PDA

View Full Version : Thermals for G750 JS model?



dblkk
05-09-2014, 08:25 PM
Question for all you g750 js model owners or anyone else with knowledge about this.

I've gone through 3 JM models due to thermals reaching 102-103c. This was all same shipment from best buy.

So I thought to remedy the situation by buying on amazon.com, also had a few more $$ so I went with the JS model this time. Upon first running a whole line of benchmarking programs, temps never went above 85c CPU. Problem was during idle or very little cpu stress temps were 70-75c. But I thought that the top ceiling was low enough this time so just didn't worry to much.

But then I started downloading my video rendering/editing programs. Now while editing/rendering a video I see temps 95-100c. So I thought well, not over 100c yet and cpu is at 100%.

But now, even while gaming and cpu usage isn't over 60% (just now ran skyrim at 45% load), my max temps are 100c. Is this normal? Bad? Thoughts? Opinions?

dblkk
05-09-2014, 08:30 PM
3653336534365353653636537365383653936540

These are of running antivirus scan, just having iTunes, rendering several different videos, and one playing skyrim for 5 min!!

And those that were close in time with one another, and for every screen shot for that matter. The high/low figures were reset everytime.

HomieOC
05-09-2014, 09:56 PM
You Should get ESET for anti virus :) I have mcafee too.. and ESET blows it out of the water..

but nooo... thats not normall.... 100 C is max it can go. i have the G750 JZ i get 38 C for cpu at idle and GPU 54 C at idle

dblkk
05-09-2014, 10:47 PM
I didn't think that was normal. But out of last 4 new version (g860 and 870m) models, temps have all been about this same temp. I've emailed asus several times now, first being about 3 months ago, most recent before today was last week. Asking them what normal temps were, giving them my temps as well as a few screen shots. And I have yet to hear back from them, any of the times.

sasuke256
05-09-2014, 11:09 PM
Go for the JZ then man, seems like their stock is all unable to deal with thermals..

dblkk
05-09-2014, 11:18 PM
Cant go for the jz, just bought the js. I purchased first 3 from bb and they were great about replacing and/or upgrading. But the js I just got from amazon thinking maybe the best buy shipment was faulty. Well hopefuly asus will contact me, otherwise ill try and work through amazon. Really like the laptop but if this is how asus is going to be maybe ill just try and go msi route next time then.

sasuke256
05-10-2014, 10:20 PM
you are gonna have to do the repaste job alone.. sorry to hear that man :(

dblkk
05-11-2014, 11:19 PM
you are gonna have to do the repaste job alone.. sorry to hear that man :(

I have no problems doing a repaste Jo. But repasting involves opening up the laptop, like total disassembly. Which will void my warranty. Ive only had the laptop almost two weeks now so am no where close to wanting to ruin my almost full 1 year warranty by repasting . Once my one year is up I will open this sucker up right away and repaste, but not now.