PDA

View Full Version : Asus g750jz and Guild Wars 2



Fehaya
05-19-2014, 02:21 AM
for those who has a g750jz, am i the only one who could not use the ultra settings? i mean i can max out on metro last light and witcher 2 (without the uber sampling of course) but gw2 seems like a different story. Is it just me?

hmscott
05-19-2014, 02:28 AM
for those who has a g750jz, am i the only one who could not use the ultra settings? i mean i can max out on metro last light and witcher 2 (without the uber sampling of course) but gw2 seems like a different story. Is it just me?

Looks like it is a tough game to get high FPS. Here is a 780m 770m 765m Guild War 2 comparison
http://www.notebookcheck.net/In-Review-Nvidia-GeForce-GTX-780M-GTX-770M-GTX-765M.93277.0.html

36809

Fehaya
05-19-2014, 02:57 AM
yeah but ive been looking around and seems like other g750 users end up with 50-60

hmscott
05-19-2014, 03:09 AM
yeah but ive been looking around and seems like other g750 users end up with 50-60

Fehaya, that's cool, links?

What G750 model did they have?

Maybe PM them and ask for their settings, what settings did they drop in order to get FPS that high?

I can't find a G750JZ fps result for GW2, did you? Here is one I found for the 780m:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLEseJ1DdTw

Are you already running Nvidia BETA 337.50?

With the JZ you can't OC far, but it is better than nothing, have you used Asus Tweak Tool for Laptops to OC the 880m?

Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops vs Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?45644-Asus-GPU-Tweak-for-Laptops-vs-Asus-GPU-Tweak-for-Graphics-Cards&p=387929&viewfull=1#post387929

It looks like a CPU OC bump could help too. Use Intel XTU to set the multi to 36x/35x/34x/34x cores and 36x cache. If you want to reduce temps you can set the offset voltage for CPU/cache to -20mV to -125mV - whatever is stable. Also, set the Power Plan to High Performance to get 100% CPU all the time - no downclocking during idle time.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?keyword=%22%22extreme+tuning+uti lity%22%22

I am assuming GW2 is using the Nvidia GPU on the JZ? Maybe tweaking Intel/Nvidia settings can help too?

Fehaya
05-19-2014, 07:02 AM
hmm ill try that thanks

hmscott
05-19-2014, 08:30 AM
hmm ill try that thanks

If you have any questions, please ask :)

Scionyde
05-19-2014, 02:27 PM
Are you and the people who are getting better results benchmarking it in the same place? Busier areas like Lion's Arch(currently Vigil Keep) are definitely going to hit your framerate harder than areas with fewer players wandering around. My i5-4670k and GTX 780 gets like 40-45 fps in Vigil Keep with everything turned all the way up.

Fehaya
05-20-2014, 05:36 PM
mine just seem to drop fps when i rotate the camera lol which is pretty annoying cuz its very noticeable

Darnassus
05-20-2014, 07:41 PM
I play Guild Wars 2, you can't do max settings and expect good frame rates on a G750.

It's a shockingly demanding game, and the graph is mediocre.

Only uses two cores if I remember correctly, also the game is not optimised at all for anything on their end. I think there's a patch coming soon™ to fix it.

I'm on a JX (770m 3gb) and I play on Mix Medium / High