.
there is a good guide in these forms (win 7 and win 8)

Nystik
01-30-2014, 12:50 PM
Hi,