PDA

View Full Version : Finally overclocking. :c



Darnassus
03-21-2014, 03:07 PM
Hello, I've always been against overclocking, worrying that I'd bust my chips..

BUT lately I've heard overclocking your haswell can actually make it more efficient, reducing temperatures and boosts it's speed. Not sure about the GPU though. But willing to do both.

Anyhow, what're the safest parameters to 'over clock' my machine to? I wouldn't mind getting that nice 10-15% performance boost like people say.

I have all the programs.. I just don't want to follow the guide since it's for a G750JW. So help for CPU and GPU for G750JX

Also kept screenshots of all my scores from PCMark7, RealBench and NovaBench.

hmscott? ;d

Dream
03-21-2014, 04:28 PM
You can overclock the CPU to 3.6ghz using Intel XTU and under-volt it in the process for cooler temps. I think 3.6 is the max right now, but that could change. Do a quick search for the guide.

I would be more careful with the GPU. IMO installing new drivers direct from Nvidia boosts the performance enough as compared to the stock drivers from ASUS.

The fans are excellent on the G750 though.

Also, I don't think anyone has been able to modify the GPU boost feature on our cards as of yet, which might yield a lot of gains if and when someone can.

Don't quote me on that, not an expert.

Darnassus
03-21-2014, 04:57 PM
You can overclock the CPU to 3.6ghz using Intel XTU and under-volt it in the process for cooler temps. I think 3.6 is the max right now, but that could change. Do a quick search for the guide.

I would be more careful with the GPU. IMO installing new drivers direct from Nvidia boosts the performance enough as compared to the stock drivers from ASUS.

The fans are excellent on the G750 though.

Also, I don't think anyone has been able to modify the GPU boost feature on our cards as of yet, which might yield a lot of gains if and when someone can.

Don't quote me on that, not an expert.

Thanks Dreamy! :3

I had already just OC'ed the CPU to this guide
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?38049-Guide-for-Overclocking-Maximum-Stability-amp-Performance-for-CPU-amp-GPU.

Might revert back from having a few issues, or might just up the voltage to -50, instead of -70.

angrylemon
03-21-2014, 05:21 PM
I used that guide to OC my GPU and CPU recently and have had no issues. I just left my GPU at 900Mhz and 5000Mhz (maxes out at 70 degrees and gave a bit of a performance boost while gaming), anything over those Mhz and the temps were bypassing 70 degrees.

Darnassus
03-21-2014, 05:26 PM
I hear people say 135+. And I just worked out, that from 797 MHz, 135+ is 932. Which is basically the max of the 'safe zone'. And the memory to 5,000 or 5,600.

Do I touch the other things like the GPU voltage, refresh and frame limit?

The 'gaming' mode apparently has higher GPU voltage.

sasuke256
03-21-2014, 08:56 PM
you dont touch to voltage or anything else :)

Darnassus
03-22-2014, 04:23 AM
hmscott? x'{

Darnassus
03-22-2014, 04:40 AM
Yeah so I did the -70 voltage and upped the multiplier as of the guide. I hope it doesn't make my Haswell break anytime soon.

I also did the GPU tweak the same as Angrylemon, 900 MHz and 5000MHz on the memory

My RealBench went up a rough 4,750 points to a total of 62074.

CPU hit 82*C Motherboard hit 84.
GPU never went above 57

I swear my CPU isn't pasted properly or something..

hmscott
03-22-2014, 05:22 AM
Thanks Dreamy! :3

I had already just OC'ed the CPU to this guide
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?38049-Guide-for-Overclocking-Maximum-Stability-amp-Performance-for-CPU-amp-GPU.

Might revert back from having a few issues, or might just up the voltage to -50, instead of -70.

My JH would only do -20mV when new, and now I have it at -25mV stable. On the bright side, the cooling is so much better on the JH that it runs the CPU 10C-20C cooler already, so I didn't feel too bad that I went from -100mV on the JW and -75mW on the JX to -20mV on the JH. :)

Here are 3 profiles to use as a starting point. The first is -50mV at default for the rest of the settings (No OC) - it's not stable on my JH - but worked great on the JW/JX. The 2nd is a -20mV + Max OC which was stable on my JH as new. And, the 3rd is a -25mV + Max OC which I use now.

-50mV No OC
34832

-20mV + Max OC
34833

-25mV + Max OC
34834

I don't think there is a correlation between JW/JX/JH and undervolting capability of the Haswell CPU, it just worked out that way for me. It is up to the specific Haswell CPU, not the G750 model type

You can try on your own laptop by starting at -100mV, and drop down by 20mV until you are stable, or increase by 5mV until you become unstable. Or start lower and work up till it is unstable, depends on your own sensitivities :)

Have fun!

Darnassus
03-22-2014, 06:14 AM
Maybe it's because my room temperature is 32-34. My CPU is sitting on 70 from playing Minecraft. :c

sasuke256
03-22-2014, 10:31 AM
82 for the CPU is very safe :) and 57 for gpu is just awesome :)

hmscott
03-22-2014, 09:00 PM
hmscott? x'{

Darnassus, I think all your questions were answered by the ROG G750 Forum Team, I am just watching :)

The CPU temps on the JW/JH are normal/safe even into the 90+C range. -100mV+ under-volting takes the temp's down into the 80+C range.

The CPU will "heat throttle" to protect itself, and it is rare to hear of anyone able to do that.

A couple posters had actual bad paste jobs - heat throttling was happening even during normal operation. If you see that then get an RMA.

The JW GPU memory OC was epic, the JX didn't take as high of a memory OC, but was faster than the JW at stock and OC.

Best Stable OC at 5254 - some things were only stable at 5200 - Like Heavens Gate
34844

5000 is where I ran it most of the time:
34845

During Battlefield 4 Beta First Viewing Session :)
34863

Darnassus
03-23-2014, 03:36 AM
Yes but as you see, your voltage is 850. Why? I saw that was the selection at 'Gamer Mode' and brought it up, but everyone told me not to touch my voltage input.

Also, thanks for saying the +135 is totally safe, I went from 900 to 932 now. ;d

Might keep my Memory at 5,000 too. Just to keep that extra 'movement room' in case something decides to not agree with me.

Also I called your name because I find you seem to know everything. ;d

Also I have the Frames at 60. Yours is 100. I assume you have the 3D screen? Mine is the Chi Mei. I think 60 is more than enough for me however.. unless it's healthier for my system

hmscott
03-23-2014, 03:47 AM
Yes but as you see, your voltage is 850. Why? I saw that was the selection at 'Gamer Mode' and brought it up, but everyone told me not to touch my voltage input.

Also, thanks for saying the +135 is totally safe, I went from 900 to 932 now. ;d

Might keep my Memory at 5,000 too. Just to keep that extra 'movement room' in case something decides to not agree with me.

Also I called your name because I find you seem to know everything. ;d

Also I have the Frames at 60. Yours is 100. I assume you have the 3D screen? Mine is the Chi Mei.

Darnassus, I don't know everything, but I don't know most things only once ;)

If you have a Chi Mei screen, try setting a Custom Screen Resolution in the Nvidia control panel. Set it to 100hz, and it should be stable. Mine wasn't stable any higher, I tried 105hz and I had sparkles, but others reported stability at 110hz, so you might try it.

If the screen hz setting you try doesn't sync, just wait as it doesn't save the setting till you confirm it worked, and it will revert back to the last setting.

The AUO only clocks up to 70hz, but it is ultra bright, I have to set it at 70% brightness to keep from stunning my eyes during long sessions.

The voltage setting on JX's is an illusion, it doesn't do anything except remember your setting. Checking it against gpu-z and other tools shows the same stock voltage no matter the setting. I was hoping I could undervolt the GPU the same as the CPU to get some cooling effect, but the control is a phantom.

It doesn't hurt to set the memory frequency up till the Nvidia driver crashes, it will restart and then you just reboot. The Asus GPU tweak tool can be set to set the speed at start up - so be careful to not set a speed that crashes the driver/Windows - only test and don't save until you are *sure* it works :)

Been working too much, sorry I couldn't respond. Weekends are the time I get the most free time, right now.

Darnassus
03-23-2014, 04:33 AM
Gosh I could smother you in kisses hmscott you're so cute. ;d

Neocaron
06-19-2014, 07:47 AM
Hello guys, I have a little problem, I can't seem to get my Asus Rog G750 780m to 3.6ghz, it stays stock at 3.4, despite the fact I used intel tuning utility to increase the processor ratio. I'll add that the turbo bost power max is disable, and I don't know how to turn it on. If some of you could help me on that matter, I'll be really happy.

Darnassus
06-20-2014, 07:56 AM
Hello guys, I have a little problem, I can't seem to get my Asus Rog G750 780m to 3.6ghz, it stays stock at 3.4, despite the fact I used intel tuning utility to increase the processor ratio. I'll add that the turbo bost power max is disable, and I don't know how to turn it on. If some of you could help me on that matter, I'll be really happy.

Make your own thread, dummy! >xc