PDA

View Full Version : G74sx Resolution Issue



xanax95
10-07-2011, 08:26 AM
Hi I just got the g74sx-th71 but can't seem to change my resolution to the max of 1920x1200. This resolution isn't even listed when I try to change it. The highest it goes is 1600. Can anyone help me? I even installed the latest beta drivers too. Thanks in advance

xanax95
10-07-2011, 09:05 AM
I uninstalled and reinstalled the newest drivers nothing seem to get me my 1920x1200 resolution....also is the refresh rate for this screen maxed out at 60? because that is all I'm getting....someone please help me

MPerni
10-07-2011, 10:07 AM
I think that the display is 16:9 and not 16:10, so you will not get 1920x1200.

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 03:00 PM
Odd - I've looked at several online dealers and they advertise the G74SX-TH71 as having 1920x1080 resolution.

In Screen Resolution, my monitor is described as "Mobile PC Display". When I select the dropdown Resolution button, I see 3 choices - 1920x1080 (recommended), 1280x720, and 800x600. If I go into Advanced Settings and select the "Monitor" tab, it is "Generic PnP Monitor". If I click on the Properties button and select the Driver tab, my driver version is 6.1.7600.16385.

In the Adapter tab of Advanced Settings, I see NVIDEA GeForce GTX 560M. If I click on the "List all modes" button, I see 3 1920x1080 modes. Clicking on the Properties button and selecting the Driver tab, I see version 8.17.126837.

What is displayed on your G74SX-TH71 system?

Yahooligan
10-07-2011, 05:05 PM
If you're only getting 1600x900 as an option, are you SURE you got a TH71? There are G74SX systems that don't come with a FullHD display but instead come with a 1600x900 (720p) display. Also, 60Hz is what the refresh should be. Not sure what refresh you were expecting out of a non-3D display?

None of the G74SX models support 1920x1200 native, the max is FullHD 1920x1080.

xanax95
10-07-2011, 06:39 PM
Odd - I've looked at several online dealers and they advertise the G74SX-TH71 as having 1920x1080 resolution.

In Screen Resolution, my monitor is described as "Mobile PC Display". When I select the dropdown Resolution button, I see 3 choices - 1920x1080 (recommended), 1280x720, and 800x600. If I go into Advanced Settings and select the "Monitor" tab, it is "Generic PnP Monitor". If I click on the Properties button and select the Driver tab, my driver version is 6.1.7600.16385.

In the Adapter tab of Advanced Settings, I see NVIDEA GeForce GTX 560M. If I click on the "List all modes" button, I see 3 1920x1080 modes. Clicking on the Properties button and selecting the Driver tab, I see version 8.17.126837.

What is displayed on your G74SX-TH71 system?

The recommended says 1600x900 for me. I checked the list modes and the highest was 1600x900 as well.


The box and code says TH71. So I'm not quite sure what happened here

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 06:44 PM
What model number is reported on the tag attached to your laptop? If it is indeed a G74SX-TH71, what version video driver is running on your system?

xanax95
10-07-2011, 07:44 PM
It does say G74SX-TH71. The video driver version is 285.38

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 07:50 PM
Is 285.38 the version reported in NVIDEA 560 Properties - Driver tab?

You might try uninstalling the driver, reboot,, sweep for any NVIDEA or other video card drivers, re-install 285.38.

Where did you purchase your G74SX-TH71?

xanax95
10-07-2011, 08:51 PM
I did exactly what you said and theres still no resolution greater than 1600x900. I ordered it from TigerDirect

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 09:20 PM
On the TigerDirect site I see:

ASUS G74SX-TH71 17.3" Black Notebook
Memory Type: DDR3
Total Memory Size: 12GB
Display Type: Full HD Display
Screen Size: 17.3"
Maximum Resolution: 1920 x 1080

Give 'em a call. What do they say?

You are running a BETA video driver. I would try backrevving to the original (again - uninstall, reboot, sweep, install original driver) before I returned the laptop.

One more thing... Go into Device Manager, expand Monitors, right-click on Generic PnP Monitor, choose Properties, select Details tab, in the Property downdrop select Hardware IDs. What is then displayed in the Value box?

Boosted_R
10-07-2011, 10:17 PM
sounds like your screen is 1600x900 model................. if you are sure they come with full HD screen, I would also check and see if you GPU is 128 bit (2GB GDDR5) or 192 bit (3GB GDDR5) while your at it to see if you got what you were suppose to get

xanax95
10-07-2011, 10:31 PM
the hardware id says MONITOR\SEC544B. The GPU is the 192bit 3GB GDDR5

JRd1st
10-07-2011, 10:37 PM
If you google sec544b you get lots of links which read that it'd 1600x900, like this one http://forum.notebookreview.com/dell-xps-studio-xps/544174-official-swapping-xps-17-l701x-screen-thread-69.html

If you're supposed to have 1920x1080 then someone's trying to rip you off.

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 10:42 PM
That is different than what is reported on my G74SX-A1. My display's Hardware ID is MONITOR\CMO1726. I'm unsure if this ID is specific to the display model, but I'd definitely take this up with TigerDirect.

Yahooligan
10-07-2011, 10:45 PM
I did exactly what you said and theres still no resolution greater than 1600x900. I ordered it from TigerDirect

I wonder if someone pulled as fast one, either at TigerDirect or on TigerDirect. Check the serial number on the laptop itself, does it match the serial number on the box?

dstrakele
10-07-2011, 11:00 PM
I've used TigerDirect many times to order cameras and camera equipment. My experience with this vendor is they provided what I ordered on schedule. Never had a problem. They are highly rated in the satisfaction surveys. I'm sure they will make this right for you. Just give them a call and be pleasant, but firm. If the person you speak with initially can't help you, ask for the manager. You're in the right on this one...

Jallopy
10-07-2011, 11:29 PM
Just adding data to the issue.....

Got same TH71 model from Amazon shipped by Circuit City. Same issue, it came HD+ vs Circuit City advertised Full HD. Have claim into Amazon - awaiting response. Also asked Asus what the real TH71 specs are - awaiting response. Box S/N matches Computer S/N. HD+ is on the box sticker, but not anywhere that I can see on computer case. Circuit City, CompUSA, and Tiger Direct must use the same web service as all their TH71 ads are identical and show the TH71 to be Full HD 1920x1080. The hardware id says MONITOR\SEC544B.

TomicTrauma
10-10-2011, 03:46 AM
I had just ordered the TH71 model from TigerDirect when I came across this thread. I emailed TD and their Customer Service assured me that the TH71 display resolution is Full HD 1920x1080. Expect to receive shipment soon, so I'll find out the truth soon enough. Too bad ASUS doesn't post a table somewhere listing the spec variations among the various G74SX models.

xanax95
10-10-2011, 06:51 AM
Are you sure? When I emailed TD about it, they referred me to ASUS..

Yahooligan
10-10-2011, 05:18 PM
I had just ordered the TH71 model from TigerDirect when I came across this thread. I emailed TD and their Customer Service assured me that the TH71 display resolution is Full HD 1920x1080. Expect to receive shipment soon, so I'll find out the truth soon enough. Too bad ASUS doesn't post a table somewhere listing the spec variations among the various G74SX models.

I don't know that I'd trust their CS people, all they probably did was look at the same specs sheet as they have posted on their website. Unless they physically had a TH71 and verified then they're just telling you what the catalog says, which is what's on the website.

Jallopy
10-11-2011, 01:47 PM
Got response from Asus on Th71 Screen Resolution issue.

Appears that Th71 can come in HD+ and Full HD.

Ways to determine the resolution are:
1) Have serial number and have it decoded (by Asus?)
2) There are two labels on the product box ends.
One label will show G71Sx-TH71 with the Serial Number
The other label will show G71sx_(Some other identifier - not TH71) and
will will have a line that will say HD+ or Full HD.
3) You have the laptop and use Windows or other software to get the max resolution.


Unless you can get the supplier to tell you what's actually on the product box labels, you could get burnt.

I got Amazon & Circuit City reps on the line on a 3 way call and made them aware of the web site ad being misleading.
I am sending my TH71 HD+ back for full refund.

Ordered a G74SX from Amazon as it's most likely to be the Full HD.

Bottom Line: Be(A)ware....

Chastity@ASUS
10-11-2011, 02:49 PM
AFAIK, the only non FullHD G74SX being sold is by Best Buy.

TomicTrauma
10-11-2011, 04:41 PM
Thanks, Jallopy, for the info and the follow-through. This is a great help.

xanax95
10-11-2011, 06:48 PM
Got response from Asus on Th71 Screen Resolution issue.

Appears that Th71 can come in HD+ and Full HD.

Ways to determine the resolution are:
1) Have serial number and have it decoded (by Asus?)
2) There are two labels on the product box ends.
One label will show G71Sx-TH71 with the Serial Number
The other label will show G71sx_(Some other identifier - not TH71) and
will will have a line that will say HD+ or Full HD.
3) You have the laptop and use Windows or other software to get the max resolution.


Unless you can get the supplier to tell you what's actually on the product box labels, you could get burnt.

I got Amazon & Circuit City reps on the line on a 3 way call and made them aware of the web site ad being misleading.
I am sending my TH71 HD+ back for full refund.

Ordered a G74SX from Amazon as it's most likely to be the Full HD.

Bottom Line: Be(A)ware....

So does the TH71 come in HD+ only or Full HD too?? Chasitity do you have any information on the TH71 model? Can I exchange it since I only had it for a little less than a week?

dstrakele
10-11-2011, 07:23 PM
Jallopy's response from ASUS is clear - the G71SX-TH71 is shipped with TWO different resolution screens.

TigerDirect's ad is also clear - they indicate this system is shipped with a FULL HD 1920x1080 screen. This is incorrect in your case and they should make good by at least refunding your purchase without a restocking fee. As I said earlier, I believe TigerDirect is a reputable dealer and will make the effort to keep you happy.

JRd1st
10-11-2011, 08:06 PM
So does the TH71 come in HD+ only or Full HD too?? Chasitity do you have any information on the TH71 model? Can I exchange it since I only had it for a little less than a week?

You should expect a laptop with the specs they advertised for the same price you saw... at least.

xanax95
10-11-2011, 10:58 PM
I just called and they are shipping me a new g74sx with the "full hd" so time to wait and see if it's really the Full HD or another HD+


I'm actually worried about receiving another unit and it being HD+ again. One of the reviews on TigerDirect, another person received a HD+ display as well. It doesn't seem like they know what I'm talking about the display when I call TigerDirect or Asus

JRd1st
10-11-2011, 11:52 PM
I wouldn't be happy unless they stated that it was 19201080.

I wish Asus and the retailers would stop playing this game.....

Chastity@ASUS
10-12-2011, 12:06 AM
If you can PM me your serial numbers, I can verify the configs.

dstrakele
10-12-2011, 01:07 AM
I just called and they are shipping me a new g74sx with the "full hd" so time to wait and see if it's really the Full HD or another HD+

I'm actually worried about receiving another unit and it being HD+ again. One of the reviews on TigerDirect, another person received a HD+ display as well. It doesn't seem like they know what I'm talking about the display when I call TigerDirect or Asus

I'm sure TigerDirect is as confused as the rest of us. Who would think a machine with the same model number would have different hardware components?

Jallopy
10-12-2011, 05:38 AM
xanax95,

I had my TH71 HD+ for about a week and used it. I did recover it back to a factory install before returning it.

Yesterday (Monday) Circuit City sent me the UPS prepaid shipping label to send my TH71 HD+ back for a full refund.
Within 5 minutes of getting the prepaid shipping label, I ordered the G71SX-A1 from Amazon.
This morning (Tuesday) I got a nice email from Circuit City with an apology for the error.
This afternoon (Tuesday) I got the G74SX-A1 that I ordered yesterday.
Typing this message on the new A1.

The A1 was $150 more than the TH71 and the A1 does have Full HD. Hooray!!!!
The designation of the display on the label on the product box is 17.3 FHD(GL, LED).
{GL must be for glossy and LED is the backlight type.}

The FHD is much nicer than the HD+, so if you still end up with a HD+, send it back.

Let us know what TD sends you. Lot's of luck.

Jallopy


PS: Of course with the A1 I got 1 TB more storage, a gaming mouse, and a carrying case AND "real" Full HD.
I hope the .2 cpu frequency loss won't be noticeable.
I really would have kept the TH71 if it had been delivered with Full HD.


"It must be true; I found it on the Internet,"

JRd1st
10-12-2011, 10:31 AM
HD+ ... where else does "+" mean less? :sigh:

TomicTrauma
10-14-2011, 03:40 PM
I just noticed that TigerDirect has changed the G74SX-TH71 product description listed on their site. It now says that it has a 1600 x 900 display resolution.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1219120&CatId=4938

dstrakele
10-14-2011, 03:48 PM
That's good to see because the original ad was misleading.

xanax95
10-14-2011, 07:53 PM
hmm they had just sent me an exchange for the th71. should I just return it for another model? is there a big difference between the 2630 and 2670 processor?



now I'm on the fence about getting a MSI laptop

Jallopy
10-14-2011, 11:29 PM
xanax95

I would (and I did) return it for a full refund. Get a Full HD version. As I mentioned in a previous post I got the A1 from Amazon.
The Th71 2670 is about 10% faster as a processor, but the integrated effect of the GPU and system is such that I don't find any difference with what I do. Handles Portal 2 and Half-Life with no diffrence.

I'm glad I went for the Full HD which I wanted in the 1st place.

I know absolutly nothing about MSI ( or a few other things!).

The G74SX is just right for me.

Added: I plan to overclock the GPU a bit, which might compensate somewhat for the slower CPU.
Most of the benchmarks are for the 2630 and with the 560 GPU does quite well.

TomicTrauma
10-15-2011, 02:09 AM
I just received my TH71 from TD (TigerDirect). It said HD+ on the side label of the box, so I didn't even open the carton. I called TD Customer Service, got a refund and RA, and shipped it back to TD via UPS on their dime. As soon as everything clears, I intend to order a G74SX-XT1. TD was very pleasant about the whole thing.

dstrakele
10-15-2011, 02:12 AM
I just received my TH71 from TD (TigerDirect). It said HD+ on the side label of the box, so I didn't even open the carton. I called TD Customer Service, got a refund and RA, and shipped it back to TD via UPS on their dime. As soon as everything clears, I intend to order a G74SX-XT1. TD was very pleasant about the whole thing.

Smart - that's the best way to handle this issue.