PDA

View Full Version : G750JM Broadcom wireless issue



Raffai
07-15-2014, 09:52 PM
Hi guys,

my problem is with the Broadcom 802.11AC wifi. The machine ist just 2 months old, under this time I have tried everything, but can't find a solution:
It drops the connection on the notebook in every 5 min for 1-2sec. You can imagine how irritating can this be when I am talking on skype or try to play online... Pinging google is also deplorable.
I have started to stream the same online radio on the notebook and on a pc that has an usb-wifi adapter, and the drop was just on the asus + this pc on the same network has not skype problems. So it can't be the router or network. I travel a lot, so I have tried now at least 5 different network.

What I have already tried:

1) The router is configured home to fix 54Mbps (network type is G), signal strength is max.

2) Windows 8.1 is fully updated, BIOS (206) und WLAN Driver (6.30.223.228) are also up to date.

3) Hardwarereset (without battery the turn on button for 25-30 sec pushed).

4) Under power options/advanced options/wireless adapter settings are on max performance on battery and plugged in, too.

5) Devicemanager/Network/Broadcom 802.11 network adapter/Properties/power managent: Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power is unchecked.
Under devicemanager/Network/Broadcom 802.11 network adapter/Properties/Advanced WMM is deactivated.

6) In the command line are these started:
netsh int tcp set heuristics disabled
netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled

7) No solution on any forums.

8) 0-day image recovered, issue still there.

9) Acer has a newer driver: 6.30.223.234, helps not.

Do you have any other ideas, or should I send back the notebook in the sevice center?

Thanks,
Peter

hmscott
07-15-2014, 10:48 PM
Hi guys,
my problem is with the Broadcom 802.11AC wifi. The machine ist just 2 months old, under this time I have tried everything, but can't find a solution:
It drops the connection on the notebook in every 5 min for 1-2sec. You can imagine how irritating can this be when I am talking on skype or try to play online... Pinging google is also deplorable.
I have started to stream the same online radio on the notebook and on a pc that has an usb-wifi adapter, and the drop was just on the asus + this pc on the same network has not skype problems. So it can't be the router or network. I travel a lot, so I have tried now at least 5 different network.

What I have already tried:

1) The router is configured home to fix 54Mbps (network type is G), signal strength is max.

2) Windows 8.1 is fully updated, BIOS (206) und WLAN Driver (6.30.223.228) are also up to date.

3) Hardwarereset (without battery the turn on button for 25-30 sec pushed).

4) Under power options/advanced options/wireless adapter settings are on max performance on battery and plugged in, too.

5) Devicemanager/Network/Broadcom 802.11 network adapter/Properties/power managent: Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power is unchecked.
Under devicemanager/Network/Broadcom 802.11 network adapter/Properties/Advanced WMM is deactivated.

6) In the command line are these started:
netsh int tcp set heuristics disabled
netsh int tcp set global autotuninglevel=disabled
netsh int tcp set global rss=enabled

7) No solution on any forums.

8) 0-day image recovered, issue still there.

9) Acer has a newer driver: 6.30.223.234, helps not.

Do you have any other ideas, or should I send back the notebook in the service center?

Thanks,
Peter

Peter, you could try uninstalling Asus Power4Gear, as Maxter reported his Wifi connections improved:

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?48841-Question-about-Power4Gear-Hybrid&p=415746&viewfull=1#post415746

I normally recommend uninstalling Power4Gear for other reasons - it takes over my manually set / tuned power plans - and recommend running the Windows Balanced Power Plan for most of the time and High Performance power plan for benchmarking.

What is the router make/model and firmware version? Why limit to 54mbps? If you use WPA2/AES authentication you will get maximum speed connections over 54mbps.

I wouldn't RMA the G750 for a failure in connecting via Wifi to 1 router, I would replace the router.

I have used the same Broadcom 802.11ac Wifi card, in a JX, to connect to a Dlink DIR-615, DIR-655, Netgear WNDR-3700, Asus RT-AC66, and lots of client routers - all at high speed with reliable connections - the model Wifi card is very good in general.

I have also seen incompatible routers for just about every wifi card I have ever used - so you might have just gotten unlucky and your router isn't compatible - again, not a reason to reject the G750 / Wifi card.

Have you tested against other routers? How are Wifi connections made away from home?

Raffai
07-16-2014, 08:25 PM
Thanks,

power4gear is uninstalled and the skype quality is much better. Online gaming is still not the best, but it can depend on the network of the hotel, I will check it home again.
My home router is a WRT54GL with Tomato 1.28, that's why I 54Mbps use.
So once again thanks a lot, it is now more useful.

psy-q
07-18-2014, 05:01 AM
I'm having this same issue with my G750JW. It's driving me absolutely insane when I try and stream video. I've done pretty much everything Raffai tried as well as run every configuration on the network side I can come up with. Trying to diagnose this with a router, 2 access points, 3 managed switiches, IPTV, VoIP and a custom OpenMediaVault NAS/Media Server has almost broken me. Finally, I setup 3 laptops running he same video off the NAS to see if they'd fail in a semi-predictable way. Only the G750 failed.

I've narrowed it down to only my Asus RT-AC68U access point (Asus-Merlin firmware). I also use a couple of Asus RT-N66U as access points and they seem to work fine (both are running Tomato). I can pull 867Mbps without issue.

Killing P4G definitely helped my machine in general, but the WiFi is still badly unstable. I'm out of ideas.

Raffai
07-18-2014, 09:07 PM
Well,

I am home now and talking Skype on the G network of the Linksys is still bad, the drop is in every 5 mins there.
But this Linksys is just an AP: the modem is connected with a cheap D-link DIR-600 that my ISP gave me, and to get a better signal quality in every room, the linksys is with an ethernet cable to the D-link connected.
As I talked on Skype secondly, I went in the living room and used the wifi of the D-link (72Mbps, 802.11n), so was everything fine. Really, no problem.
Tomorrow will I interchange the routers and hope the best. Simply have I also no ideas, why this is. And probably can I then use the wifi home, and anywhere else could be occur this issue again...

psy-q: do you have also this Broadcom type? I don't get that you wrote:
"I also use a couple of Asus RT-N66U as access points and they seem to work fine (both are running Tomato). I can pull 867Mbps without issue. Killing P4G definitely helped my machine in general, but the WiFi is still badly unstable."
First time was "work fine... without issue" and then "badly unstable".
Can you use the RT-N66U and do you have problem only with the RT-AC68U? Have you ever tried G network? In this case it seems, this chip works only with N networks flawlessly.

psy-q
07-19-2014, 02:01 AM
Sorry, I meant I always get a 867Mbps connection, but there is some level of instability in the stream. Mainly at 5Ghz.

My setup is pretty complicated. I'm using an RT-N66U (wifi disabled) as my primary router. It's connected to a Cisco SG300-10 that connects all the rooms in my house. One room has my RT-AC68U and another has a second RT-N66U. Both are in access point mode. WiFi interference in my area is pretty high at 2.4Ghz, so I use a couple APs to muscle out my neighbours for bandwidth. 5ghz is pretty much clear.
I have a TON of hardware connected to my network. It's got VLANs, VoIP, IPTV, etc. My network is nuts and the only device that has issues is the G750. Doubtful it's your router.

Both the RT-N66U (BCM5300) and RT-AC68U (BCM4360) use Broadcom chipsets, so it's hard to imagine this is a compatibility issue (but not impossible).

I do have a WRT54GL kicking around here somewhere that I could test with. What hardware revision are you using?

psy-q
07-19-2014, 03:44 AM
Turns out it's a WRT54G v3.1

Seems to work fine.

Raffai
07-19-2014, 08:36 AM
WRT54GL v1.1.

In 9 hours can I test again skype with N network. I will sign up.

psy-q
07-19-2014, 04:18 PM
huh... I disabled WMM in my device settings and my issues seem to have gone away. Too soon to call it a fix, but give it a try.

I spotted it here and realized I hadn't tried it yet: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?34840-WLAN-(Broadcom-802.11ac)-won-t-connect&p=325534&viewfull=1#post325534

psy-q
07-20-2014, 05:16 PM
Weeeeird. WMM in Disabled mode seems to work fine. Maybe a driver issue, or something with the chipset? Could be related to interference or some combination of events that only a few of us experience. It certainly doesn't seem to affect everyone or the same set of network hardware.

Raffai, what is the setup of your router? Custom firmware? Do you have QoS turned on? Is WMM enabled under advanced wireless settings (option may or may not show in your firmware)?

WMM is more or less a QoS thing for Voice/Audio/Video over wireless, so obviously we should prefer it's enabled. I have a really fast connection @ 867Mbps, so I should be able to live without it. Not sure what everyone else will experience though.

This also might explain link rate issues in relation to WMM:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/30938-dont-mess-with-wmm

Here is a smallnetbuilder.com article on WMM:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-features/30833-does-wi-fi-multimedia-wmm-really-do-anything-part-1

I'll research a little more. I've now gotten to the point were I can quickly cause and correct the issue, so I should be able to narrow it down to something specific.

Raffai
07-20-2014, 06:10 PM
No,

I give up. The same problem with disabled QMM, too... On the router is QoS disabled.
My pc has an usb wifi-adapter that have I plugged in the G750 and I could so talk on skype without any drop. It has to be the Broadcom chip. Not just me, but more users had also difficulties with it.
So I send it back to the RMA to change it to an another type.

hmscott
07-20-2014, 07:55 PM
No,
I give up. The same problem with disabled QMM, too... On the router is QoS disabled.
My pc has an usb wifi-adapter that have I plugged in the G750 and I could so talk on skype without any drop. It has to be the Broadcom chip. Not just me, but more users had also difficulties with it.
So I send it back to the RMA to change it to an another type.

Raffai, that chip is the latest 802.11ac, and with updated drivers it has been compatible with lots of routers, giving up because it won't work well with a router/chipset that is many years old doesn't make sense, upgrade your router to an 802.11ac router instead.

You can continue to use the USB adapter until you can upgrade the router - many people would be happy to get the Broadcomm 802.11ac adapter, instead of the less performance options.

Raffai
07-21-2014, 07:29 AM
Yes, you are right, this is a very fast chip, but as I said, this issue got I not only with my home routers, but with the hotel routers also.
If I would buy a new home router, this would only solve my network problems for friday-sunday, and the rest of the week (while I´m away, and really want to vidchat on skype) stays irritating.
I just talked with the service and they said, they build the same type in, if it doesn´t work, then they give me a bid about an another one. Dependent on this bid, maybe take I a nano N150 WLan-Adapter.

hmscott
07-21-2014, 08:11 AM
Yes, you are right, this is a very fast chip, but as I said, this issue got I not only with my home routers, but with the hotel routers also.
If I would buy a new home router, this would only solve my network problems for friday-sunday, and the rest of the week (while I´m away, and really want to vidchat on skype) stays irritating.
I just talked with the service and they said, they build the same type in, if it doesn´t work, then they give me a bid about an another one. Dependent on this bid, maybe take I a nano N150 WLan-Adapter.

N150 is pretty slow, spec says Up to 150Mbps over 11n:
http://www.tenda.cn/tendacn/product/show.aspx?productid=375

But, if you are looking for a USB Wifi that is more compatible, that is a good idea - speed of 150mbps should support the maximum a hotel router can make available. Then you can have the future forward 802.11ac for new routers, and the USB wifi for compatibility with current/legacy devices.

Troubleshooting wifi issues, especially when you are at the beginning / middle of the learning curve can be very frustrating, and having a known good device to fall back on can remove the pressure and allow you to get work done.

I used to carry PCMCIA cards and USB devices to do just that - including carrying my own router when a wired hotel connection was available.

There has been a gap of 802.11ac support in portable devices, you have the only one available... I am good with my Qualcomm Killer 1202, with BT, but it would be nice to get something that would take advantage of my Asus RT-AC68U... always greener on the other side of the fence...

You could try the Asus USB AC56, works well for me - gives you backward compatibility and forward AC support:
http://www.asus.com/Networking/USBAC56/

Let us know what you end up getting to support your needs. :)

psy-q
07-22-2014, 02:23 AM
I'm using driver version 7.10.96.0. QoS is enabled on my router, VoIP gateway and managed switch.

AC is nice, but do we REALLY need that kind of bandwidth? I highly recommend an Asus RT-N66U. Those things are rock solid and will take ANYTHING you can throw at it. I have 2 that currently provide my WAN gateway, DHCP, IPTV IGMP proxy, OpenVPN server and client, SSH tunnel, bandwidth log, bittorrent client, basic file server, etc etc etc. They are the heart and soul of my network and have never caused me WiFi issues, only the RT-AC68U has.

Also, like hmscott said, there is currently nothing available in Mini PCIe format that will take advantage of fast AC routers like the RT-AC68U, not even close.

Raffai
07-22-2014, 05:43 PM
It will take some time to send the notebook in the service and get it back, approx. 2 weeks.
I have just looked over the Asus routers and none of them liked: From the newer ones just the RT-AC66U and RT-N66U can be laid and not stood up and they don't have USB3.0, but the USB is not so important. These modells are delivered without ventillator, can they not overheated?
Maybe later have they also something new, or I have to choose Linksys.
Otherwise I'm not forced to buy a newer router, my internet connection is not at all 1Gbps fast and I am not copying between the machines.

Raffai
08-09-2014, 03:00 PM
Hi guys,

the notebook arrived back from the service. On the report stays: Wireless LAN function Error (N0FP05).
The new chip is the same type: 0C011-00110000, 802.11A B G N AC WLAN+BT4.0+HS
Here at home was the HDD uninstalled, but the service doesn't needed it, the endtest could they do probably with a live OS: the BIOS was swichted to boot up from the DVD drive.
I have downloaded now something, and under the download had I the max speed constantly, and could talk on skype for 50mins without any drop.
So my problem has now the solution. Thanks for helping by this issue.

hmscott
08-09-2014, 04:13 PM
Hi guys,
the notebook arrived back from the service. On the report stays: Wireless LAN function Error (N0FP05).
The new chip is the same type: 0C011-00110000, 802.11A B G N AC WLAN+BT4.0+HS
Here at home was the HDD uninstalled, but the service doesn't needed it, the endtest could they do probably with a live OS: the BIOS was swichted to boot up from the DVD drive.
I have downloaded now something, and under the download had I the max speed constantly, and could talk on skype for 50mins without any drop.
So my problem has now the solution. Thanks for helping by this issue.

Raffai, good to know it was fixable, and now with the new Wifi card it is working as expected :)

RedStripe
06-28-2016, 06:14 AM
Update driver from ASUS site