PDA

View Full Version : CPU temps



HulkSmash
05-23-2014, 12:49 AM
Hey guys, would you mind posting your CPU and GPU temps are iddle and full load? Did a repaste, and wanted to compare temps!

Note: specify if you also did a repaste, which thermal compound you used, and also if you overclock!

Thanks!

SpasTaz0917
05-24-2014, 12:41 PM
"idle"few tabs open on Google Chrome :)

I have repasted mine with Arctic cooling MX-4 CPU & GPU + thermal pads a while ago

Ambient Temperatur 26 Celcius

CPU Idle 50 Celcius (CPU fan is at 2600rpm)
GPU Idle 37 Celcius (No OC)

15 minutes of Prime95
15 minutes of Furmark Burn-in Benchmark 1920x1080 (BURN-IN SCORE:1521 points)
CPU Load 97 Celcius (max fan speed 4200rpm)
GPU Load 74 Celcius (max fan speed 3600rpm)
GPU VRM 1 being at 92 Celcius max...

The fans on the prime 95 test kicked in at 98 celcius stabilizing it at 95-97 Celcius... slow response.
I might need to repaste mine then :P I might have done a terrible job x)

so what are your temperatures then?

So I can decide to repaste or not :)

EDIT:
plus my GPU FAN has a hole :P for direct Air intake :)

like Dreamonics amazeballs mod (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?33681-Laptop-Intake-Mod&)... except mine is a tad more ghetto x)

Clintlgm
05-25-2014, 02:00 PM
My Idle temps with ambient temp being 24c CPU 44c GPU 39C, Furmark 1080 full screen 15 minute burn in test 83C max it takes about 7 minutes to get to 83C and then it fluxuates 80 to 83c for the remainder of the Burn in test. I test my CPU with Burn In Test and 15 minutes full 100% CPU usage I never get over 72 C
my motherboard was change out on a RMA earlier this year so I assume that I was repasted at that time however Asus Repair does it. I have air pressure available so I blow out my note book about once a month. This area is naturally very dusty

SpasTaz0917
05-26-2014, 03:35 PM
@Clintlgm those 83 Celsius was with The Furmark burn-in test?
or Prime95 or some other CPU burn in test thing?

well...
got bored, and made a hole for the CPU too :D

running Prime95, still the fans don't kick in until 97 celcius -_- same thing happens with Handbrake/3DS Max rendering.
is there a reset "nvram / pram reset" like they have on the Macs? to reset the fan speeds on different temperature levels?

Ambient Temp 25 Celsius
CPU Load 84 Celsius (max fan speed 3800rpm then stabilizing at 3600rpm)

well, those temperature are much better than 97 celsius I had before with 4200rpm fans spinning :D
should have done it months ago! x)

Very nice :)

Clintlgm
05-26-2014, 04:16 PM
83c was on Furmark (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/furmark.html)15 minute 1080 full screen burn in test. Like I said it took 7 minutes to get to the 80's then fluxuated 80 - 83C
72c was cpu on Burn In Test (http://www.passmark.com/products/bit.htm)100% load 15 min burn in test

SpasTaz0917
05-26-2014, 04:58 PM
well.
while I still have the time to d!ck around. I better start the tedious process of dissasembling it.
then try to slab on some thermal paste and se if it improves my temperatures :)

SpasTaz0917
05-26-2014, 06:51 PM
Success ;)

last time I repasted, I used as little as possible "less is better" well that is a bunch of LIES!
today I went balls to the walls with the arctic MX-4
Prime95 and Burnintest
so now Max temperatures are 75c
stabilized at:

CPU Load 72 celsius (max fan speed 3000rpm)

improvement is always good :)

Clintlgm
05-26-2014, 10:45 PM
Yea and it will get better after it all settles in too.

GottiBoi55
05-26-2014, 11:06 PM
83c was on Furmark (http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/furmark.html)15 minute 1080 full screen burn in test. Like I said it took 7 minutes to get to the 80's then fluxuated 80 - 83C
72c was cpu on Burn In Test (http://www.passmark.com/products/bit.htm)100% load 15 min burn in test

My temps are pretty much the same, and I still on the factory paste job!
My G75VW in June will be 2 years old, and not a one RMA!
I guess I'm one of the lucky ones with a good paste job.....wooo hooo!

Clintlgm
05-27-2014, 01:04 AM
Indeed gottiBoi55 mine has been in twice, and will be 2 years old in July. the second time worked though no more problems. I think cl-albert had a lot to do with it.

HulkSmash
05-28-2014, 03:13 AM
SKIP THIS PARAGRAPH IF YOU JUST WANT TO LOOK AT TEMPS
Wow, I think some of you guys need a repaste lol. Anyways I did mine with some Arctic Silver 5, and I went with less is better lol. I actually thought less was better, specially after reading a few articles and indeed it was! For the GPU, I did a single dot of paste, for the CPU a single thin line and placed the heat sinks as flat as possible. It actually makes sense that less is better... since what you are trying to do is minize the space between the chip and the heat sinks, so they are close together as possible but still have something in betweenas they are not perfectly symmetric; this will in turn lead to more efficient heat dissipation (or at least I think so lol)!

Anyways after a repaste with AS5, my iddle temps are 40C on the CPU, 35 on the GPU. Under max load I didn't run furmark or prime, but I did play crysis 3 and BF4 for about 2 hours for both. For the CPU, the max I got was 70C. For the GPU the max I got was 65C! I do overclock my GPU from regular clocks @950 to about @1200. One detail though, I do have a GTX660m, not a GTX670m. The 670m is bound to run a little hotter since it is fermi, not kepler like the 660m.
I guess, if you are reaching the 90's, and your warranty is out, it is probably time to do a repaste. I think I'll be doing them ghetto holes for even better temps lol...

SpasTaz0917
05-28-2014, 05:09 AM
What you should know is that AS5 can be conductive. And it has a cure time of 200 hours.
After 200 hours, the temps will get better.

I have no idea if the GPU VRM's are conductive or anything. Originally I used AS5 too on the CPU / GPU, memory and VRM's :)
And since AS5 creates a thin layer of silver at some point. I cleansed it all away, after a week and used
Arctic MX-4, no cure time and non-conductive :) not gonna risk that slight chance of frying something.

I finally fixed my GPU ghetto hole too :) made a hole big enough for the round grills, and simply super glued it in.
Looks much better except the excess glue. The CPU side turned out much better, no excess glue. :)

Bonus...
I once had a MacBook Pro 2011. Which I Repasted, which I do religiously on every new system :P
There was so much thermal compound, that it was actually insulating the GPU from the immense heat that the CPU Load emits, 90c + is standard for a MacBook...
(CPU & GPU is very close and is on the same heatpipe) so my GPU temps got higher when doing CPU intensive tasks. And the overall GPU temps got somewhat better when playing games. 84c overclocked opposed to almost 90c. (AMD 6750m) after the repaste with AS5.

HulkSmash
05-28-2014, 11:44 PM
So, am I at any risk with AS5, should I switch to something else? And I thought being conductive would actually help it...

HulkSmash
05-28-2014, 11:51 PM
Lol, I think I saw a macbook in the Foreman Grills section at Sears