PDA

View Full Version : F9 recovery not working after SSD clone - G75V



Stige
03-19-2014, 11:26 AM
I've noticed that I'm not the only one who has problems with cloned SSD-drive. I tried to find solutions for this but I really didn't find (or understand) so I decided to ask this by myself.
So I have Asus G75V with preinstalled Windows 8. I bought SSD-drive and cloned original HDD to SSD. Everything went well and computer booted correctly. However.. I tried to use F9 during the boot, but I just got BSOD with error code 0xc0000225 and text "Your PC needs to be repaired. Rebooting just brought me back to this same error. I borrowed my brother's Windows 8 installation discs and I was able to reach the command prompt. I found instuctions from Internet to solve the problem

bootrec /scanos
bootrec /rebuildbcd
bootrec /fixmbr
bootrec /fixboot

Computer booted correctly after those commands but everytime if I press F9 during to boot I have to do that all again and I can't get into the recovery section. Is there any way to correct this?
I have all the recovery partions (picture) but it still does not work.
34699

In bios I can't use EFI Shell. I still can find the Shell64.efi file from recovery partition but it seems that BIOS does not find it.
34698

I would appreciate your help!

niente5
04-04-2014, 09:53 PM
Hello, I had the same problem. The solution was to DELETE c:\hiberfil.sys from the new drive (it was not easy, I had to use "takeown /f hiberfil.sys" and "del /f /a hiberfil.sys" at command prompt).
In fact hiberfil.sys (created by hibernation) tried to restore a configuration in which the hard disk was different, and failed with error 0xC0000225.

Hope it helps! :)

Henkenator68NL
04-04-2014, 10:13 PM
Welcome on the Forum!

What Sata mode are you using in the bios? Was that maybe different for the HDD?

SSD's need to be on AHCI, but HDD can also work fine in IDE mode. If that is the case than the AHCI/RAID drivers are not loaded.

I have a guide here burried somewhere with a fix for that.

Drop me a PM or post here if you need it!

Stige
05-03-2014, 02:55 PM
Hi guys and thanks for help!
Bios is in ACHI-mode. Should I install ACHI-drivers? I'm still quite confused about this problem because computer works otherwise as normal. Only if I press F9 (is it Asus recovery?) I got the the error and I have to use Windows installation discs to get command prompt.
I haven't tried to delete hibernation.sys file yet but could that even be the reason if I get error during F9-boot?

faeb74
06-06-2014, 03:51 AM
Hi there, anyone has found a solution on this matter, I am suffering the same problem with my asus g750jm. Tks in advance

Clintlgm
06-06-2014, 01:21 PM
What program did you use to Clone your disk to your new SSD?
You do know that there are only a couple of programs out there that can accomplish a booting functioning SSD from a Hard Drive. Macrium Reflect free and Paragon paid for. Most others fail or convert your system to MBR and other problems.

Hopefully you used Asus Backtracker (http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=480&m=ASUS+Backtracker&os=&hashedid=n%2fa)and made your recovery media, because then all you have to do is restore that media you created to your new SSD

faeb74
06-06-2014, 03:13 PM
What program did you use to Clone your disk to your new SSD?
You do know that there are only a couple of programs out there that can accomplish a booting functioning SSD from a Hard Drive. Macrium Reflect free and Paragon paid for. Most others fail or convert your system to MBR and other problems.

Hopefully you used Asus Backtracker (http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=480&m=ASUS+Backtracker&os=&hashedid=n%2fa)and made your recovery media, because then all you have to do is restore that media you created to your new SSD

Hi Clintlgm, tks for the response, the program that I use was Acronis True Image 2014, i haven't used asus bactracker already but i still have the original hdd who came with the laptop, should i try to reclone the ssd with macrium o paragon? are those programs for free??

Tks. for the help.

faeb74
06-06-2014, 03:25 PM
What program did you use to Clone your disk to your new SSD?
You do know that there are only a couple of programs out there that can accomplish a booting functioning SSD from a Hard Drive. Macrium Reflect free and Paragon paid for. Most others fail or convert your system to MBR and other problems.

Hopefully you used Asus Backtracker (http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=480&m=ASUS+Backtracker&os=&hashedid=n%2fa)and made your recovery media, because then all you have to do is restore that media you created to your new SSD

Hi Clintlgm, tks for the response, the program that I use was Acronis True Image 2014, i haven't used asus bactracker already but i still have the original hdd who came with the laptop, should i try to reclone the ssd with macrium?

Tks. for the help.

Clintlgm
06-06-2014, 05:55 PM
Well if your original HD is still working, I would get the backtracker and create that Restore to Original done. then by all means insure your HD has less data than the size of your SSD and try Macrium Reflect just about everyone that has use MR has been successful. Don't try to copy Partitons, just clone the whole disk.

Since you have copied data to your SSD you may need to use Disk Part and Clean your SSD and Convert to GPT then do the copy disk. That would only be need to be done if Acronis converted your SSD To MBR which it wants to do in my experience. And could explain why your recovery partition would not work?

Acronis 2014 with the latest update should work still Acronis has been saying they work with UEFI since 2012 version and still no one comes out with a working OS I still use Acronis for my Win 7 workstations, but my win 8 units am using Macrium Reflect. MR has really good documentation guides and a great Forum. If you pay you can get tech support. But you won't need tech support it just works

faeb74
06-06-2014, 10:30 PM
Well if your original HD is still working, I would get the backtracker and create that Restore to Original done. then by all means insure your HD has less data than the size of your SSD and try Macrium Reflect just about everyone that has use MR has been successful. Don't try to copy Partitons, just clone the whole disk.

Since you have copied data to your SSD you may need to use Disk Part and Clean your SSD and Convert to GPT then do the copy disk. That would only be need to be done if Acronis converted your SSD To MBR which it wants to do in my experience. And could explain why your recovery partition would not work?

Acronis 2014 with the latest update should work still Acronis has been saying they work with UEFI since 2012 version and still no one comes out with a working OS I still use Acronis for my Win 7 workstations, but my win 8 units am using Macrium Reflect. MR has really good documentation guides and a great Forum. If you pay you can get tech support. But you won't need tech support it just works

Thanks Clintlgm. with your advice and some research in the forum i finally come to a decision that i have to use the asus bactracker method and wen that way with great success, everything works flawless in my laptop and new ssd, even the F9 key, now installing windows updates and going straight to origin and steam to play my favorites games. Tks. Indeed.

Clintlgm
06-07-2014, 06:33 PM
That's great news, You might want to make a few Images of your New SSD after fully updated and before you install any software. that way if a software gives you a issue, you can just restore an image Macrium Reflect is really good at this. Make Images at milestone as you install all you software and games. This will save you a lot of aggravation if something goes wrong you only have to go back a short ways instead of starting from the beginning every time. I usually make an image once a week or just use a Incremental back up to the latest Image. Its a little bit of a hassle but You'll really be proud of yourself the next time things go downhill and it only take you 10 to 20 minutes to get back where you were. MR the free version will do this for you. I think you only need the paid version if you want to do file and folder back ups.

I use Acronis on my Win 7 BIOS MBR computers, However I see from this issue from you, that they are still having problems with UEFI GPT.
So I'm using a paid for MR Pro for this Win 8.1 UEFI GPT Notebook. I will most likely move my other computers to MR as they get upgraded to Win 8
Acronis has always had sucky tech support and since 2012 version they claim to be UEFI GPT compliant, however people like yourself even with 2014 Version have issues. I haven't heard of any failures with MR