PDA

View Full Version : Bought G750JX, now what?

ƒox
06-08-2014, 01:13 PM
Hello there,
Ive recently bought G750JX from a second hand, it was used for few months but otherwise perfect condition for about 2/3 of the original price. It came with extended warranty, insurance and Origin account with BF4 and Crysis, pretty good deal Id say.
The problem is, it has Win7x64 right now(not really legal one). I want to have Win 8/8.1 which were there originally OEM installed and also I wanna upgrade it with SSD.
I have zero experience with OS installing or HDD upgrade, but it shouldnt cause me any trouble to follow some guide.
So, if I first clean install Win 8(following eg. this (http://forums.**********.com/showthread.php?t=191)) then clone it using ASUS Backtracker to Samsung SSD Evo 250 GB and then adding the original HDD into secondary bay(basicaly the same setup which is posted on forum every other day), should everything work?
Also, any tips and tricks for a new user of G750JX(well, not really new, I have it for 3 weeks now wihout any problem)?
Help is very appreciated :)

sasuke256
06-08-2014, 03:20 PM
Undervolt the cpu and overclock the gpu :)

hmscott
06-08-2014, 10:25 PM
Hello there,
Ive recently bought G750JX from a second hand, it was used for few months but otherwise perfect condition for about 2/3 of the original price. It came with extended warranty, insurance and Origin account with BF4 and Crysis, pretty good deal Id say.
The problem is, it has Win7x64 right now(not really legal one). I want to have Win 8/8.1 which were there originally OEM installed and also I wanna upgrade it with SSD.
I have zero experience with OS installing or HDD upgrade, but it shouldnt cause me any trouble to follow some guide.