PDA

View Full Version : Physx GPU issue



xdon82
05-26-2014, 09:30 PM
Hello

I play Mirror's Edge [patch 1.01]
I have G56jr and Physx on GPU doesnt work...even when forced in Nvidia Control Panel?
on Need for Speed Shift it doesnt work as well...

I switched on Physx indicator and it always shows PhysX -> CPU
My friends [the same game and parch[ can play it with Physx via GPU

Driver issue?
I can't run installation program of newer driver for 760M GTX from Nvidia site.. Program says, I need to download from Asus one - some kind of restrictopn - but there is no newer version

What to do ?
Please help

hmscott
05-27-2014, 12:14 AM
Hello

I play Mirror's Edge [patch 1.01]
I have G56jr and Physx on GPU doesnt work...even when forced in Nvidia Control Panel?
on Need for Speed Shift it doesnt work as well...

I switched on Physx indicator and it always shows PhysX -> CPU
My friends [the same game and parch[ can play it with Physx via GPU

Driver issue?
I can't run installation program of newer driver for 760M GTX from Nvidia site.. Program says, I need to download from Asus one - some kind of restrictopn - but there is no newer version

What to do ?
Please help

xdon82, early on new Asus laptops get that error from Nvidia downloaded drivers, until Nvidia adds the required compatibility entries in their .inf file for the driver install. It is frustrating, but after a few months is usually solved with a new release.

Which driver version did you try from Nvidia? 337.50 BETA, or the new release 337.88?

I am not sure, but I think the G56JR using Optimus, so you will also want to keep the Intel Graphics driver up to date too.

xdon82
05-27-2014, 09:52 AM
I can't download any driver from nvidia - I mean I can't run installation... there is Asus restriction to use only drivers from their website. Nvidia has newer driver..so the problem is on the Asus side

This laptop has 2 graphic cards: Intel for normal typical using, and Geforce GTX760M for gaming and professional graphic applications and it seems like ASUS makes some changes in nvidia drivers - this is why standard nvidia drivers doesnt recognise video card

What is the Optimus ? tell me more about it
I have also newest Intel Graphics driver from Asus website

HomieOC
05-27-2014, 10:06 AM
I can't download any driver from nvidia - I mean I can't run installation... there is Asus restriction to use only drivers from their website. Nvidia has newer driver..so the problem is on the Asus side

This laptop has 2 graphic cards: Intel for normal typical using, and Geforce GTX760M for gaming and professional graphic applications and it seems like ASUS makes some changes in nvidia drivers - this is why standard nvidia drivers doesnt recognise video card

What is the Optimus ? tell me more about it
I have also newest Intel Graphics driver from Asus website

Try uninstalling asus nvidia driver and rebooting, then retry... I had a similiar issue but with intel drivers and that fixed it!
I have the G750JZ

xdon82
05-27-2014, 04:57 PM
I've tried all possibilites.. nvidia drivers can't see it... what is Optimus ?

xdon82
05-27-2014, 04:59 PM
I use Windows 8.1 if this is kinda important... oh by the way Windows Update even can't "see" nvidia video card. Asus driver [only one version available] only works