PDA

View Full Version : Converting Dynamic HDD into Basic



senttel
04-10-2014, 08:26 AM
Hello Rog owners,

So yesterday I installed Samsung 840 Evo 250gb SSD into my JW, everything went smooth, I was able to clone my entire boot drive with no problems and at the moment my new SSD is working as it's supposed to - fantastic. When I plugged in HDD into the 2nd bay it also seemed to work just fine, computer recognized it and etc., however when I formatted old boot drive (the one on HDD) I was unable to use that memory to expand the 2nd partition on HDD so basically now I got around 280GB of unallocated space on HDD which I am unable to use, when I try to create a new partition it says something like "Memory is less than minimum" or when I try to use that space to expand other partition it says that "there is not enough space on the drive to execute this operation". So now I have 280gigs of unallocated space on my old HDD. I've read that this might be because it is a dynamic drive, but how do I convert it to basic then? Disk manager won't let me do it. I tried using EaseUs to convert it but it didn't work so now I don't really know what else could I try.

Any help is appreciated, Thanks!

Clintlgm
04-10-2014, 12:48 PM
Well I think if you try Mini tool Partition Wizard you might have better luck? Also you could use Diskpart to clean, then convert to GPT, then format as you choose.

senttel
04-11-2014, 11:01 AM
Woop woop, success! So I basically erased all of the partitions on my drive via diskpart commands and then reformated and it worked like a charm! So now I got my lightning quick SSD with OS and 150gb free space (that will be used for games and software) and 700gb HDD storage space. SSD is truly the best upgrade you can get for your machine I love it! Clintlgm thanks for your help.

Prostar Computer
04-11-2014, 11:03 PM
Good job, senttel! Command line is very useful as long as you know what you're doing.