PDA

View Full Version : PC wil not project to second screen.



Tom Windschitl
06-07-2014, 10:41 PM
So i tried connecting my PC to my TV today using an HDMI cable(just an fyi here i have done it before and it worked) but no matter which display setting i used i.e. duplicate or otherwise it would not project onto my TV. Any clue as to why?

hmscott
06-08-2014, 12:44 AM
[QUOTE=Tom Windschitl;407541]So i tried connecting my PC to my TV today using an HDMI cable(just an fyi here i have done it before and it worked) but no matter which display setting i used i.e. duplicate or otherwise it would not project onto my TV. Any clue as to why?[/QUOTE

When you open the Nvidia Control panel, and go to the Set up Multiple Displays panel, do you see 2 monitors when you have the TV HDMI connected and the TV powered up on the input from the PC?

37413

Do you see 2 monitors in the Nvidia Control panel Change Resolution panel?

37414

Tom Windschitl
06-08-2014, 06:37 AM
No i do not see either of those. I fear this is another driver that was not installed when my PC was upgraded to 8.1 at the shop...

hmscott
06-08-2014, 07:59 AM
No i do not see either of those. I fear this is another driver that was not installed when my PC was upgraded to 8.1 at the shop...

Tom, that was my thoughts as well. If you down load and install the latest Windows 8.1 Intel chipset and Nvidia drivers, that should fix it.

The easiest way to find the recommended drivers is to use the Intel Driver Update Utility page/app:
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect

It will need Java, and a couple of app downloads, before it comes up with the download list(s) in several sections.

The Nvidia driver to use right now is 337.88
http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/75992/en-us

Hopefully that will get your TV online again :)

Tom Windschitl
06-08-2014, 04:26 PM
Tom, that was my thoughts as well. If you down load and install the latest Windows 8.1 Intel HD and Nvidia drivers, that should fix it. But it might also be the chipset drivers.

The easiest way to find the recommended drivers is to use the Intel Driver Update Utility page/app:
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect

It will need Java, and a couple of app downloads, before it comes up with the download list(s) in several sections.

The Nvidia driver to use right now is 337.88
http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/75992/en-us

Hopefully that will get your TV online again :)
ok, i will give that a try! Thanks Scott!

theclaw37
06-08-2014, 07:34 PM
Tom, what laptop are you using? If it's the new JS/JM/JZ, you won't even see those options in NV control panel. On the newer ones, you config everything from intel panel. If you have the older JW/JX/JH it's the other way around, you DON'T have intel control panel, only NV.

Tom Windschitl
06-08-2014, 11:47 PM
Ok, scott i checked the site you gave me and it said its all up to date. Including chipset and graphics drivers. I'm a bit lost as to what else it could be....

hmscott
06-09-2014, 12:00 AM
Ok, scott i checked the site you gave me and it said its all up to date. Including chipset and graphics drivers. I'm a bit lost as to what else it could be....

You could try a clean install of 337.88 Nvidia driver, at least these elements:

37452

Not sure what else might need to be installed to support the HDMI port, besides Realtek driver for HD Audio, do you have that installed too?

If you had a snapshot of the JX/JW Programs and Features listing, you could double check against what you have installed. I have way too much installed on my JH to have you use that for comparison.

Did you check Device Manager to see if you have any Yellow Triangles showing missing drivers?

Tom Windschitl
06-09-2014, 12:41 AM
Yeah i will try re downloading the latest realtek driver and nvidia driver again. Maybe the correct driver isnt on the JW page though?

hmscott
06-09-2014, 12:50 AM
Yeah i will try re downloading the latest realtek driver and nvidia driver again. Maybe the correct driver isnt on the JW page though?

Tom, no the JW page, last I checked, hadn't been back-filled with the latest drivers for Windows 8.1.

G750 support areas - The JM download area has the latest of all the G750, with JS/JZ next, the G750JW/JX/JH are out of date:
http://support.asus.com/Search.aspx?SLanguage=en&keyword=g750&ps=10&pn=1

Here is the latest Notebook Audio - for G750 => Realtek driver package Version V6.0.1.7235
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Audio&os=30

Here are the latest Notebook Bluetooth drivers
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Bluetooth&p=3&ft=27&os=30

Here are the latest Notebook WLAN drivers
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=WLAN&os=3

Here are the latest Notebook LAN drivers
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=589&m=LAN&os=&hashedid=n%2fa

Here are the Asus posted VGA drivers, it's better to get the latest from Nvidia - currently 337.88
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=VGA&p=3&s=111

You might as well update whatever drivers you have that have updates, updating your Wifi / BT drivers are a good idea too.

Tom Windschitl
06-09-2014, 04:09 AM
Well good news, the problem is not my PC. I tried hooking it up to another tv via hdmi and it worked right away. So there is something wrong with my tv i guess lol. Idk i'm just glad its not my PC haha;)

hmscott
06-09-2014, 04:18 AM
Well good news, the problem is not my PC. I tried hooking it up to another tv via hdmi and it worked right away. So there is something wrong with my tv i guess lol. Idk i'm just glad its not my PC haha;)

Nice one Tom :)

Tom Windschitl
06-09-2014, 05:06 AM
Nice one Tom :)
Thanks! I guess maybe my PC just doesn't like westinghouse TV's lol :p

Tom Windschitl
06-09-2014, 05:14 AM
Ok, well now im confused.... I just hooked up our windows 7 pc to the tv that doesn't work with mine and that worked.....:mad: This is some wierd S*** lol

hmscott
06-09-2014, 05:27 AM
Ok, well now im confused.... I just hooked up our windows 7 pc to the tv that doesn't work with mine and that worked.....:mad: This is some wierd S*** lol

Tom, if the G750JW worked with your TV before the reinstall of Microsoft Windows that blew away the OEM Asus install, then there is still something wrong with the G750JW re-install - just because it works with another TV, it isn't working with the TV/connection that worked before.

So there is still some debugging to do on the G750JW Windows / Nvidia configuration - it isn't the TV. :)

Did you try the G750JW on your TV again, after it worked with the other TV? Did you save the config to try on your TV?

Tom Windschitl
06-09-2014, 05:45 AM
Ok, well after some back and forth i figured it out. In the multiple displays menu of the nvidia control panel you can click on i cant see my displays. You can then force the pc to look for external displays. Under that option there is another option checked that says force PC to check for TV outputs on startup. So i shutdown the pc left the HDMI connected, started it up and it worked :D I dont think i would have slept well knowing i didn't figure it out lol
Thanks for all the help scott!

hmscott
06-09-2014, 05:54 AM
Ok, well after some back and forth i figured it out. In the multiple displays menu of the nvidia control panel you can click on i cant see my displays. You can then force the pc to look for external displays. Under that option there is another option checked that says force PC to check for TV outputs on startup. So i shutdown the pc left the HDMI connected, started it up and it worked :D I dont think i would have slept well knowing i didn't figure it out lol
Thanks for all the help scott!

Tom, congrats :)

37456