PDA

View Full Version : Asus PB287Q upscaling



Orduu
05-04-2014, 04:16 AM
Does Asus PB287Q have some kind of built in UHD upscaling feature like Samsung U28D590D. I am worried how old low resolution games including emulators will look on 4k monitor.

_
05-06-2014, 08:55 AM
It will definitely upscale lower resolutions and it has ASUS VividPixel which will do some sharpening and I was told there's 5 sharpness levels to choose from - but I need to double check that and whether it can do 1:1 scaling with our product manager. 1:1 will give you a smaller image in the middle of your display while keeping the PPI the same, but few displays offer it as it's not an often requested feature.

Grab your fist of salt to anyone claiming "prevents image degradation". Such an absolutist claim is..., well, even professional Photoshop cannot prevent some image quality loss upscaling images because you're always approximating what it should be missing, and with moving images that's even harder.

If you're dealing with TV content it's compressed, so it's easier to 'fill in the gaps' and there's always an element of smoothing in the h.264/MPEG2 compression algorithm anyway. PC/Gaming devices send display data losslessly and unless the graphics card is applying post-processing shader effects like FXAA it will look sharp to the point of jagged, so on-the-fly upscaling difficulty is amplified. That's just the short of the whole situation for you ;)

Orduu
05-06-2014, 11:02 AM
1:Okay so I am waiting for response from product manager. I want to know how upscaling for low resolution games is working in this monitor ,if it can do 1:1 scaling and about sharpness levels. Also if it has 1:1 scaling will it work in windowed emulators or emulators in general ?
2: Does it have any anti-glare coating ?

_
05-07-2014, 12:52 AM
1:Okay so I am waiting for response from product manager. I want to know how upscaling for low resolution games is working in this monitor ,if it can do 1:1 scaling and about sharpness levels. Also if it has 1:1 scaling will it work in windowed emulators or emulators in general ?
2: Does it have any anti-glare coating ?

1) emulators - entirely down to your PC. Monitors just accepts whatever DP inputs.

2) I will check. I haven't seen one in the flesh sorry.

Orduu
05-07-2014, 02:01 AM
1) emulators - entirely down to your PC. Monitors just accepts whatever DP inputs.

2) I will check. I haven't seen one in the flesh sorry.

Thanks but also check if it has 1:1 scaling and sharpness levels.

Orduu
05-09-2014, 07:05 AM
Any news regarding my questions ?

_
05-12-2014, 07:55 AM
It does offer 1:1 pixel mapping
It does not have an anti-glare coating, it has a 25% haze polarizer like normal monitors.

Orduu
05-13-2014, 07:27 AM
It does offer 1:1 pixel mapping
It does not have an anti-glare coating, it has a 25% haze polarizer like normal monitors.
What about VividPixel sharpness levels ? Does it have multiple sharpness levels ?

Orduu
05-14-2014, 09:26 AM
Anyone ?

Orduu
05-17-2014, 09:49 PM
Any news regarding my question about shapness levels ?

Orduu
05-20-2014, 08:27 PM
Why cant I get answer to simple question ?

_
05-22-2014, 01:25 AM
Sorry, the answer I got yesterday was to another question.

VividPixel does have level adjustment for 5 scales: 0, 25, 50, 75, 100. The default setting is 25.

Orduu
05-22-2014, 03:35 AM
Sorry, the answer I got yesterday was to another question.

VividPixel does have level adjustment for 5 scales: 0, 25, 50, 75, 100. The default setting is 25.
Great so it has 1:1 pixel mapping and sharpness levels but to what question was your previous response ?

_
05-22-2014, 12:49 PM
Great so it has 1:1 pixel mapping and sharpness levels but to what question was your previous response ?
Not related. I get many answers to many questions at once sorry.

Orduu
06-05-2014, 12:12 PM
I have question does PB287Q have some kind of video scaler for low resolution content without using 1:1 pixel mapping ?

Orduu
06-07-2014, 08:31 AM
Does it have any built-in video scaler chip ?

kkn
06-07-2014, 10:55 AM
Does it have any built-in video scaler chip ?
i would guess thats only on TV's and amp's and not on a pc monitor?

Orduu
06-07-2014, 02:44 PM
i would guess thats only on TV's and amp's and not on a pc monitor?
Higher quality monitors have built-in video scaler ASICs. So I want to know if PB287Q has it.

Orduu
06-12-2014, 02:32 AM
So any news regarding my question about video scalers in PB287Q ?

blackforce
06-30-2014, 05:18 PM
yes and it looks great.

Orduu
07-03-2014, 02:02 PM
yes and it looks great.
So it does for sure have 1:1 pixel mapping and video scalers ? Really I am confused I am getting contradictory informations about it