PDA

View Full Version : G74SX slow post + BSOD

arhanka
09-22-2011, 03:36 AM
Hello! Me again!

Well this is the closest thread I can find related to my problems.
My baby girl is sick.

The probem started yesterday. I booted her to show her off to my friend on how fast she is. And it took serious time. I mean serious time, like a minute or more, from a SSD drive...
And now... blue screens.
As I've stated before, I'm an amateur tops at these things.
Now I've done a hardware checkup, and everything seems to be running smoothly. The only thing arguable is that the fans has been starting to sound a bit sometimes, also started yesterday.

SO the problems are the following: Boot time is extended (most of the times) to sometimes minute(s) and suddenly bluescreens of death appear.

The only thing I've done thats questionable is that I had her in sleepermode, didn't shut her off, and put her in my backpack. That was done out of stupidity and I forgot to turn her off frankly. Don't know if it has anything to do with anything but I kissed her and asked for forgiveness.

xeromist
09-22-2011, 07:33 PM
*moved to dedicated thread since not related to xai mouse*

First, disable restart on BSOD so you can see the error:
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows7/ht/automatic-restart-windows-7.htm

Next look in the Windows Event Viewer to see if there is a useful error message:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Open-Event-Viewer

grungeboy2
09-23-2011, 12:54 AM
something's wrong with it. try pulling the SSD and run it with the regular hard drive to see if you have the same problems (if you can't because your OS is no longer on the factory drive, i can understand but you'll need to backup your stuff anyway).

to be honest, it sounds like you need to RMA it. but maybe the problem might be with the SSD itself (might be a bad SSD).

i would troubleshoot it by switching back to the old drive and seeing if the problem persists.

Chastity@ASUS
09-23-2011, 07:25 PM