PDA

View Full Version : how to run hwbor prime



Rockford
03-04-2014, 12:43 AM
1. you need to download a java (JRE) in order to launch the jar file

(Important) >
x64 for windows 64 bit
x86 for windows 32 bit

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html (clean)

34159

2. Download the benchmark> http://hwbot.org/benchmarks/processor unzip the file so you get the jar

3. Run the benchmark, and when you get a score, open cpu-z (3 tabs)/ , and hit save , it include a screen dump ( if i understand things right)

You now get a file to submit..

Please check the rules as usual, if i have missed something crucial

And dont forget to open cpu-z with the 3 tabs, BEFORE hitting the save result button..

Bring it on guys.. kör så skiten ryker (Swedish)

34160

Works even with a i5 3470 to earn a few easy points, and we dont want to miss out on them, do we?

34161

Rockford
03-04-2014, 12:50 AM
first time i downloaded this, ?? where the hell is the EXE file..:D

But you need that java thing

if you got any tweaks to share, please do, this is the thread..

Zka17
03-04-2014, 01:30 AM
Thanks! I have been thinking what other 2D benchmarks to run... this is useful!

Rockford
03-04-2014, 01:33 AM
yes, its a simple benchmark to run, try it..

its both globals and HW

i believe it possible to score very high in this benchmark with tweaked ram and cpu OC

Zka17
03-04-2014, 01:44 AM
I certainly will! :cool:

Dartmaul
03-04-2014, 09:52 AM
Paw please update the 1st post about it's very important to use x64 version of Java on x64 OSes. Using x86 instead would cause 5-7% score loss.

Rockford
03-04-2014, 12:18 PM
ok, thanks for telling

Rockford
03-04-2014, 12:22 PM
are you having any luck with this benchmark?

Rockford
03-04-2014, 01:30 PM
My only tweak was to boot up in diagnostic mode, tighten the timings slightly, and bump up the bclk to 105.2 = 4210mhz/1963mhz

Gunslinger
03-04-2014, 01:33 PM
Its not overly sensitive to memory speed or timings, so far the biggest variance (besides clock speeds) I've seen is related to what version of Java you're running.

Dartmaul
03-04-2014, 01:47 PM
are you having any luck with this benchmark?
http://hwbot.org/submission/2497805_dartmaul_hwbot_prime_core_i7_4930k_7432.03 _pps
Well, not sure about luck, but yes I submitted.

Rockford
03-04-2014, 01:50 PM
You need some superchilled MGH dart..:D

Just kidding, well not a bad score..

Menthol
03-04-2014, 02:32 PM
Nice thread Paw, always good to see you around and with flowers and bambi

Rockford
03-04-2014, 02:46 PM
I am going to get more involved soon, you guys need some Swedish sparks.. its too sane in here now..


Bambi tampon--->>

34168

Arne Saknussemm
03-07-2014, 11:27 AM
Aye Aye cap'n.....will get onto this....my rig is undergoing transformation....

Rockford
03-07-2014, 03:07 PM
Like this?

34233

Arne Saknussemm
03-07-2014, 03:57 PM
More to this...

34234

Rockford
03-07-2014, 04:08 PM
**shiver**

twisted1
03-07-2014, 08:06 PM
Found an interesting thread over at the hwbot forums, with tweaks/tips for hwbot prime. Claims that you can get 250-300p more with the correct
setup :)

http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=98376

Rockford
03-08-2014, 01:50 PM
Thanks for posting TW..

flexnl
03-15-2014, 01:03 AM
i hear LINUX is great for this benchmark... should gain you some points

twisted1
03-15-2014, 02:55 AM
Linux is faster at just about everything, also better in every aspect if you ask me(except for the fact that most benchmarks run on win)

OpenGL performance is also much better on linux, even though the drivers for linux are faaaar from optimized since they don't release the source code for them.

You can run it on android devices also, haven't tried that yet. Have submitted OC results for two cellphones though. You even get points and everything.

http://hwbot.org/submission/2514919_

Menthol
03-15-2014, 04:52 PM
twisted1,
WTH, benching a phone, whats next

Rockford
03-15-2014, 05:07 PM
benching your pacemaker...

8 Pack
03-16-2014, 10:49 PM
Guys you done any testing with this one?? OS version of Java etc?? I need some help to get efficient fast. I have binned some 4930K two infact ready to whoop the bench.

Just need OS and Java version thats most efficient.

Rockford
03-16-2014, 11:11 PM
The java version in the OP is something i just grabbed, without doing any deeper research..

Tweaker status unknown..

i scored quite a bit higher than the rest with the 3470, considering we all are on a CAP

Only 6 persons had submitted this benchmark, running a 3470, so its hard to tell (if its the tweaker or the software)

34623

Arne Saknussemm
03-17-2014, 03:14 PM
I haven't run this yet so no first hand info...this guy reckons Java JRE 7u45 x64 I think....Paw?

http://www.techsweden.org/forum/topic/24875-prestandaskillnader-i-hwbot-prime-mellan-olika-java-versioner/

(http://www.techsweden.org/forum/topic/24875-prestandaskillnader-i-hwbot-prime-mellan-olika-java-versioner/)"Conclusion, use the Java JRE 7u45 x64. Uninstall other JAVA installations, such as a 32-bit version before installing the JRE 7u45 x64. To be sure that you really use 64-bit version."

But you can probably compile some version tailored to run the bench if you have the knowledge or access to someone who does....

Doug2507
03-17-2014, 06:55 PM
64 bit 7u51 is what i used. OS was fresh 7 64 with no updates but hopefully get some time to run it on Vista over the next week.

I'll re-run over the next couple of days with ram oc'd as well and also try running with 2x2/4x4/2x8 at some point. (current sub 2x4 stock dom). 4x2gb psc might be worth a shout as well, TASOS is the only one with better efficiency than myself right now for ambient and that was running 4x2gb sector 5.

Diagnostic will probably help. Run on fresh boot, highest scores come in around run 3-5, after that it's downhill. I'm not techy enough to understand why but assume it's down to mem usage.

Running in real time can work against you. I found above normal/high to be best.

Apart from that i'm still learning it myself!

Edit: I'll test all ram & OS configs for it next week. :) (anyone got 4 sticks of GTX?)

Gunslinger
03-18-2014, 01:58 AM
:D

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e19/mgorius/strikeback_zps3663d05f.jpg (http://s36.photobucket.com/user/mgorius/media/strikeback_zps3663d05f.jpg.html)

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e19/mgorius/WRHWBotPrime_zps3d7ca881.jpg (http://s36.photobucket.com/user/mgorius/media/WRHWBotPrime_zps3d7ca881.jpg.html)

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e19/mgorius/015_zps5d1fd6b6.jpg (http://s36.photobucket.com/user/mgorius/media/015_zps5d1fd6b6.jpg.html)

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e19/mgorius/013_zps86e0dbdd.jpg (http://s36.photobucket.com/user/mgorius/media/013_zps86e0dbdd.jpg.html)

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e19/mgorius/014_zps946629a6.jpg (http://s36.photobucket.com/user/mgorius/media/014_zps946629a6.jpg.html)

meankeys
03-18-2014, 02:11 AM
Sweet!
Nice one Gunslinger

Menthol
03-18-2014, 02:32 AM
Nice Gunslinger

Arne Saknussemm
03-18-2014, 06:50 AM
Yes, that does seem the way to run HWBot Prime LOL...nice one Gunslinger!

Rockford
03-18-2014, 06:53 AM
Goooooooooood morning Arne!!!!!!

34658

Arne Saknussemm
03-18-2014, 07:17 AM
LOL top of the morning to you Paw...day after Paddy's day...liver still a bit green...

Henkenator68NL
03-20-2014, 06:25 PM
Did you guys now that it actually is going to gain more points if you use an old version of JAVA.
The version wich gave me most points is (gained some 300-600 points):
jre -6u18
Since these older versions are decommisioned and hidden away, they can only be downloaded with an oracle account, which I have.

If you want to get the files just let me know, I will than share a link to my dropbox. I have 4 versions: 32bit offline installer, 64bit offline installer and 32bit online installer and 64bit online installer.

:cool:

Arne Saknussemm
03-20-2014, 06:38 PM
Hmm interesting!...thanks Henk...yes please!

Doug2507
03-20-2014, 07:01 PM
Count me in!

meankeys
03-21-2014, 02:15 AM
Hi Henk

Thanks that would be great. 64 bit pls
Thank you :)

Henkenator68NL
03-21-2014, 07:12 AM
Oke Guys,

I have set up a dropbox folder containing the 4 files.

Also I added a Custom ROG SURPREME OC Wallpaper that you can use for benching. I you want I can make a personalized version with your name on it, just drop me a mail or PM.

To open the folder click it, to download the file click it and select download. To download the wallpaper, click on the wallpaper and on the lower rightside click more options, download (or send to your own dropbox).

This is the link:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/cgwus676046ok47/rNoNfY6IN0

(https://www.dropbox.com/sh/cgwus676046ok47/rNoNfY6IN0)

meankeys
03-21-2014, 08:41 AM
Thanks Henk
Nice wallpaper Ill take a custom WP pls use Meankeys-)

Thanks again

twisted1
03-21-2014, 09:42 AM
Nice Gunslinger! Crazy how much higher the Ivy-E scores compared to SB-E in this bench, around 6k with SB-E@5Ghz while Ivy-E @5Ghz get's like 7K.

Thanks alot Henk! If you feel like it you can drop me a wallpaper with twisted1 on it :)

twisted1
03-21-2014, 09:58 AM
Guys you done any testing with this one?? OS version of Java etc?? I need some help to get efficient fast. I have binned some 4930K two infact ready to whoop the bench.

Just need OS and Java version thats most efficient.

Check the thread over at Hwbot 8Pack.

http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=98376

Henkenator68NL
03-21-2014, 10:06 AM
Thanks Henk
Nice wallpaper Ill take a custom WP pls use Meankeys-)
Thanks again


Thanks alot Henk! If you feel like it you can drop me a wallpaper with twisted1 on it :)

You are very welcome guys!

I have added 2 folders to the dropbox folder, meankeys-) and twisted1 wallpaper, enjoy!

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/cgwus676046ok47/rNoNfY6IN0

twisted1
03-21-2014, 10:15 AM
Thanks Henk, shall use this for all benching from now on.

Would rep if I could.

Henkenator68NL
03-21-2014, 12:46 PM
Thanks Henk, shall use this for all benching from now on.

Would rep if I could.

??:cool: you can't :confused:??

Rockford
03-21-2014, 01:22 PM
Rep me, i only got 4 reps until 3 green dots..

Arne got 3, i am jealous..;)

Arne Saknussemm
03-21-2014, 01:24 PM
LOL...I'd rep ya... but I must have done that at some point cos I can't :p....nor you Henk....consider some in the Rep bank

twisted1
03-21-2014, 01:34 PM
??:cool: you can't :confused:??

I have already repped to much, I need to get some rep before I can start repping againg :)

Paw: Who's not jealous of Arne's dot's... :)

Zka17
03-21-2014, 01:39 PM
OK, Henk, it's been a while since I have rep'd you - there you go! :cool:

darkage
03-21-2014, 02:19 PM
ok
just came from my psychiatrist and i am still confused
sooo no rep
34804

Rockford
03-21-2014, 02:21 PM
my shrinks only starts to cry.. ?? &¤/¤ gets kinda reversed..

well, 15 years since my last shrink encounter.. it just dont work.......

darkage
03-21-2014, 02:25 PM
man got to buy a dual xeon pc to work here :-(

twisted1
03-21-2014, 02:34 PM
Damn, that Java version did the trick, I beat my previous score by a few hundred points. And I'm still only at 5.2G and no diagnostics mode. The old run was @5.4G and in diagnostics mode.

Rockford
03-21-2014, 02:36 PM
is the mem working?

run diagnostics now, and test

twisted1
03-21-2014, 03:43 PM
Mem is working great, got it in quad on the R4E now.

Can't run 3770k as high as 5.4G without some help from mother nature, got that in a case now with 360+480 rad. Might bring it out on the balcony and give 5.4G a go later.

Gonna se what I can do with the 3930K and all tweaks.

Here's the 3770k result. http://hwbot.org/submission/2518235_

Pretty good compared to a not optimized run with 3770k@6G: http://hwbot.org/submission/2499260_ikki_hwbot_prime_core_i7_3770k_6447.53_pps/

Rockford
03-21-2014, 04:40 PM
yes i saw, good score..

Here is a general 2D benchmarking tips> Disable speedstep

I believe most of us know this, still.. etc, etc..but

No, no but.. it just looked good in the end

Rockford
03-21-2014, 04:43 PM
LoL, quad PSC.. yeah thats cool

Arne Saknussemm
03-21-2014, 04:58 PM
Paw: Who's not jealous of Arne's dot's... :)

LOL what happened...now I got 4 dots !?

twisted1
03-21-2014, 05:12 PM
LOL what happened...now I got 4 dots !?

A gift from the ROG Brotherhood perhaps? :)

Rockford
03-21-2014, 05:18 PM
WTF!!!!!!! Fatty boom, boom..

;)

that show that you are actually 100% more cool than I..

I want RED dots!!!!!!!!!

Rockford
03-21-2014, 05:21 PM
Mr Amp>

When you run the R4E PSC Quad.. Try some 2d benchmarks that are bandwidth dependent..

going to watch 47 Ronin (again), along with some French fries, hot bearnaise sauce..

catcha

Arne Saknussemm
03-21-2014, 05:34 PM
wtf!!!!!!! Fatty boom, boom..

;)

that show that you are actually 100% more cool than i..

I want red dots!!!!!!!!!

ROFL Paw :D

Henkenator68NL
03-21-2014, 05:55 PM
LOL...I'd rep ya... but I must have done that at some point cos I can't :p....nor you Henk....consider some in the Rep bank

did you do it this way?
34809

Arne Saknussemm
03-21-2014, 05:58 PM
LOL Henk...yes I tried :o but you must have done something else cool recently....as always....Thanks!!

darkage
03-21-2014, 06:31 PM
i am very very unhappy as my post count haven't reached the 5000 (or more) so will start to report posts so that everyone comes to my low level of 100 posts
thank you for your comprehension
and good weekend dear mr arne :-)

Rockford
03-21-2014, 07:32 PM
ok quad dots.. fancy bling...;)

But who has the most edited posts??

Arne Saknussemm
03-21-2014, 08:15 PM
Heh:D well you might well but it would be chrs in close second...he said he edited posts from waaay back too LOL

twisted1
03-21-2014, 09:30 PM
ok quad dots.. fancy bling...;)

But who has the most edited posts??

lol@ I have

I'm getting there tho, I'm gettin there to though :)

Rockford
03-21-2014, 09:43 PM
let me know when you have passes the 10k / post edits..

darkage
03-21-2014, 10:15 PM
wrong place to post
needed to sleep

Doug2507
03-22-2014, 09:35 AM
Oke Guys,

I have set up a dropbox folder containing the 4 files.

Also I added a Custom ROG SURPREME OC Wallpaper that you can use for benching. I you want I can make a personalized version with your name on it, just drop me a mail or PM.

To open the folder click it, to download the file click it and select download. To download the wallpaper, click on the wallpaper and on the lower rightside click more options, download (or send to your own dropbox).

This is the link:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/cgwus676046ok47/rNoNfY6IN0

(https://www.dropbox.com/sh/cgwus676046ok47/rNoNfY6IN0)

Cheers Henk, i'll be giving Prime a good test this weekend/week, will report findings.

Rockford
04-30-2014, 03:12 AM
Just a few tips i came to think of, when it comes to mem and CPU benchmarks..

1. Close you browser!!! mem benchmarks suffer bad, if you browser is open in the background (kill minimized)
2. Fresh boot is king (especially in some of the CPU benchm.)
3. On Haswell dual channel boards, 4 populated mem slot, perform better than only 2... can be very noticeable..

I tested earlier today with> 2x2gb vs 4x2gb

I performed the test on unsupported/unofficial software, but i thought i might be worth to mention..

meankeys
04-30-2014, 08:22 AM
Thanks Paw

Good to know

twisted1
05-06-2014, 06:52 AM
Just a few tips i came to think of, when it comes to mem and CPU benchmarks..

1. Close you browser!!! mem benchmarks suffer bad, if you browser is open in the background (kill minimized)
2. Fresh boot is king (especially in some of the CPU benchm.)
3. On Haswell dual channel boards, 4 populated mem slot, perform better than only 2... can be very noticeable..

I tested earlier today with> 2x2gb vs 4x2gb

I performed the test on unsupported/unofficial software, but i thought i might be worth to mention..

Doesn't 4 sticks add more latency though? I remember Hiviz commenting on this regarding a realbench result that was better with only 2 stick's VS 4 sticks. Probably depends on which benchmark you run etc.

Arne Saknussemm
05-06-2014, 07:23 AM
Yeah depends I think...Vantage you can run dual channel....

twisted1
05-06-2014, 07:50 AM
But on S1155/50 it's dualchannel even with four sticks. Will try it on my "new" 2700K :)

Arne Saknussemm
05-06-2014, 03:00 PM
Hmm yeah I'm in X79 mode....:o two sticks dual channel on X79....

Rockford
05-06-2014, 04:19 PM
Lurking in the reed...

36416

Arne Saknussemm
05-06-2014, 04:49 PM
Mmmm pike....good eating!

Rockford
05-06-2014, 06:55 PM
Gahh.... ahhh.. PJUNK** got my chiller yesterday...........

36419
36420

Menthol
05-07-2014, 12:32 AM
5Ghz nice Paw

Rockford
05-07-2014, 01:07 AM
Thanks Ment..

the chiller is very good..

MeanMachine
05-07-2014, 04:26 AM
Congrats PAW, HWBOT is fastly becoming the one to have, Fairly quick and easy and not such a torture as prime imo.
This was on my first run;

36429

meankeys
05-07-2014, 08:30 AM
Nice Paw - what chiller did you go with?

Rockford
05-07-2014, 12:18 PM
Mean 1> nice scores you got there

Mean 2 > Hailea Ultra 500

twisted1
05-07-2014, 12:39 PM
Really nice temps with the chiller Paw! I'm jealous!!

If you use it in colder ambient temps, will it chill the water below 0C? How stable is the 5Ghz OC? Pretty ok chip, I've heard about people binning haswells and som could not go higher than 4,5G.

Rockford
05-07-2014, 01:40 PM
This is not a binned chip, its my one and only 4670K

I plan to bin a couple of chips soon tho.. and hopefully find a good overclocker..

Stable?, It passes ROG Realbench at 5ghz, but havent tested so much, since i dont own a VGA card, i dont like to push things for nothing, i want a bonanza ending, not titanic.

Nah, its a regular chip i think.. the IMC sux.. thats sad.. Half the fun down the drainm so thats why i am getting a second chip

4,5ghz for a binned chip? , binned by clowns? clown-bin......who ha, who ha. oink, oink (squeak my round red nose)....

Swedish high tops--->

36457

meankeys
05-07-2014, 04:27 PM
Those shoes fit those big bear claws of yours - wink wink :)

Rockford
05-07-2014, 04:44 PM
good looking boots..

If i had em, i would use em..

virgin/chestnut model

twisted1
05-07-2014, 06:26 PM
Not kidding Paw, there are chips that won't do more than 4,6G. Might be because of heat tho. Realbench stable is pretty much rock stable if you ask me. It will pass any other bench if it can handle that.

No VGA yet? PM me your adress and I will send you one.

Rockford
05-07-2014, 07:57 PM
Yes the heat are the bad guy for the main part of the overclockers out there, a H100i wont take haswell very far i am afraid. Heat = instability

PM sent..

Arne Saknussemm
05-08-2014, 09:21 AM
This Swedish dude got skills too remember....run of the mill chip might become something else entirely in his paws ;) and chill will help.

I want details Paw since I am right on the fence between chiller or phase change....you insulated board and socket and all that malarkey? or just tubing or are you benching in your Y-fronts out in the cemetery at 6 in the morning for the low ambient? pics welcome...hairy or not.....except for the Y-fronts of course....nooo....don't want to see that :eek:

Rockford
05-08-2014, 12:57 PM
I am very happy with the chiller, wouldn't trade it for any phase charger out there..

now when chiller is turned off, my rig is about 15db

Rockford
05-08-2014, 01:13 PM
now its not insulated, it isnt so warm outside, and there is no real need to go down to close to subzero right now

I never benchmark for longer periods than 1 hour anyway, we who have done this for years, know that the best scores always come within the first hour, to keep on for longer periods isnt worth the effort..

In the summer i may need to paint with silicone..

But lets worry about that then..

Chiller = good stuff = Arne need one

By judging from the chiller display it goes down to 2,5c as lowest temp, minimum setting is 3c. it doesn't run all the time its a thermostat .. so if i set 10c water temp, the chiller will power down at 10c, and then start up at 11c = keeping the 10c

when i dont benchmark, the chiller is turned off, and i use 2 pcs small insulated high flow rads, with fans instead..

Dual D5, and Die mounts

very simple, and work very good

When chiller run = rad fans are killed of course

i use improved QD fittings, so i can disconnect the bench/pumpstation/chiller and very easily drain water from the different sections if i need

did i answer any of you questions Arne..

keep it simple..

Rockford
05-08-2014, 01:36 PM
i really really like the Gryphon and Sabertooth and would keep them, if its wasnt for the lack of one tab in bios.......
well, i will keep them, but will swap for a ROG board soon..

Arne Saknussemm
05-08-2014, 02:30 PM
Going Z97?

How loud is the chiller Paw....like a fridge....louder?

Rockford
05-08-2014, 02:41 PM
its like a fridge, yes..

every time the compressor kick in, i get hungry for a popsicle

Henkenator68NL
05-13-2014, 05:54 AM
I really like the whole chiller idea too.

Made a super deal with guy who is in aquarium business (thats where the chillers are used also) for the Hailea 500 Ttitan. It will be here within 2 weeks. Yeah!! (exited.. Me? No..... Hell yeah)

As for Haswell CPU'; The overclocking capacity differ enormously... I have just founfd one that looks very promising!! Mind you: Its 4770k CPU nr 7 in 4 weeks time...
- the first one was not a nut job, when booting I saw it had a very high cache voltage after F5 reboot in the BIOS ; 1.27Volt atcstock settings, tried al kinds off things but it didn't post with less volts... OCing a drama. Wouldn't go beyond 4,2 Ghz (believe me I really pushed the *******). So this one was no good.
- nr's 3 4 and 5: hmm well all where ok if you never OC.. Going beyond 4,6Ghz huge wall.
- than I got nr 6 it ran like crazy, I went 5,2Ghz temps OK (Tripple 360 rad with 18 fans), I ran super pi 32m, It was on a personal record breaking run ( 5m 30s - ish.... At loop22, Core temp 65 degrees.... Sudden death, screen frooze and that was last thing it ever did.. RIP
- Now number 7
- Arne lastly said to me, you are looking for a very good cpu, knowing that out there people are playing minecraft on golden cpu... Never knowing what they have in there rigg-
So I went on a round to friends, family etc... Didn't have to look far, my son had a 4770k, never overclocked I swapped mine for his.. F5 in BIOS reboot, core+cache volts all very low. I hit 4,6 Ghz all settings on auto and it booted at 1,24 Volt straight into Windows...

I was lke Whattttttttt? Couldn't believe it, all others at least needed + 1,32 volts.... Going to see what this one will bring me, but waiting for the chiller to come in first before pushing it...

So the GOOD, the SAD and the AWEFULL really applies to the OC potential of these cpu's.

Arne Saknussemm
05-13-2014, 09:56 AM
Hahaha...I like it...daylight robbery...:D looks promising...I have to check what my granny is using in her PC....