PDA

View Full Version : G74 performance problems in SC2



ChikNoods
02-12-2014, 01:47 AM
Recently my performance in sc2 has been terrible. I'm getting around 150FPS, but it feels like im playing at around 20. Sometimes it dips to 50fps.

I just reformatted about 2 weeks ago. Scanned for virii, malware etc. nothing, everything is updated and no dust present. I feel like my GPU is choking or something. Any suggestions on bad FPS in SC2 after 2.1 patch.

Maybe there is a better clock speed should run at?

fresh out of game: http://i.imgur.com/6FZFWQv.png

in game: http://i.imgur.com/eivaEHx.png

System Model: G74Sx
BIOS: BIOS Date: 09/23/11 16:59:53 Ver: 04.06.03
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8170MB RAM
Page File: 4259MB used, 12077MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

Nate152
02-12-2014, 05:28 AM
150 FPS is not poor performance, in fact that is great. In Nvidia control panel, manage 3d settings, set v-sync to application controlled then in SC2 video options enable v-sync. Give that a try and see if it doesn't play better for you.

ChikNoods
02-12-2014, 06:13 PM
150 FPS is not poor performance, in fact that is great. In Nvidia control panel, manage 3d settings, set v-sync to application controlled then in SC2 video options enable v-sync. Give that a try and see if it doesn't play better for you.

nono, thats not the problem. My system says 150fps but it feels like im playing at sub 30 fps. There is a noticeable lag when making actions. I cant tell if its my network, my system or other players systems. vsync enabled on anything I feel is terrible. I rarely use that, only if i have screen tearing will I enable it.

I'll start with 150fps displayed on screen and end up with 80 a few minutes into the game. It's just started to do this after the 2.1 patch.

I set the cpu to 100% @ 2600 with my GPU at 819/1800/1625 -- i picked up 5 to 10 fps, but problem is slightly still there. I know i had a high ping to battlenet, maybe that is it, I'm not sure. I know its a huge problem based off blizz forums, but I just wanted to post here to see if anyone else experienced this and solved it.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Nate152
02-12-2014, 10:42 PM
High ping will most definitely give you lag. If you experienced this after the game patch, you could try uninstalling the game, reinstall it and play for a bit without updating to patch 2.1. If it plays better without the patch do not update it.