PDA

View Full Version : ASUS G750JS and frame rate drops when gaming



Ulveglis
04-25-2014, 12:24 PM
Hi. I just got my computer, an ASUS G750JS with 12 GBs of RAM and a GeForce GTX 870M graphics card, and I've found that Starcraft 2 sometimes succumb to massive frame rate drops that render the game unplayable, forcing me to close the game. The game normally runs smoothly on max settings, but sometimes when a map loads, it succumbs to unresolvable frame rate drops.

I made a thread (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?46519-G750JS-and-driver-problems&country=&status=) about it, believing the issue to be driver-oriented. After following the advice given, the problem still perist, although to a lesser extent.

Is my computer defect, or is this truly a driver issue, something that could've happened to anyone? GeForce experience supports Starcraft 2, and so I find it strange that that my computer can't run it competitively.

hmscott
04-25-2014, 12:33 PM
Hi. I just got my computer, an ASUS G750JS with 12 GBs of RAM and a GeForce GTX 870M graphics card, and I've found that Starcraft 2 sometimes succumb to massive frame rate drops that render the game unplayable, forcing me to close the game. The game normally runs smoothly on max settings, but sometimes when a map loads, it succumbs to unresolvable frame rate drops.

I made a thread (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?46519-G750JS-and-driver-problems&country=&status=) about it, believing the issue to be driver-oriented. After following the advice given, the problem still perist, although to a lesser extent.

Is my computer defect, or is this truly a driver issue, something that could've happened to anyone? GeForce experience supports Starcraft 2, and so I find it strange that that my computer can't run it competitively.


Thousands of complaints over many years show up on Google for Starcraft II frame rate drops:

About 130,000 results (0.31 seconds)
https://www.google.com/search?q=Starcraft+II+frame+rate+drops&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&channel=sb

2014
https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&channel=sb&sclient=psy-ab&q=2014+Starcraft+II+frame+rate+drops&oq=2014+Starcraft+II+frame+rate+drops&gs_l=serp.3...18398.21279.1.22066.5.5.0.0.0.0.146. 598.0j5.5.0....0...1c.1.42.serp..5.0.0.VoGh_gkRgNQ&bav=on.2,or.r_cp.r_qf.&bvm=bv.65397613%2Cd.aWw%2Cpv.xjs.s.en_US.Cf9mlb6I5 DA.O&biw=804&bih=534&dpr=1.71&ech=1&psi=G3RaU4WUC8WwyASL8IJA.1398436888567.3&emsg=NCSR&noj=1&ei=G3RaU4WUC8WwyASL8IJA

This seems the best place to get timely advice:

EU StarCraft II => Forums => Support => Technical Support
http://eu.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/11815/

US StarCraft II Technical Support
https://us.battle.net/support/en/games/starcraft2

HomieOC
04-25-2014, 12:38 PM
Scott i have a feeling his laptop is switching to integrated graphics. I Had same issue, and whenever i minimized my game it would switch to integrated graphics, and then not switch back, creating alot of lag..

DO you happen to be minimizing to desktop before getting this lag?

hmscott
04-25-2014, 12:46 PM
Scott i have a feeling his laptop is switching to integrated graphics. I Had same issue, and whenever i minimized my game it would switch to integrated graphics, and then not switch back, creating alot of lag..

DO you happen to be minimizing to desktop before getting this lag?

That is a good point HomieOC!

Ulveglis, check to make sure you aren't getting bit by Optimus switching in the Intel GPU even though it started on GTX GPU.

Ulveglis
04-25-2014, 02:36 PM
Hi again, thanks for quick responses.

No results thus far. I've noticed however, that after I've loaded a map three times in a row, the frame rate drop kick in. I've toyed around with GeForce Experience while the lag was going on, but to no avail.

I must add however, as noted in the previous thread I posted, that after I downloaded a beta-driver, alt-tabbing no longer instigated the frame rate drops.

hmscott
04-25-2014, 04:14 PM
Alt-tabbing, like switching between applications? That was inducing switching the graphics controller from GTX to Intel according to HomieOC - so the beta driver solved that - cool :)

I have seen so many complaints about StarCraft II, I stayed away. There are literally hundreds of thousands of unhappy people complaining about lag over many years.

If you want to bang your head against it, go for it, but I don't think the laptop in particular is the problem. To make sure you could install it on your desktop and play from there for a while and see if you have similar lag problems - I am guessing you will :(

Ulveglis
04-25-2014, 06:47 PM
Thanks again for a quick response, you two are highly appreciated. :)

Thing is, the laptop can run SC2 smoothly on max settings: the frame rate drop isn't random; it occurs almost consistently after I've played three games, at the precise moment the map has finished loading.

If alt-tabbing triggered this kind of frame rate drop, maybe loading X amounts of maps triggers it as well.

It just seems improbable that Starcraft 2 can't be played on this computer, considering GeForce Experience supports the game, and the fact that this is an expensive gaming computer. I watch a lot of SC2 streams with people playing on max settings, and they
don't have this problem, making me believe the computer is defect someohow, or there's something seriously wrong with the current drivers.

hmscott
04-25-2014, 09:57 PM
Thanks again for a quick response, you two are highly appreciated. :)

Thing is, the laptop can run SC2 smoothly on max settings: the frame rate drop isn't random; it occurs almost consistently after I've played three games, at the precise moment the map has finished loading.

If alt-tabbing triggered this kind of frame rate drop, maybe loading X amounts of maps triggers it as well.

It just seems improbable that Starcraft 2 can't be played on this computer, considering GeForce Experience supports the game, and the fact that this is an expensive gaming computer. I watch a lot of SC2 streams with people playing on max settings, and they
don't have this problem, making me believe the computer is defect someohow, or there's something seriously wrong with the current drivers.

Wrong with the current Nvidia drivers? Are you posting the problems you are seeing in the Nvidia support forum for the Beta?

Official NVIDIA 337.50 Beta Performance Display Driver Feedback Thread (4/7/14)
https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/720880/geforce-drivers/official-nvidia-337-50-beta-performance-display-driver-feedback-thread-4-7-14-/

And the forums support for StarCraft would be where you can get help with the "every 3x map reload" slowdown. There are probably other user support forums besides these, but they are the ones that come up in google for me. You might do some searching on your own.

US StarCraft II Technical Support
https://us.battle.net/support/en/games/starcraft2

US StarCraft II => Forums => Support => Technical Support
http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/13438/

I don't think your problems are with the G750 specifically. Although it is good to post here in the user support forum for the G750 too, in case another G750 user has this problem and found a solution, it is more likely you will get Game support at the Game support site, and Nvidia driver support at the Nvidia support site.

After the Nvidia Beta driver fix for Alt-tab, doesn't the map loading in game sound like game bug at this point to you?

Here is an example of someone getting Starcraft II support in the Starcraft II support forums, perhaps you can post there and get help with the map loading lag?

http://us.battle.net/sc2/en/forum/topic/10195830224

Are you having problems with downloads, video streaming, or other game play? Any problems outside Starcraft II?