PDA

View Full Version : BSODs on G73Sw-XA1

Schmittsticles
09-29-2011, 03:58 PM
I've had my laptop since last spring with no issues. I have been using the same drivers with no problems since day one. I have the nVidia 460m 1.5g card on my machine. BIOS version 205. I started playing the game RIFT and everything was fine for about 3 weeks until I started getting BSODs. Checked the event log and found that the nvidia driver was failing. So I did tons of research, and read countless forums on how to correct this issue. I've installed previous drivers, beta drivers, asus drivers, the new beta drivers off of this forum, done total clean installs several times (with driver sweeper) cleaned my registry, back flips, front flips, tried running with ThrottleStop and still I get the BSOD or a quick black out and a message in the log saying that "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered". Other things i've tried was different system restore points, turned power 4 gear hybrid off of "high performance", defragged partitions several times, and crying like a little school girl for hours. Does anyone know what I can do? I'm about to take the damn thing apart too see if there is a ventilation issue. Is it because I have a Sandy Vag cpu? My Specs are below. I doubt anyone knows what to do but I guess it doesn't hurt to ask as I've found thousands of unsolved cases identical to mine all over the net.

============================================

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
CPU
Intel Core i7 @ 2.00GHz
Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
RAM
8.00 GB
Motherboard
ASUSTeK Computer Inc. G73Sw (CPU 1)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor (1920x1080@60Hz)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M
Hard Drives
733GB Seagate ST9750420AS (SATA)
Optical Drives
ELBY CLONEDRIVE SCSI CdRom Device
MAT****A DVD-RAM UJ8A0ASW
Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

JRd1st
09-29-2011, 04:34 PM