PDA

View Full Version : I need dumbed down, easy-to-understand directions for installing a SSD drive



Reignmaker
06-19-2014, 07:09 AM
Hi.

Just joined the Asus ROG family with the G750JM.

I have a 120GB SSD drive that I'd like to use to run the operating system (Windows 8.1) and a few programs.

Here's the problem though: It appears my 1TB HDD is divided between two 500GB drives. Does that mean I have to set aside one in order to insert my SSD? Also, is 120GB too small to even be worth the hassle?

I'm pretty green when it comes to hardware, so if there's someone who has done this before on a similar rig I'd appreciate any pointers. If there's an easy-to-understand step-by-step guide out there, I'd love to see one.

kkn
06-19-2014, 07:11 AM
hit up the notebook section.

Reignmaker
06-19-2014, 07:23 AM
hit up the notebook section.

Thanks. Do I have the ability to move this thread over there or does a mod have to do that?

kkn
06-19-2014, 07:53 AM
a mod have to. just copy and make a new one and paste.

a mod can delete this if he want if you make a new one.

HiVizMan
06-19-2014, 11:45 AM
Moved for you.

Praz
06-19-2014, 12:46 PM
Here's the problem though: It appears my 1TB HDD is divided between two 500GB drives. Does that mean I have to set aside one in order to insert my SSD?
Hello

If you have only two bays for drives then one of the original drives will need to be removed. If these drives are in RAID removing one will break the array and result in all data being lost.

chrsplmr
06-19-2014, 02:52 PM
ReignMaker - Welcome to ROG.

Do you have (1) 1TB HardDrive partitioned to (2) 500GB drives ?
If this is the case, then one of the bays should be empty and installing
is as easy as following this ROG video guide.

http://rog.asus.com/246832013/g-series-gaming-laptops/g750-gaming-laptop-overview-and-upgrade-guide-video/

Best of Luck. Please keep us posted. .c.

Ace0751
06-19-2014, 11:48 PM
What kind of ssd do you have? You may be able to use one of their programs to clone the drive or use Asus bactracker and go from there but that will require a 16GB USB drive to do that. I believe there is a section on how to use the backtracker. My suggestion is trying getting a bigger ssd like a 256 or 512.