PDA

View Full Version : How do i confirm i've successfully updated my vbios?



Axil00
06-24-2014, 03:36 PM
I am experiencing some graphics issues with some games. I believe i sucessfully updated my vbios some months past, but i can't remember for sure.

When i look at my display adapter settings it says under Bios Information: BR3852.001

Is this correct?

HiVizMan
06-24-2014, 03:40 PM
I would love to help you but since I have no idea what graphic card you have it is some what difficult.

Axil00
06-24-2014, 03:46 PM
I apologize, i have a G73Jh with a Radeon HD 5870. I thought it was the only one that had all the weird graphical issues that wouldn't accept any stock drivers.

So to further flesh out my query. If i have successfully preformed the vbios update, can i now update my video drivers and catalyst control center via ATI's driver page as i would for any normal desktop computer?

haihane
06-24-2014, 03:49 PM
i'd use Techpowerup's GPUz.

http://tpucdn.com/gpuz/screen1.gif

i didn't own this image, just pulled it off from google search (as i was kind of lazy in making a screenshot just for this).
look right next to the bios version.

Axil00
06-24-2014, 03:58 PM
My issue is i don't know what version I'm supposed to have after preforming the vbios update. GPU-Z agrees with my adapter information window (though GPU-Z gives a longer version). Again i have BR3852.001. I am now reasonably confident i do have the updated version as after watching this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPte3QO_L4w It shows the vbios updating to BR3852.001.

My other question remains, can i now go to AMD's website and download the latest drivers?

It looks like 14.4 is what i can get there. Of course AMD has decided to make this even more confusing my providing me with the following information on that drivers page: " ***Important!***

Please note, that the AMD Catalyst Mobility driver package can only be installed on specific AMD Enduro platforms, that are second generation AMD A-series APU, or third generation Intel Core family based.

Please note that all other platforms that do not include support for AMD Enduro Technology are supported through AMD Catalyst Mobility."

What on earth does that mean?

haihane
06-24-2014, 04:04 PM
My issue is i don't know what version I'm supposed to have after preforming the vbios update. GPU-Z agrees with my adapter information window (though GPU-Z gives a longer version). Again i have BR3852.001. I am now reasonably confident i do have the updated version as after watching this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPte3QO_L4w It shows the vbios updating to BR3852.001.
ah okay.


can i now go to AMD's website and download the latest drivers?
i suppose you could, but don't listen to me yet. Hivizman might have something else to say.


and honestly, i have no idea what those meant. i'd just run an AMD driver cleanup utility and then throw a stable CCC driver on it.

HiVizMan
06-24-2014, 04:19 PM
What you can do is go to the AMD driver support page and use there auto detect tool.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/auto-detect-tool

billyray520
06-24-2014, 04:26 PM
Here's a screen I saved when I updated my vBIOS:

38092

It looks like you DO have the newest vBIOS.

I was then able to update to Catalyst 13-9. I haven't updated since then. I would try the newest drivers, but if they give you any trouble, you can always remove them and look for something older.

Axil00
06-24-2014, 04:29 PM
Yeah I used the and auto detect after using ands uninsulated and cc cleaner. Updating now.... we shall see what happens

Axil00
06-24-2014, 04:33 PM
In the middle of updating bluescreen... dammit!

Axil00
06-24-2014, 05:19 PM
Ok i believe i'm in the clear. I rebooted (twice becuase the first time my screen decided it wasn't going to turn on at all, that was scary), uninstalled all ATI crap again. This time used the ATI removal tool in the sticky thread. Rebooted to safe mode. Used it again. (make sure you do all this in admin mode if anyone is reading this following along), reinstalled the 14.4 driver. It was located in C:\AMD\Support\<Driver title>\setup.exe after attempting to install the first time.

Everything appears to work now. The graphical bugs i was having in the game I was trying to play (Don't Starve) have dissapeared without me having to change any settings. Hopefully i won't have any lingering stability issues, and everything will work well now.

billyray520
06-26-2014, 06:06 PM
Thanks for posting your final results! :D It's helpful that you detailed your steps to get it working. I might update to 14-4 now that I know it works. ;)