PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way to tell if my G72 is a BB model?



wickedCircuits
10-13-2011, 08:15 PM
Hello all,
I recently purchased a G72GX from an online retailer and I was wondering if there was a way to look up weather my serial was a best buy model or a Asus direct model(if thats what they are called).
I tried searching for it in the forum search, but 'best' and 'buy' are too short to search..

thanks for any help in advance;

EDIT: G72GX RBBX05

JRd1st
10-13-2011, 08:19 PM
An Asus employee can probably determine that from the serial. What's the model number besides G72GX?

wickedCircuits
10-13-2011, 10:25 PM
G72GX RBBX05 I think. thats what I bought it as, but I can not find a model number anywhere on it..

JRd1st
10-13-2011, 10:37 PM
I think that IS the model number. And I'd be willing to bet it's a BB model.

Why, is it gimped. :(

grungeboy2
10-13-2011, 11:54 PM
usually a RBBX05 indicates a best buy model.

xeromist
10-14-2011, 12:05 AM
Yes, the BB models are indeed Best Buy.

wickedCircuits
10-14-2011, 01:06 AM
not too gimped.. the lcd ribbon is loose, i think. From what I've been able to look up online, that seems to be a common problem w/ best buy models.

JRd1st
10-14-2011, 01:19 AM
You gonna try to get BB to fix it or are you going to RMA it to Asus?

wickedCircuits
10-14-2011, 04:26 AM
I am completely comfortable with dissassembly, so I think I am going to see if its just loose, and if I can just plug it back in and be fine, I will do that, but if not, I was thinking of going back through the ebay seller, he is willing to get the shipping, whereas asus wants me to pay shipping.. :/

JRd1st
10-14-2011, 03:05 PM
Good luck!

That sucks! You would think they would pay since it was their crap assembly/qc that caused the problem.