PDA

View Full Version : Memory upgrade advice?



rdiscipio1
02-12-2014, 01:38 AM
I am looking to upgrade my G750JW from 8gb to 16gb, so I am looking for 2 x 4gb of something that will play nice with what I have, and possibly a link or 2 for purchasing purpose...?

Currently I have:

2 x 4gb Samsung M471B5173BH0-YK0 @ 1.35 VOLTS


Any specific, and possibly tested to work, recommendations?

Thanks!

Antronman
02-12-2014, 01:41 AM
DO NOT MIX RAM KITS!!! Try this: http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-1866c10d-16grsl

rdiscipio1
02-12-2014, 01:52 AM
Are you saying I need to find a matching pair to what I already have? Surely there are tried and tested kits available to work otherwise, no?

Thanks for the advice & link though!

rdiscipio1
02-13-2014, 12:28 AM
Anyone else...?

cl-Albert
02-13-2014, 01:34 AM
Unfortunately, don't mix or upgrade RAM much myself, so hopefully we can get more opinions, but thought I would run some things by you below to think about.

1. Not sure if you noticed, but the gskill website provided in post #2 has a RAM configurator that you can check to find out which memory they list (approve?) for your G750JW which actually appears to be different from the memory in post #2 if this matters: http://www.gskill.com/en/configurator?manu=29&chip=687&model=1532

2. If it makes you feel better, most other major memory manufacturers will often list (approved or suggested?) memory for ASUS notebooks and products on their website that you can search for, but you might also want to check what options they offer if you find problems using it (and you might also ask what they think about mixing memory, but they probably will not recommend it).
Actually not sure how much anybody pays attention to this, so may be something else to get opinions about from people upgrading memory.

3. You may have seen this sticky thread already, but if not, you may want to check it although I really haven't been checking it too carefully: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?33744-Upgraders-1.35V-memory-is-required!

Well, hope you find some of this information useful.

rdiscipio1
02-13-2014, 01:39 AM
Unfortunately, don't mix or upgrade RAM much myself, so hopefully we can get more opinions, but thought I would run some things by you below to think about.

1. Not sure if you noticed, but the gskill website provided in post #2 has a RAM configurator that you can check to find out which memory they list (approve?) for your G750JW which actually appears to be different from the memory in post #2 if this matters: http://www.gskill.com/en/configurator?manu=29&chip=687&model=1532

2. If it makes you feel better, most other major memory manufacturers will often list (approved or suggested?) memory for ASUS notebooks and products on their website that you can search for, but you might also want to check what options they offer if you find problems using it (and you might also ask what they think about mixing memory, but they probably will not recommend it).
Actually not sure how much anybody pays attention to this, so may be something else to get opinions about from people upgrading memory.

3. You may have seen this sticky thread already, but if not, you may want to check it although I really haven't been checking it too carefully: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?33744-Upgraders-1.35V-memory-is-required!

Well, hope you find some of this information useful.

Good stuff, thanks for the info! I have however looked over what you have mentioned, I was just hoping someone may have done the exact same thing as I am trying to do and could offer up what they found to work.

Thanks!

alistairh
02-13-2014, 10:32 PM
I have upgraded mine i just got 1.35 v 1600 cl11 like the the samsung that it came with. Gskill ones.

Have had no problems at all. 2mins to fit them and turn on and it just works.

To be honest the biggest difference wasn`t more ram it was fitting a ssd. Put the win index from 5.1 ish up to 7.3.


http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-1600c11d-8grsl

These are the ones i got.

rdiscipio1
02-14-2014, 12:51 AM
I have upgraded mine i just got 1.35 v 1600 cl11 like the the samsung that it came with. Gskill ones.

Have had no problems at all. 2mins to fit them and turn on and it just works.

To be honest the biggest difference wasn`t more ram it was fitting a ssd. Put the win index from 5.1 ish up to 7.3.


http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-1600c11d-8grsl

These are the ones i got.

Thanks, I am looking at the exact ones except the 2x4 kit.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231726

I already put in a Samsung EVO and I agree it is a nice addition, I simply want the extra ram for convenience sake and really think anything over 16gb for me is overkill.

alistairh
02-14-2014, 01:23 AM
Well all i can say is that it works for my machine and zero problems.

Not much point going for different spec than whats fitted in it already. I can agree that mixing spec of installed ram is just asking for trouble even though there may not be any. Different makers shouldn`t make any difference as long as you keep them paired on channels

I agree same for me they didn`t have the 4gb kits in stock only the 1866 cl10 would have had to wait an undisclosed time for the 1600 cl11 so just got the 8gb kit anyway as i process RAW photos and edit some video. So far i haven`t even used over 10gb to be honest. But its nice that it never pages to disk how much you have open

Darnassus
02-14-2014, 06:16 PM
Well all i can say is that it works for my machine and zero problems.

Not much point going for different spec than whats fitted in it already. I can agree that mixing spec of installed ram is just asking for trouble even though there may not be any. Different makers shouldn`t make any difference as long as you keep them paired on channels

I agree same for me they didn`t have the 4gb kits in stock only the 1866 cl10 would have had to wait an undisclosed time for the 1600 cl11 so just got the 8gb kit anyway as i process RAW photos and edit some video. So far i haven`t even used over 10gb to be honest. But its nice that it never pages to disk how much you have open

Thanks for sharing your experience with the community! :3

rdiscipio1
02-23-2014, 12:59 AM
Just wanted to update I installed the memory I listed in post #8 and it is working perfectly.