PDA

View Full Version : G53SW-XN1 Help Thread



andytaro
10-04-2011, 05:31 AM
Hello, I'm relatively new with computers but just bought a G53SW-XN1. I've been trying to install new drivers and figure out how to overclock, but I seem to be stuck.

I've tried Chastity's informative thread here:

http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?1150-G73-74-53-Series-Driver-and-Application-Reference

But it seems there are specific problems with the graphics drivers in the G53SW-XN1.

I am also clueless with Bios and am unsure what firmware/etc to download. I did an update of drivers/bios with the ASUS LiveUpdate, but then later heard the program was buggy (and I uninstalled it though it may be too late).

mrmcgoo
10-04-2011, 08:06 AM
If it runs good why try to break it. I just got the same notebook from newegg less than a week old. It play BF3 beta at full screen without issues and World of Tanks at max settings. It does everything I want it to do and more, cntrl-alt-F12 inflates the blow-up doll !!

grungeboy2
10-04-2011, 01:09 PM
dont flash the bios unless there's a problem to begin with.

that rule would save everybody a world of trouble.

as for graphics drivers, i'd grab them from nvidia's website unless there's just some specific problem with your laptop and running their drivers.

andytaro
10-05-2011, 06:23 AM
Unfortunetly the Asus LiveUpdate already updated Bios for me.. Is there a way to reset and should I?

I tried update the graphics drivers, but Nvidia drivers weren't recognized when I tried to download.

xeromist
10-05-2011, 04:12 PM
If you successfully updated the BIOS and your machine works then you have nothing to worry about. It's almost always an all or nothing kind of deal with a BIOS flash.

ES Designs
10-05-2011, 04:15 PM
I too just got this notebook from Newegg and I ran the Asus LiveUpdate and everything seems to be working fine for me. Are you experiencing problems with your graphics?

andytaro
10-05-2011, 10:31 PM
No, I'm not. Its actually working great.

Im running The Witcher 2 on Ultra settings with AA and nearly everything enabled and the performance is amazing.

Chastity@ASUS
10-07-2011, 07:53 PM
If you want to overclock, then what you need is a good utility. I use NVIDIA Inspector, which has so many good options, you can get into trouble. :) Overclocking is a snap, and you can unlock the max settings. When you have a good working clock, go ahead and save a profile quicklink.

andytaro
10-13-2011, 10:04 PM
I've found a problem.. Whenever I successfully burn a DVD, I get blue screened. It never comes up under any other scenario, and I don't have the infamous power button issue yet.

Is this an issue with bios?

JRd1st
10-13-2011, 10:40 PM
What's the message ON the blue screen?

You could try this free utility if you're having trouble catching the error message. ;)

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

dstrakele
10-13-2011, 10:56 PM
If you filter your System Event Log for the SaveDump source, you can get the Bugcheck Code (STOP 0x000000xx) of your BSOD.

Googling your issue indicates bad memory or insufficient pagefile size as causes. Does the Windows Memory Diagnostic complete successfully on your system? Did you configure Pagefile size on your system? What is its current size?

grungeboy2
10-14-2011, 06:29 AM
might be a issue with the program you're burning with.

so the nvidia drivers won't install huh?

chastity - did those laptops need a modded inf file? i know that when i reinstalled win7 a while back, the first thing i installed once it reached the desktop was the nvidia drivers. by not installing the ASUS drivers first did i maybe bypass this issue?

clarkkent06
10-14-2011, 08:02 AM
Yes I had to use the modded inf file that Chastity has here:
http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?1150-G73-74-53-Series-Driver-and-Application-Reference&

[JW/SW/SX] Modified 285.38 Beta Updated INF Driver Pack (for those who cannot use the Verde notebook pack from NVIDIA)

andytaro
10-14-2011, 08:24 AM
Thanks for your advice everyone. :-)

I tried ConvertXtoDVD and MagicDVDripper. Both had the same issue. They burn the DVD for me and afterwards I'd have the blue screen pop up. I uninstalled both programs afterwards.

I'll try downloading that program.

grungeboy2
10-14-2011, 10:50 AM
i used to use convertxtodvd but i haven't in some time. it might be a issue with the burner itself.

i would try checking the event viewer. in win7 this can be done by typing event viewer into the search bar at the bottom of the start button.

andytaro
10-15-2011, 04:25 AM
Thanks, I've figured out how to find it. Here are the 2 crashes:

Dump File 101311-21590-01.dmp
Crash Time 10/13/2011 1:22:03 AM
Bug Check String DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
Bug Check Code 0x000000d1
Parameter 1 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 00000000`00000002
Parameter 3 00000000`00000008
Parameter 4 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver ntoskrnl.exe
Caused By Address ntoskrnl.exe+7cc40
File Description NT Kernel & System
Product Name Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Company Microsoft Corporation
File Version 6.1.7601.17640 (win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Processor x64
Crash Address ntoskrnl.exe+7cc40
Full Path C:\Windows\Minidump\101311-21590-01.dmp
Processors Count 8
Major Version 15
Minor Version 7601
Dump File Size 289,680

Dump File 101211-18501-01.dmp
Crash Time 10/12/2011 10:49:36 PM
Bug Check String DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
Bug Check Code 0x000000d1
Parameter 1 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 00000000`00000002
Parameter 3 00000000`00000008
Parameter 4 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver ntoskrnl.exe
Caused By Address ntoskrnl.exe+7cc40
File Description NT Kernel & System
Product Name Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Company Microsoft Corporation
File Version 6.1.7601.17640 (win7sp1_gdr.110622-1506)
Processor x64
Crash Address ntoskrnl.exe+7cc40
Full Path C:\Windows\Minidump\101211-18501-01.dmp
Processors Count 8
Major Version 15
Minor Version 7601
Dump File Size 293,000


It seems like exactly the same error to me, but I'm not sure what it means.

dstrakele
10-15-2011, 04:54 AM
http://www.faultwire.com/solutions-fatal_error/DRIVER-IRQL-NOT-LESS-OR-EQUAL-0x000000D1-*1210.html?order=votes dicusses STOP 0xD1 errors. NTOSKRNL.EXE is a victim in your case.

Bad Memory, corrupt Pagefile, bad drivers (particularly antivirus, antispyware, chipset and video drivers) are all suspects. What antivirus, malware, and firewall products are installed on your system?
The "Fix Damaged Pagefile" section of the referenced page is an easy thing to try, as is removing suspect software, and installing the latest video driver.
Have you checked your memory?

andytaro
10-15-2011, 05:54 AM
I have Microsoft Security Essentials installed.

How do I locate that specific driver on the Device Manager (Windows 7)?

If I re-installed Windows 7 might that fix it?

JRd1st
10-15-2011, 02:44 PM
Yeah, that would probably fix it unless it's hardware and then you'd know it WAS hardware.

If you DO reinstall, use the latest drivers, latest means NOT from your install CD or the Asus site. You can find most of what you'll need on The Goddess of ROG's Driver Page (http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?1150-G73-74-53-Series-Driver-and-Application-Reference)

dstrakele
10-15-2011, 02:59 PM
I had Microsoft Security Essentials and Trend Micro running concurrently for awhile and didn't notice any issues. I'm thinking something else is causing your lockup issue. Do you have a 3rd party Firewall or any other AntiMalware/AntiSpyware installed? If not, did you try any of the recommendations in the article I referenced in my previous post (#17)?

For the Trend Micro trial, you can:

1) Uninstall Trend Micro Titanium Internet Security and reboot. That'll remove all Trend Micro Drivers and Services. You can always get another trial if you want it.

2) Disable the Trend Micro Solution and TiMiniService Services in the "Services" dialog. Then in Device Manager, select "View - Show hidden devices" from the top menu, expand "Non-Plug and Play Drivers" and disable the tmactmon, tmcomm, tmevtmgr, and Trend Micro TDI Driver.

grungeboy2
10-15-2011, 05:53 PM
i used to use trend micro (great program) and now i use microsoft security (even better, system resource friendly). since you have been messing with video drivers, and that's one of the given issues, you should start there.

maybe do a clean install, (uninstall old ones, reboot, install new)

i'm unsure of what's causing your problem, but that's where i'd start if it was me.

andytaro
10-15-2011, 08:03 PM
Thanks for the info. I've uninstalled the Trend Micro Trial, but can't figure out the rest so I think I'll just do a clean install to see if that fixes things (then I can install the NVIDIA graphics driver too).

Only reason I've been hesitant to do a clean install is that I've never done one before and don't have a recovery disk. Is it doable without a recovery disk?

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/468027-complete-walk-through-doing-clean-windows-7-install.html

JRd1st
10-15-2011, 08:42 PM
Yes' it's totally doable. But you need a Win7 x64 Home Premium Install Disc and you need to install a LOT of drivers. AND you need to install SP1. Install discs with Win7 and SP1 integrated are available for download here (http://techdows.com/2011/07/download-windows-7-integrated-with-sp1-iso-official-direct-download-links.html). You need to burn the ISO's to DVD.

andytaro
10-15-2011, 09:29 PM
Thanks. I'm downloading now.

I do have the ASUS driver disk. Could I skip installing the ASUS graphics drivers, and install the NVIDIA graphics drivers later on through the internet?

JRd1st
10-15-2011, 09:33 PM
It depends on whether nVidia has added your GPU's device ID to their installer. If the stock driver won't install go here - http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?1150-G73-74-53-Series-Driver-and-Application-Reference and get a modded one.

The only thing you HAVE to install from the Asus disc is Intel Turbo Monitor, besides that, I would stay away from the disc because everything on it is old and problematic.

andytaro
10-16-2011, 01:53 AM
Gotcha. I think I may give this a crack tomorrow, but I want to be sure I download the right drivers/etc. before diving in. :-)

Do I have this right:


Firmware?

Latest DirectX Redist Package (June 2010)

Intel Chipset INF for Series 5 v9.2.0.1025

Don't need SATA drivers?

Intel TurboBoost Technology Monitor (2.0) & Driver : Use the version on the Driver Disc through the Asus Installer Application. Only known way of installing the driver portion.

Nvidia Notebook Drivers 280.26 WHQL (08/10/11) or modded

Realtek Audio driver v2.63 (07/20/11)

Realtek HDMI Driver v2.61 (06/03/11)

[SW] Creative THX MUI 1.02 Package

Fresco 3.4.6.0 from Asus (10/12/11)

Keyboard Filter 1.003 (Use of Microsoft HID driver is acceptable)

ATK Package 1.0.0.00013 (10/12/11) (don't need the early versions?)

MS Hotfix KB2529073 Post SP1

Synaptics 15.3.17.0 driver package (10/12/11)

Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet v1.0.0.29
Atheros AR813X/AR815X Series PCI-E Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20) v1.0.0.36 WHQL 10/22/2010


Intel 6200/6300 Wireless N x64 - Drivers Only - Drivers + Utilities (popular upgrade card)

Bluetooth?

Chicony Camera v061.005.200.310

Azureware 5.8.54000.206

grungeboy2
10-16-2011, 03:08 AM
i had good luck with win7 in the respect that when i installed it, everything worked out of the box, before i installed drivers.

but my g51 did good with the driver disc i got for windows, so i just run the install off the disc and stick to those drivers since they work well.

andytaro
10-22-2011, 08:03 PM
After researching the clean install, I decided against it as a minority seem to have issues.

I checked my memory and its all fine (a big relief).

I was wondering, if I were to uninstall or delete all my drivers would that create any problems? Perhaps then, I could just reinstall each driver manually and the problem will go away.

Also, how would I check for a corrupt pagefile? My total paging file size for all drives is 6121 MB.

JRd1st
10-22-2011, 09:01 PM
Your paging file size is determined by how much RAM have unless you mess with it.

The last I saw your system was working great, so what IS your problem?

Wow, Google is amazing! Look what I found - http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314834