PDA

View Full Version : Windows freezing on my G74SX-3DE



johnkook73
10-06-2011, 10:40 PM
Here is what its doing...

Sometimes when windows starts up where I log on and use my password it will freeze up sometimes up to over a minute and then goes to the desktop.

When it does work correctly and goes to the desktop it will freeze where I cannot open any pages or pretty much click on anything for about a minute.

JRd1st
10-06-2011, 11:04 PM
Mine doesn't freeze, but it gets to the laptop before the computer can be used. If i click an icon it takes a while before anything happens.

I think stuff is still loading. The boot is fast IMHO, so I'm considering this "do nothing time" part of the boot process and I don't worry about it. Not sure if you're experiencing the same thing.

BTW, I have to use a password, so without that the "do nothing time" might be longer.

grungeboy2
10-07-2011, 01:32 AM
update any drivers recently? installed any printer software recently?

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 01:36 AM
update any drivers recently? installed any printer software recently?

I did install some drivers like the new Nvidia beta drivers for BF3...I want to say though this has been going like this off and on since I got it.

JRd1st
10-07-2011, 01:58 AM
do you have any auto updaters running at startup? Disable them all except your AV and Windows update. If it still happens disable your AV updater and see if it happens.

ESPECIALLY, if you have Asus Update, disable... nay... uninstall it! lol

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 02:08 AM
do you have any auto updaters running at startup? Disable them all except your AV and Windows update. If it still happens disable your AV updater and see if it happens.

ESPECIALLY, if you have Asus Update, disable... nay... uninstall it! lol

I actually uninstalled the Asus updater yesterday when I saw another post lol. I dont have any other updaters except my anti-virus software.

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Do you observe any Warnings or Errors in your System or Application Event Logs when this issue occurs? It sounds like Windows is still loading when you attempt the Logon. Take a look at what you are loading at Startup and eliminate what you can.

JRd1st
10-07-2011, 06:43 PM
Does it happen when you're on both wifi and lan?

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 07:00 PM
Yes, when I am on wifi which I mostly use on here. When I installed my router I used my laptop and then took the hard wire off and put it on wifi so I could use it around the house.

Here is the first error.
Your computer was not assigned an address from the network (by the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 0x88532E3040F2. The following error occurred: 0x79. Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.

This came up as a warning.
WLAN Extensibility Module has stopped.

Module Path: C:\Windows\System32\IWMSSvc.dll

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 07:08 PM
Does ipconfig /all from the command prompt indicate your router IP Address is the DHCP server? Still, I'm thinking your reported eventlog error would not slow down bootup of the system or prevent you from interacting wtih the desktop.

Check out http://www.eventid.net/display.asp?eventid=10002&eventno=10433&source=Microsoft-Windows-WLAN-AutoConfig&phase=1 for the WLAN warning.

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 07:26 PM
Does ipconfig /all from the command prompt indicate your router IP Address is the DHCP server? Still, I'm thinking your reported eventlog error would not slow down bootup of the system or prevent you from interacting wtih the desktop.

Check out http://www.eventid.net/display.asp?eventid=10002&eventno=10433&source=Microsoft-Windows-WLAN-AutoConfig&phase=1 for the WLAN warning.

My computer skills are not the greatest so I do appologize if I dont understand something. Here is what it shows...

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\John>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2451:4c76:c979:12be%13
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.{87A3AC2E-C12D-474B-A572-9A64A2C518F5}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter isatap.{44034ABD-2E2F-4FAE-8703-8505964A5D85}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:38b3:2ea2:3f57:fefc
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::38b3:2ea2:3f57:fefc%16
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::

C:\Users\John>

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Like I said before when I configured my computer I used the laptop to configure my new router. I sold my desktop so the that is the reason I had to use my laptop as a "main computer" for the router. Soon as I configured it I unlplugged it from the lan and connected wireless. Do you think maybe thats whats causing all these problems??

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 07:34 PM
You need to add the /all switch to display the DHCP server C:\>ipconfig /all
What brand and model router are you using? It looks like 192.168.1.1 is the address of your router. It should also be the address of your DHCP server.

I'm not 100% positive this is what's causing your delay on bootup. But you say it occurs only when you use WiFi, so it's worth troubleshooting.

Once the router is configured, removing the laptop's LAN connection will have no effect.

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 07:43 PM
You need to add the /all switch to display the DHCP server C:\>ipconfig /all
What brand and model router are you using? It looks like 192.168.1.1 is the address of your router. It should also be the address of your DHCP server.

I'm not 100% positive this is what's causing your delay on bootup. But you say it occurs only when you use WiFi, so it's worth troubleshooting.


Its a Netgear N600 Dual Band Gigabit Router, ok is this right?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\John>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : John-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6230
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-53-2E-30-40-EE
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::2451:4c76:c979:12be%13(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, October 07, 2011 3:36:50 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, October 08, 2011 3:36:51 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 361255726
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-F3-8E-34-14-DA-E9-42-58-AD

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-53-2E-30-40-F2
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{87A3AC2E-C12D-474B-A572-9A64A2C518F5}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:a5:3c4f:3f57:fefc(Prefer
red)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a5:3c4f:3f57:fefc%16(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 08:17 PM
Looks okay. I'd look at what's being loaded in the Startup tab of MSCONFIG.EXE. You could also try disabling your Local Area Connection in Network Connections. However, I have the feeling your reported delay may be normal and just requires some waiting on your part. I typically wait until the HDD activity LED shows minimal flashing before I Logon. I want Windows to be fully loaded before my Logon attempt.

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 08:27 PM
Ok, thanks for all your help..I appreciate it!! :)

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 08:42 PM
You're very welcome. On my old, slow XP desktop, I can logon after waiting many minutes for XP to load, and I cannot interact with the desktop until Super AntiSpyware attempts to connect to the internet to update its database. I can click on "Internet", but IE doesn't display until Super AntiSpyware has done its thing. I just wait for it.

johnkook73
10-07-2011, 11:11 PM
Yea I have Kaspersky Plus and this is the first time I have tried them so maybe that might be causing some issues.

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 11:17 PM
My machine included a trial of Trend Micro Antivirus. If yours did as well make sure Trend is uninstalled or completely disabled. You could also check in Device Manager. Click on View - Show Hidden Devices from the top menu, then expand Non-Plug and Play Drivers. You don't want to see any Trend Micro drivers listed there if you are running another Antivirus.

JRd1st
10-07-2011, 11:44 PM
You're very welcome. On my old, slow XP desktop, I can logon after waiting many minutes for XP to load, and I cannot interact with the desktop until Super AntiSpyware attempts to connect to the internet to update its database. I can click on "Internet", but IE doesn't display until Super AntiSpyware has done its thing. I just wait for it.

My GX74SX does the same thing while waiting for NOD32 to download the latest sigs, but it's not real long. My old desktop did it, too. No big deal.