PDA

View Full Version : SSD for performance advice/opinion?

aeonmey
03-07-2014, 11:14 PM
I have G750JW DB71CA
Intel Core i7-4700HQ
FHD 17.3"
32GB Corsair Vengeance SODIMM DDR3L PC-12800 (1600MHz) 1.35-1.5V
6X BLURAY
750GB+750GB HDD
Win 8

I'm planning to buy SSD to replace the onboard 750GB main drive but i'm not an expert, so i have a few question

1. can we use ssd for storage (like split it to few partition) or use it just for booting/system drive (C:\)? for example using 480GB/512GB SSD on the first slot and split it into 2 partitions (C:\ for system and D:\ for storage), then put another 480GB/512GB SSD on the second slot then split it too (E:\ and F:\ both for storage)....cause i heard some people saids don't use ssd for storage, so i really need opinion/advice?

2. i'm an enggineer using autoca* 3D (on my old notebook TOSHI**, intel core i5, 8GBRAM...opening autoca* program take 1minute++ to opens and abot 30s to be in ready state, and rendering 3D design takes "lifetime") so i need to prepare my G750JW for that situation...now on my G750JW, opening autoca* takes plus minus 30s++ to open and additional 30s to be in ready state, i'm not rendering any design yet so i don't know the perform.........does change my HDD to SSD will solve some problems (waiting on app start and rendering 3D design)?

3. for my situation, can i have advice/opinion for SSD brand/spec cause i really need performance?

red05usa
03-07-2014, 11:27 PM
Hello!

A SSD will help the load times of most applications, and as I also use ACAD, you well know how large of a program it is. Also, the newer versions (2014 especially) require a lot of total computer resources.