PDA

View Full Version : ROG Front Base CPU frequency



Mobie
07-14-2014, 06:53 PM
Hi, the front base did not show the update CPU frequency with hero 7 in window, it only show the max frequency when boot up, can anyone help :confused:

Cpu temp and fans rpm a work fine

i7 4790k
M7H
window 7 64
ROG Front base V40

cdcbr3
07-17-2014, 12:06 AM
Try reseating your cables. Same happened to me.

Mobie
07-17-2014, 05:18 AM
Hi cdcbr3, can you pls provide ur MB bios version , front base driver #?

cdcbr3
07-17-2014, 05:01 PM
MB 1505
FB, latest available from Website
not sure the # as I am currently at work

Mobie
07-18-2014, 04:21 AM
MB1505? i think u not using M7H:o

NateHutch
07-19-2014, 05:55 PM
I have same problem specs below

M/B - Asus Maximus VII Gene
BIOS - 1505
All default settings
Front base is the new one with sticker on back not sure how to check which version I have or how to update?? I did try something but I don't think it worked

Mobie
07-23-2014, 05:32 AM
Hi, anyone can help?

HiVizMan
07-23-2014, 09:54 AM
I have bumped this up to HQ as soon as I have information I will post on the forum.

Mtiefenberg
07-24-2014, 07:56 PM
I have bumped this up to HQ as soon as I have information I will post on the forum.

Oh i can't wait for news as i am also ordering the Front Base. Another thing that is kind of bugging me is that it seems near impossible to get lonnger cables for the unit here in Denmark. It almost seems as if this product was not designed for neat and tidy cases. Wich is weird when you look at the great design of the front and keep in mind that it is an ROG labelled product. I am still ordering since i am in love with the design and specs, but since i am also ordering the M7H and a 4690K and have read that many people out there have some sort of issues with that constalation i am hoping for fixes before i actually get the parts.

Cheers Marcus

cdcbr3
07-25-2014, 01:21 PM
I actually ended up using my OC Panel cable in the end as it was a better fit and appeared to be slightly longer.
If you have one, give it a try. I believe they are the same pinouts.

ROGHSV
07-30-2014, 08:54 AM
just a thought have you guys installed asus rog connect plus ?????

Mobie
08-01-2014, 06:39 PM
sure, V106 will auto install rog connect plus =/

Kajel
08-21-2014, 12:22 PM
I reseated the cables - Hero VII Z97 - Bio 1104 - Firmware on front base is v40

Should I use an older bios?

Wolfi
08-21-2014, 06:45 PM
I reseated the cables - Hero VII Z97 - Bio 1104 - Firmware on front base is v40

Should I use an older bios?

No. You should wait for the next bios. ;)

synvaportrail
08-23-2014, 11:25 AM
I Just bought the ROG front base to go with my Maximus VII Hero and it want display the CPU Frequency.
I have the latest bios and the new core I7 4790K. Is it not compatible with CPU or the mainboard?
Oh, And I and running 3 SSD drives in raid 0. I am not updating my bios again and setting up the raid again and reinstalling everything. This has to be a software problem and I will just return it for a refund before Ill go through the hours of work after a bios update.
Come on ASUS! Do what we all paid this hefty price for!

Menkes
09-02-2014, 06:18 AM
I'm afraid i have the same problem...

The CPU freq does not update, Open Hardware Monitor and ROG-CPUZ showing a clock speed of 4398Mhz and Front base shows 4488Mhz (my old overclock which was unstable).

My cables are seated fine (fan speeds are correct).
My MB is Maximus VII Hero @bios 1104.
And i installed ROG connect.

Any help will be appreciated!

Menkes
09-03-2014, 03:30 PM
A little update, after restarting and installing a fresh windows 7 (64) copy, it now stand on 0,000 Mhz while the fan speeds are correct.

Please help with the frequency!

Andre0310
09-05-2014, 09:22 AM
Got same problem. First off the Panel shows me a cpu frequency of 4389 MHZ (not oc) default config and when i set up the CPU frequency i got 4800 MHZ on rog front base. Windows and BIOS show me every time 400MHZ fever as ROG Front Base. After 4-5 Start CPU Frequency shows me 0.000MHZ I solved it with cmos_reset. But got again wrong CPU stats and after 4-5 starts same problem.
Using I7 4790k, Maximus VII Hero bios 1104.

Menkes
09-08-2014, 11:58 AM
With the drivers released on 9/4/14 all of the problems went away.

alfredlim8968
10-21-2014, 09:42 PM
Hi, the front base did not show the update CPU frequency with hero 7 in window, it only show the max frequency when boot up, can anyone help :confused:

Cpu temp and fans rpm a work fine

i7 4790k
M7H
window 7 64
ROG Front base V40

Hi, I am having the same problem you have. LCD Screen doesnt show CPU speed but fan speed and CPU temperature. I am not sure how you resolve the problem you had earlier. Also if I press the volume button I dont get Edit mode as well. You have the problem with Edit functon ?

alfredlim8968
10-28-2014, 03:07 PM
Hi,

Ya I still have the same problem. ASUS told me to have a replace MB but I still dont believe it. I read the following site http://rog.asus.com/317732014/maximus-motherboards/front-base-upgrade-guide-for-maximus-vii-motherboard-owners/ and it seems there is help but after several tries, it still doesnt work.

They are recommending to upgrade the firmware to WB035v35.h00 which already obsoleted. Latest firmware is FB035v44.H00.

I wonder how the M7H owners resolved their problem with ROG Front Base.. seriously I can only imagine..

Mobie
10-29-2014, 06:11 AM
have you try USB mode? if you dont need OC function USB mode should be work

hellboy99
01-10-2015, 02:20 PM
Wish I seen that post before I bought the panel, worse purchase ever! I have a Maximus VII Ranger and the panel will only function fully with BIOS 0707. I have a Devils Canyon CPU so I need to update the BIOS but no matter what new BIOS version I install I either lose the Frequency display, the Edit function, Fan speeds or Volume. I even tried upgrading the driver for the panel and going through all the BIOS's one by one but still the issue occurs. Did Asus even test this product?

hellboy99
01-10-2015, 06:31 PM
Bizarre to say the least but here goes. Now this has worked for me on the VII Ranger:

1. Make sure your BIOS version is 0707
2. Update the panel to ROG Front Base Driver V1.01.06 (With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.24) via USB connection. Shut down PC and connect the panel back and start up PC.
3. In control panel uninstall With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.24
4. Now update the BIOS to version 1104
5. Update the panel to ROG Front Base Driver V1.01.11 (With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.28) via USB connection. Shut down PC and connect the panel back up.
6. Now rollback the BIOS on the board to version 0809

Don't ask me why or how I even came up with it but it's now working 100% for me, hope it can help someone else :)

hellboy99
01-24-2015, 04:01 PM
Does not work with the new BIOS 2101 on VII Ranger and now for some reason that BIOS update has been removed from the site.

induska
03-08-2015, 01:49 PM
I have Maximus vii ranger with bios 2304 and front base fw v44. I dont use oc, so I dont install asus suite. In my case the front panel works too. If you dont see the CPU frequency, have a look at the windows services (run: services.msc)! There must be 4 asus services running (Asus Com Service, Asus HM Com Service, Asus System Control Service and AsusFanControlService) and of course must be runing the wonderbox (wboxtt.exe) from the autorun or the Task Scheduler. With these services and wboxtt, the front panel shows the right frequency, the rpm and the temp.

Einstein
04-11-2015, 05:26 PM
I just bought the Rog Front Base and the only thing is working is cpu - mb temperature and fan speed. NO edit mode NO usb mode NO equalizer mode NO escape button working NO oc button Working nothing... Pls anyone can help i did a lot of research but still nothing. i havent manage to solve the problem.

badBiOS
04-13-2015, 12:04 AM
Bizarre to say the least but here goes. Now this has worked for me on the VII Ranger:

1. Make sure your BIOS version is 0707
2. Update the panel to ROG Front Base Driver V1.01.06 (With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.24) via USB connection. Shut down PC and connect the panel back and start up PC.
3. In control panel uninstall With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.24
4. Now update the BIOS to version 1104
5. Update the panel to ROG Front Base Driver V1.01.11 (With ASUS ROG Connect Plus V1.00.28) via USB connection. Shut down PC and connect the panel back up.
6. Now rollback the BIOS on the board to version 0809

Don't ask me why or how I even came up with it but it's now working 100% for me, hope it can help someone else :)


I just bought the Rog Front Base and the only thing is working is cpu - mb temperature and fan speed. NO edit mode NO usb mode NO equalizer mode NO escape button working NO oc button Working nothing... Pls anyone can help i did a lot of research but still nothing. i havent manage to solve the problem.

Maybe tell us what you HAVE done to install the ROG Front Base?

See the first quote as an example - -

What versions of software did you install, and in what order?

That will help for providing advice...

Einstein
04-13-2015, 05:58 PM
Maybe tell us what you HAVE done to install the ROG Front Base?

See the first quote as an example - -

What versions of software did you install, and in what order?

That will help for providing advice...



ok i connect the front base and only temperature was working. after i change the version of my mb bios to v2601. it start showing also the fans rpm. i reinstall the cables and everything was working except the cpu frequency. i try to reinstall the v44 frirmware and now nothing is working. everyhting is 000 . no time nothing and in the right corner before was M7H now is USB. thats my story . pls if anyone can guide me what to do to fix it.

hellboy99
05-03-2015, 12:36 AM
I can confirm that the panel fully functions with MB BIOS 2601 and FRONTBASE V10111

hellboy99
08-10-2015, 10:39 AM
Does not with BIOS 2801, well for me anyway. Is anyone from ASUS going to respond to what is clearly a known issue with this unit and address the issue?

hellboy99
08-11-2015, 10:26 AM
To all of you that have had and still are having issues with the ASUS Front Base unit, judging by the responses I've been getting back from ASUS Tech Support it's not going to be addressed anytime soon/they couldn't be bothered.

I have explained the numerous issues I've experienced with this unit to Tech Support and have been in touch with them on numerous occasions since 01/10/2015 right up to today, 11/08/2015. The Front Base works with some MB BIOS and not with others, have had to use various/strange combinations of BIOS and firmware/software/drivers for the Front Base, I had it/got it eventually working with Win 8.1, worked fine with no issues with the numerous technical preview versions of Win 10, worked fine with the official release Win 10 until I upgraded the MB BIOS to 2801.

This is the latest reply I received from ASUS Tech Support:


Please test the Front Base on a fresh Windows 8.1 with the drivers that are available on the Official ASUS support page.

Even if the device worked previously on a Windows 10 we cannot recommend it as this product is not recognized officially at this point in time as being compatible with Windows 10.

If you feel the Front Base is not working within the official specifications on the official ASUS website I would recommend returning it to your retailer for a refund or replacement within warranty.

Best Regards,

ASUS Technical Support


No mention what so ever that we are looking into the issue or that they are working on official Win 10 support. I will never buy another ASUS product!

Belstone
08-12-2015, 01:14 PM
I had this problem (not showing CPU frequency) over the weekend and found that reseating the cables onl;y makes it work once, and it breaks again the next time the computer is turned on. However, I've been able to get my ROG Front Base working perfectly again. The only way I found to fix it was to uninstall all of the Asustek programs and services from my computer, then reinstall them, or even just the Front Base drivers. Wipe the slate clean, so to speak, and start fresh. For the rfecord, you don't need AI Suite to get it working. I wish you all the best of luck.

I'm using a Maximus VI Formula mobo with the 1603 BIOS and Windows 7. Here's hoping it doesn't break on Windows 10.

Edit: I also updated the Front Base's firmware, so try that it the above doesn't fix the problem.

caqo1971
08-17-2015, 05:46 AM
I have fornt base running ok on my PC with windows 10 Pro. I've just updated the BIOS to 2801, and the Front base still works OK. I still haven't installed FB driver, so I just come here to see if there is some update and find all this issue. Now, i'm afraid to install the driver since the FB works OK.

gupsterg
08-23-2015, 10:43 PM
Is anyone using firmware V44 on front base panel?

caqo1971
08-24-2015, 05:59 AM
Is anyone using firmware V44 on front base panel?

I do, no problems so far, I installed the driver now, and it works ok.

Quixote
09-03-2015, 06:12 AM
I do, no problems so far, I installed the driver now, and it works ok.

Where do I look for the V44 firmware for the Front Base Panel? I've looked around the Support site, but maybe I'm missing something. I can't find it.

I also have a Front Base Panel with certain functions missing after the BIOS 2801 update. For example, as with many here, the CPU Frequency reads 0000 no matter what.

hellboy99
09-12-2015, 07:01 PM
Now working for me on my Ranger VII with BIOS 2801 and ROG Front Base Driver: 1.01.15

samlian
07-03-2017, 02:18 PM
the front base not show correct cpu speed since 1 week with cpu-z 4,7 ghz but display show me 4,5, with z270F same temperature 5 c down

samlian
07-27-2017, 07:01 AM
Now it stop to word, only fan speed i can see, not time not cpu frequency, i tried to reinstall rog connector and driver but nothing change.

Every time I turn off the power supply this happens but the other times it was enough to reinstall the connectors and drivers while this time it will not work anymore.

I have z270F and ultimate bios