PDA

View Full Version : Dual 1366 overclocking please!



xeromist
08-19-2010, 06:20 PM
Intel's Nehalem has a lot of potential for overclocking which has been well exploited in the mass market thus far but the one place that we're severely lacking in options is the dual socket Xeon Nehalems. I know that ASUS does not currently have or plan to have such a dual socket board but I'd like to express an interest in having one in case the idea can gain traction.

I have a workstation using the Z8NA-D6 which is a nice board (especially for its size) but I feel somewhat limited. My memory only runs at 1066 even though the memory I had available when I built this can run up to 1600. The processors are running cool and sipping a tiny amount of voltage, well under what EPS can supply but I have no option to make them run faster.

At this point the only option I have is the EVGA SR-2 which has a ton of features that I don't need and a price tag of $600. I know I'm not the only one who would like to see an alternative. In my mind it doesn't even have to differ from a server board that much. Possibly two PCI-E slots for SLI but I don't see a need for the 7 slots that the SR-2 has. Heck, I'd be happy with my D6 if it could overclock with a modded BIOS. I don't even care if I have to void the warranty to do so.

ASUS makes the MARS which are arguably the most overkill cards on the planet but we don't have a motherboard to put them in. ;)

V2-V3
08-20-2010, 08:41 PM
I also would like to see ASUS release an Enthusiast BIOS for their flagship server board, I dont even care about hardware changes I just want to be able to Overclock it in the bios.

basic options like Voltages, BCLK, CPU Multiplier, QPI, Uncore, and RAM Dividers are all that is needed. And I will mod the board is the BIOS cant supply enough juice :D

If ASUS had a dual 1366 board that could be overclocked we would see some purely amazing scores!

Brian@ASUS
08-20-2010, 09:38 PM
currently not going to happen.

Kaboom
08-20-2010, 11:01 PM
Don't be such a fun killer, Brian! lol

DarthBeavis
08-21-2010, 12:33 AM
he said currently. if you move the mouse the other direction during a cold bug we might be able to travel forward and time and acquire said motherboard. We would need to take the present Brian to the future so he could talk to future Brian CEO of Asus - in order to get the board.

xeromist
08-23-2010, 04:28 AM
currently not going to happen.

That's OK, I'm just putting it out there in case it could happen maybe someday ;) If the wind changes direction, I want to be there to catch it.

V2-V3
08-30-2010, 07:50 PM
Im thinking we just need to order a few boards and hack one ourselves :D thats how read world records are made!

xeromist
08-30-2010, 09:13 PM
Im thinking we just need to order a few boards and hack one ourselves :D thats how read world records are made!

I'd have no problem with the idea of writing a custom BIOS if I could even begin to understand how to do so. I'm a programmer, but not that type of programmer. Got any suggested reading? :D

V2-V3
08-30-2010, 09:44 PM
well to start, we wont kill our selves with trying to write a new BIOS just yet.... best place to start is with in OS OC software like SetFSB (http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/)
we can contact Abo to make a clock gen for the dual socket motherboards PLL controller. We just need to get the model # off the PLL chip on the motherboard and get a register dump from the system to Abo so he can program for the specific PLL.

know anyone with a ASUS Z8PE-D18(ASMB4-IKVM) Motherboard? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131379)

for voltage control we will need to get the model # of the voltage control chips on the board, research the spec sheets for them and do some board level soldering, adding trimmers and such. this will get us the voltage control we want :D

xeromist
08-31-2010, 03:44 AM
know anyone with a ASUS Z8PE-D18(ASMB4-IKVM) Motherboard? (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131379)

Afraid not. I know another guy running dual xeons but he hasn't been answering my PM's and I've no idea if he's even got an ASUS board. Why that specific board anyway?

elpin
03-16-2011, 11:46 AM
Sorry to wake up an old thread but I have the ASUS Z8PE-D18 motherboard and looking to overclock the two Xeons. Those processors get really expensive higher clock they are so overclocking is really worth-while.

If I can help making some software overclocking solution by telling you the PLL number or something, let me know...

xeromist
03-16-2011, 05:37 PM
You may want to PM Travis (V2-V3) if he hasn't seen your post in a couple of days.

Brian@ASUS
03-16-2011, 06:59 PM
elpin, that board will not have the OC bios support sorry

V2-V3
03-24-2011, 04:29 AM
elpin,
It may be possible to use software like SetFSB to over clock the CPU's from within windows by increasing the BCLK.

are you able to locate the PLL chip (Clock generator) on the motherboard? if so could you post the model number and any other information written on the chip?

Dariusz
07-01-2011, 10:40 AM
I has the Z8PE-D18. Wot data do u need? Where can I find it.

ME WANT OC. :)

If asus wont get OC on this board I'm getting rid of my GPU asus n that D18 and going to EVGA... Seriously its been years since Z18 was released...

V2-V3
07-06-2011, 01:07 AM
I has the Z8PE-D18. Wot data do u need? Where can I find it.

ME WANT OC. :)

If asus wont get OC on this board I'm getting rid of my GPU asus n that D18 and going to EVGA... Seriously its been years since Z18 was released...



It may be possible to use software like SetFSB to over clock the CPU's from within windows by increasing the BCLK.

are you able to locate the PLL chip (Clock generator) on the motherboard? if so could you post the model number and any other information written on the chip?

If you can not find the PLL chip please take a high resolution picture of the motherboard and I will try to loate it

Dariusz
07-06-2011, 06:45 PM
Can u explain a little bit what is PLL chip? Or any hints where it could be located? Size/color/shape anything at all. Ill get my cam soon and take few pics too.

V2-V3
07-09-2011, 11:45 PM
Crack open your rig, get a flashlight if you need to and take a look at your motherboard specifically the area round the CPU you should see an oblong crystal (rounded sides, metallic looking chip) about 1cm long. It will have the number 14.3xxx MHz beside it.

Near that chip, you'll see a small IC (black chip). Look at it very closely. It should have a manufacturer tag or imprint and a series of numbers or alphanumeric codes -- this is your PLL.

Here are some example manufacturers and logo's of PLL chips

1854


And here are example PLL chips similar to what you will be looking for on your board


18551856

Dariusz
07-11-2011, 01:57 AM
Right. im off to look for it. Expect pics within 24h

thanks for help...

Dariusz
07-11-2011, 12:02 PM
186318641865186618671868

Let me know if its there. :)

V2-V3
07-13-2011, 07:30 PM
I see an ICS PLL chip hiding next to the PCIe slots can you get a better picture of this chip or read out the information on the top of it?

1869

Dariusz
07-14-2011, 07:18 PM
Heya

Sure, actually the image with that chip is on previous page :)

Or the link below :)

1865

Dariusz
07-15-2011, 04:06 PM
Heya

Soo u think there is any way of having save OC on this mobo ? :o

also I also have Winbond chip... o.o on previous page 1st picture...

V2-V3
07-16-2011, 06:35 AM
Heya

Soo u think there is any way of having save OC on this mobo ? :o

also I also have Winbond chip... o.o on previous page 1st picture...

I have found the required datasheet for the first PLL chip (ICS)

Can you get me a good image of the two chips and the information on top of them?

1881

its possible to ahve software auto start with the operating system and set the clocks.

Dariusz
07-16-2011, 08:31 PM
Heya

The small square chip is

EPU2
ASP0800
(ee cross chatch ? Like on the phones in corner) 0840
KATA8400052

U can see that chip on the ICS chip picture too

As to the bigger one next to ram, as you can see its under the PC cooler...soo I will need some time to get in there and take picture... are there any other chips u might need while im there? :s

And thanks alot for doing this ! This is gonna be huge on dual cpu market :D

V2-V3
07-17-2011, 05:41 AM
OK the EPU2 chip is for your CPU Voltage, it is possible I may find a way to adjust your CPU voltage beyond that in the BIOS

1887

Take note this is the same chip used to control the CPU PWM on the Rampage Extreme X48 Motherboard :D



As for the PLL Chip next to the ram this is the most important one and will be used for overclocking the CPU's BCLK

Can you do a few more things to help me?

I need to examine the chipset information using CPU-Z 1.50

Use this download link: http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/download/etc/cpuz_150.zip

Run CPUZ version 1.5, click o the "About" tab

click Registers Dump [.txt], and save the file. Could you send me the cpuz.txt file it generates?

Next download "SetFSB" http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/download/ver23/setfsb_2_3_166_131.zip

I need to examine the PLL data to see if it is possible
1) start SetFSB 2.3.166.131.
2) set the clock generator to “PLL diagnosis”.
3) click "Diagnosis" button.
4) click "Get FSB" button.
5) click "Capture" button.
Please send "Diagnosis" screenshot of the \setfsb_2_3_166_131\capture folder.

I sent you a private message with my email address

Dariusz
07-17-2011, 11:13 AM
Heya

Did all what u ask for, I just dont have ur email address... :). I'll post the info here then. I ran through it it looks like there is no top secret stuff in it :)
1915

Txt File is here :
http://www.dariuszmakowski.com/Fu/z18.rar

I havent got the Chip pics yet... I need to take of cooler if I'm not wrong so I'll get to it a bit later... Let me know if u need anything else in mean time...

The chip on rampage - I guess that the Z8pe-d18 its similar motherboard to deskopt series tbh. Just with few tweaks to reach server standards :)

Btw It is possible to control Ram speed separately right? I dont want to OC ram :s

V2-V3
07-22-2011, 04:52 AM
I got the email, thank you! I just need the picture of the PLL chip under the heatsink

cHaOserveR
07-23-2011, 09:50 AM
This is relevant to my interests.

Dariusz
07-25-2011, 12:39 PM
V2-V3 Right I'm on it. Sorry for taking it so long - just got a small project on my hands and I need workstation to get it done...


Btw I have a little issue with my rig atm. If I do any heavy memory work my software just quits the process. Usually when I hit 6+ GB at random it tends to crash... any idea what hardware can cause it ? I know its not software issue... :S

V2-V3
08-03-2011, 04:51 AM
Have you tested the system with memtest X86?

Dariusz
08-03-2011, 08:16 AM
Windows one - not memtest X86. But I did took out all 4 rams - leaving 2 and it still crashes with 8 gb of ram... so I assumed its not ram fault...

Thanks ! Still doing CGI project so I cant take pc apart :(

Dariusz
08-13-2011, 06:02 AM
Heya

Im attaching my pics below.

24202421

About the issue I had, it turn out it was motherboard - it was making a buzzing noise when accesing ram n so on so I send it back to RMA. I hope that eee chipsets on new one will be that same right?

I took a lot of pictures b4 I send it out so let me know if u need any more area too.

Also can I somehow not OC ram? I dont want to touch RAM just CPU...

Thanks, cya ! :)

Lightguide
02-23-2012, 07:20 AM
What was the final solution to this thread?

HiVizMan
02-23-2012, 09:32 AM
The board was defective and was returned (RMA)

Lightguide
02-23-2012, 02:31 PM
The board was defective and was returned (RMA)

Sorry, I should have been more specific. Is there a software fix for this board to overclock? They went through all the steps but I didn't see the solution. Would be very interested even if I had to start the process all over.

hayabusaxps
12-05-2015, 09:33 AM
from the pictures it seems like the PLL is the
suspect
cpu/ram ppl
ics 932S421BGLF
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/IDT/932S421BGLF/?qs=pgGgrEEC7Yp4cD9aQ3qajA%3D%3D

pcie ppl
ICS 9DB1200CGLF

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/IDT/9DB1200CGLF/?qs=O0BhuZj9Wky0lZNzBJeojg%3D%3D


also the top setfsb matches for intel ICS932S421BGLF (D5400XS)

http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/
updated site
ICS9148BF-26 (Gigabyte GA-6ZXC)
ICS9248BF-87 (Akimbo AP1200)
ICS9248BF-96 (Fujitsu FMV DESKPOWER C5/86WL)
ICS9248BF-102 (PC CHIPS M755LMR)
ICS9248AF-165 (ASUS CUV4X)
ICS9248EF-199 (Biostar M7SUA, Matsonic MS9357E )
ICS932S401EGLF (SuperMicro X7DA3+, Tyan Tempest i5400PW )
ICS932S421BGLF (Intel D5400XS, Tyan Tempest i5400XL )