PDA

View Full Version : G75VX and 1866MHz memory. Have anyone tried?



Konstantin77.9
05-09-2014, 01:27 PM
As the title says, did anyone managed to make 1866 memory work with this lapi? my own new memory moduls are on the way.

Konstantin77.9
05-12-2014, 09:57 AM
I received my memory modules, they say 1.35V. I think the built-in modules are 1.5V. Is that so, are they compatibles?

GottiBoi55
05-15-2014, 04:14 AM
No, it's not recommended to mix memory mods!

jmhdj
05-15-2014, 02:12 PM
Dont vorry about voltage. Best way is to take allold modules first and check if 1866hz modules work and what frequencies are they use. If they work then you can try and mix with old if you find that neccesary. In that way you avoid confusion on what could be wrong in case it is :)

Clintlgm
05-15-2014, 03:19 PM
http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/hwinfo64.htmlI agree with GottiBoi55 not only do you need to match Voltages you also need to match Timings you can read what you have with Hwinfo64 mismatch to your own determent even if it only having to return memory.

whathedo69
05-16-2014, 05:57 AM
I have 16gb of 1866mhz two 8g sticks corsair vengeance and they are great never had any problems and they are giving max out put 933.

GottiBoi55
05-18-2014, 02:40 AM
Don't know if you are still under warranty, if not you can dismantle your VX and start with new ram under the keyboard.
Just do a complete upgrade in all 4 ram slots (all matching ram), if you are into running VMs you can go with 32 Gigs.

KTZeen
05-28-2014, 07:51 AM
Did anyone try more faster speed RAMs?

Clintlgm
05-28-2014, 12:54 PM
Well it if fits in it will probably run, however it will only run and the maximum speed supported by the Mother Board, Also you probably void your warranty to get to the 2 stick under the keyboard. You would have to have 4 matching Stick to have any chance of increasing the ram speed.