PDA

View Full Version : Swapping g46 i5-3210m to a 2nd Gen i7-2670qm possible?



XanderCr3ws
04-12-2014, 07:24 PM
Was wondering if it was possible. I've only found one case on toms hardware where the guy said he did it but pointless to contact him because he hasn't been on since dec 2013. So wondering if anyone else has tried. I can get an i7 2nd gen for about sixty percent less than i could get the 3rd gen.

often
04-12-2014, 08:07 PM
Link me a screen of your CPU-Z, both "CPU" and the "Mainboard"-tabs.
I don't personally own a G46, but we'll start from there.

XanderCr3ws
04-12-2014, 09:00 PM
Link me a screen of your CPU-Z, both "CPU" and the "Mainboard"-tabs.
I don't personally own a G46, but we'll start from there.

http://imgur.com/koTFoAl

http://imgur.com/kLXDuAF

been a while on message boards can't really remember how to post pics

often
04-12-2014, 09:25 PM
Yeah, the upgrade would work, I can't guarantee it as I haven't tried Sandy Bridge on Hm77. It works well on Acer notebooks' HM77 boards so I can't see why it shouldn't work on Asus except for any possible Bios locks. So If I were you I'd update my bios to the .210 just to be sure with any possible compatibility issues. I know the feelin when upgrades feel intriguing, but to be 100% sure I'd go with Ivy Bridge, 3610-3840QM. Although a bit more expensive, but they are more effective per Watt used. Do you have a friends SB-cpu you could try first, before ordering?

XanderCr3ws
04-12-2014, 09:58 PM
unfortunatly no ill eat the 130 bucks but i know the 300 dollar cpu would work but the 170 price difference is worth it besides since im in there i will through in an msata and still save a bit.

ha1o2surfer
04-14-2014, 02:39 PM
I know a w110er has that feature and it has the same chipset as the g46vw. not sure if that helps..