PDA

View Full Version : My asus G53SX keyboard backlights wont turn on anymore, why?

mikezzz2012
02-27-2014, 01:54 PM
I tried pressing Fn+F3 or F4 but it wont turn on the keyboard lights. Also my trackpad doesnt work anymore, also the left and right button on the trackpad. Do I need to update something? I clicked "start-DXDIAG-run" and it shows that my BIOS is BIOS DATE:12/20/11 09:47:09 VER 04.06.03.

Is there something I need to update? Im a noob when it comes to computers and this is my first laptop ever, so can anyone please help me please? What do I need to update or download? And if its possible can you please provide me a link of what I should download? PLEASE help me anyone. Thank you .

Just a brief history. I bought this laptop last year of June. Then Last October of last year I checked this in a flight,( stupid me, I should have hand carried it") so when I got it back, the screen was all crap, all green, no picture. So since I live in the Philippines, I had to send this to Vancouver Canada Best Buy where my dad bought it,to have it repaired. The guy said the problem was only lose wiring but he only had to open it in the Asus place so the warranty wont be void. So Today,after 4 months of waiting, I Got it back and these additional problems show

1. This copy of windows is not genuine
2.Trackpad doesnt function anymore
3. Keyboard backlights wont work

please someone help... what should I do.

cl-Albert
02-27-2014, 06:18 PM
1. This copy of windows is not genuine
2.Trackpad doesnt function anymore
3. Keyboard backlights wont work

I'll discuss these issues separately below.

1. There might be different reasons for this, but you may want to try installilng all the important/critical Windows updates (try to avoid the optional updates unless you are sure you need them) since your Windows has probably just not been updated in a while and will hopefully be recognized as a genuine copy again after the updates are installed.