PDA

View Full Version : Question about alignment on my Samsung 840 Evo



pokerface
04-16-2014, 04:09 PM
I have two 1 TB Samsung 840 Pro SSDs in my laptop

The first one was partitioned and formatted using the Windows 7 Setup

The 2nd one was partititioned in Windows Disk Management using the default allocation size

both are exactly the same, 1 partition each

Now when I ran AS SSD Benchmark, I noticed the OS drive is aligned @ 234496K and the 2nd drive is partitioned @ 132096K

1) How come they were aligned differently? Doesn't the Windows 7 Setup also align at the default as well?

2) Shall I format the 2nd SSD and align it the same as my 1st one?

3) When choosing the alignment sizes in Disk Management, I get 512, 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 16K, 32K, 64K

I don't see any of the values above? so how in the world am I supposed to align the 2nd drive @ 234496K like the first one is?

PS: I did use Samsung Magician to Overprovision both by 10%

First Drive:

http://i61.tinypic.com/2qu3xjb.png

Second Drive:

http://i57.tinypic.com/11l0yls.png

senttel
04-17-2014, 03:03 PM
Sweet Jesus.. two Samsung pro 1tb ssd's :O Did they cost more than your laptop lol?

TJ Hooker
04-17-2014, 04:49 PM
Sweet Jesus.. two Samsung pro 1tb ssd's :O Did they cost more than your laptop lol?

Haha, well he has EVOs, not Pros (don't think 1TB Pros exist), but yeah it probably still cost like $1000. 2TB worth of Pros would probably be double that yet.

pokerface
04-17-2014, 09:21 PM
Sweet Jesus.. two Samsung pro 1tb ssd's :O Did they cost more than your laptop lol?

no man, $489 each from Amazon. they smoke the heck out of my previous LiteOn SSD that came with my system

benchmark on AS SSD using RAPID (not RAID) mode of the Evo:

http://i57.tinypic.com/20jqsci.png

Nillaz
04-17-2014, 11:33 PM
The EVO drives are great SSD's, but why are you using RAPID while benchmarking? You are not getting a realistic result for your drive's R/W speeds. If your drives are misaligned you can realign them using free programs like partition wizard.

If you do decide to realign your drives you might also want to consider changing your sector size to 4k. My quick and dirty math tells me that you are using 1024, which gibes with what Windows 7 would choose as the default.

pokerface
04-18-2014, 04:44 AM
The EVO drives are great SSD's, but why are you using RAPID while benchmarking? You are not getting a realistic result for your drive's R/W speeds. If your drives are misaligned you can realign them using free programs like partition wizard.

If you do decide to realign your drives you might also want to consider changing your sector size to 4k. My quick and dirty math tells me that you are using 1024, which gibes with what Windows 7 would choose as the default.

I did some research on that and it seems there is no difference between 1024 and 4096 as long as the number is evenly dividable by 4, then it's the same

hmscott
04-18-2014, 05:35 AM
I have two 1 TB Samsung 840 Pro SSDs in my laptop...

pokerface, if they were my Evo 1TB drives, I would go into the BIOS and make a RAID0.

Then you have a 2TB drive, you can keep it all 1 partition, or break it up as you like into OS / Data partitions.

If you do a Asus Backtraker restore you will need to delete the partitions it makes and absorb the space into C / D partitions as you like.

Let us know the CrystalDiskMark performance results :)

pokerface
04-18-2014, 01:41 PM
pokerface, if they were my Evo 1TB drives, I would go into the BIOS and make a RAID0.

Then you have a 2TB drive, you can keep it all 1 partition, or break it up as you like into OS / Data partitions.

If you do a Asus Backtraker restore you will need to delete the partitions it makes and absorb the space into C / D partitions as you like.

Let us know the CrystalDiskMark performance results :)

RAID 0 won't send TRIM commands to the SSD, even if it says it does, nothing really happens. I did some research online and even spoke to Samsung and they don't recommend RAID they said

hmscott
04-18-2014, 10:11 PM
RAID 0 won't send TRIM commands to the SSD, even if it says it does, nothing really happens. I did some research online and even spoke to Samsung and they don't recommend RAID they said

That hasn't been my experience pokerface, it works fine. You can monitor performance over time, and use Windows TRIM if the Samsung app won't pierce through the RAID0 volume to the device. My RAID0 on my JH performs just as good as it did the first day I benchmarked it in November of last year.

The only thing I needed to do under Windows 8.1 was to run the Microsoft performance tool winsat on the cmdline as Administrator for Windows to recognize the RAID0 as an SSD:

C:\WINDOWS\system32>winsat formal
Windows System Assessment Tool
> Running the Formal Assessment
...long output, takes a few minutes to run...

After that run, right click C icon => Properties => Tools tab => Optimize disk for the SSD RAID0 showed up as an SSD instead of an HD when it did after upgrading to Windows 8.1, and Windows did a trim run like this:

35894

Give it try, and let us know how it works out for you. It will double your throughput, so it is worth the effort to try to get it to work :)