PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading My G75VW HD and RAM



Chacet17
03-25-2014, 01:24 PM
Just would like help on what is compatible with my model of laptop.
Im searching through newegg and tigerdirect for Hard Drives and Ram but not sure which ones i can use.

for hard drive i was thinking of getting an ssd for my os and upgrading my current one that is having issues for one that is 750 GB to 1 TB what models could i use and what are the requirments?

For Ram i currently have 8 GB and would like to move up to 16 GB or 20 GB or 24 GB i wanna know which ram i could put in my laptop and should i remove my old 8 GB and put all the sam brand or is it ok to mix brands? whats the installion process?

Thanks all help will be greatly appriciated im starting to learn more about computers and would like to do all the installing on my own just need detaiils about how and process.

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 01:34 PM
Found these as examples are they compatible or any good? what do you guys suggest.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178340

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820239389

Clintlgm
03-25-2014, 02:48 PM
Mixing Brands shouldn't be a problem. Not matching the Timings and Voltages will cause problems. Hwinfo64 (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/hwinfo64.html)will show you exactly what your RAM Brand, Timings and Voltages are. Most G75 VW are 1.5 V and 11 CAS
See this thread (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?23929-Adding-RAM-to-G75&country=&status=) on upgrading RAM
35009

This is not my G75VW I'm on one of my WS so you will see quite different Information. If you don't under stand about RAM Goggle is there tons of information on the Web.

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 03:00 PM
Thanks will check that when i get home. and for a hard drive is their any exact measure we need to follow or is the one in the link good?

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 03:09 PM
also if i add just one 8gb insted of 2 4 gb will it make a difference?

Clintlgm
03-25-2014, 03:10 PM
Any 2.5" standard up to 9.5mm thickness Hard drive or SSD, If you get one that is only 7mm make sure you get the adapter plate with it, the Adapter plate will go under the hard drive to align the hard drive with the connectors.

Clintlgm
03-25-2014, 03:15 PM
I have 4 4gb total 16gb came from the factory, usage is seldom over 50%, If you are running a bunch of VM's you could go up to 2 8gb for a total of 24 GB I really can't think of anything to do with Gaming that will use more than 16 GB You won't notice any difference adding RAM, Adding a SSD will blow you away, very significant upgrade the only upgrade you will actually see a difference.

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 04:26 PM
ok thank you. so im checking for some HD to order now was thinking of doing a ssd and hdd what would be a good setup for gaming for HD speeds and cache?

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 04:29 PM
http://products.ncix.com/detail/wd-black-dual-drive-2-5-5c-92417-1263.htm

found this looks pretty good but 120 GB ssd wont give me alot of space will atleast the os fit in that?

Chacet17
03-25-2014, 04:34 PM
http://products.ncix.com/detail/wd-black-dual-drive-2-5-5c-92417-1263.htm

found this looks pretty good but 120 GB ssd wont give me alot of space will atleast the os fit in that?

Clintlgm
03-28-2014, 04:33 PM
Yes the OS will fit on that, however a 256GB will be faster and hold your Games and software also.

Chacet17
03-28-2014, 06:33 PM
K thanks i have already purchased that one but i am looking to get a 2nd SSD just for games and softwares like a 256GB or 500GB

Clintlgm
03-28-2014, 07:28 PM
Well that should work for you check out the 500GB Samsung EVO that should make a great storage disk and even better for Programs and Games to run from.

Chacet17
03-28-2014, 07:43 PM
Thank you very much for your help. This is a great commuity site and will reccomend it to my friends that also have asus products.

Clintlgm
03-28-2014, 09:03 PM
yes you will lose dual Channel for your RAM