PDA

View Full Version : Bought a 3 month old G750JM off Craigslist - Need help. Drive totally wiped/corrupted



baschulz1
08-12-2014, 06:19 AM
Hey peeps,

Well.....I sold my G73 on CL for $600 and the same day found a G750JM for $550! The rig was purchased in March from Best Buy. Kid gave me the receipt. It looks mint, not a scratch on it! He needed the cash for some type of certifications he was taking so was in a bind to get rid of it. After talking to him for a bit it was apparent that he NO CLUE about laptops or computers in general. And I mean no clue.

So....let's get to the bad part. Basically....right before we planned to meet, he said he did a "Reset" and manually shut the laptop down when it displayed he was at 40%. because he "didn't want to be late"....I know....like I mentioned earlier, not the sharpest tool in the shed. So after getting this information out of him, which mind you, was some of the most unintelligent jargon I have ever had the pleasure listening to, I came home only to boot an attempting to repair Windows 8.1 that would run for quite some time and then error out that WIndows could not be repaired.

Then enters me....who has limited knowledge about Partitions and formatting drives and definitely doesn't eff with BIOS's and CMD prompts + Shift + F6 x: commands.

I read up a bit, wiped s bunch a chit and probably did more harm than good! Haha.

No basically I'm booting in UEFI DVD as first boot (for the Windows 8 retail OS I have with key) then I have the Toshiba SATA as second boot. Fast boot disabled...in IDE mode.

What happens is...it comes to the Windows Language screen and I press Shift + F10 and then run CMDS: DISKPART, LIST DISK. Then I see Only Disk 0 status Online 931GB Free 0B and GPT has an asterix under it.

SELECT DISK 0
CLEAN
CONVERT MBR

I go through the screens then see 1 entry for drive 0 and it's allocated. I click next. Windows sticks at 0% then errors out with "Windows could not format a partition selected on disk 0. The error occurred while preparing the partition selected for installation. Error code: 0x80070057

Where did I go wrong?

I have the Toshiba Drivers on a thumb drive as well as most of the latest drivers loaded from Asus's site.

I know OEM comes with 4 partitions. A recovery (GONE) A System file (GONE) A Primary and restore or something.

Should I change to AHCI? I think I tried that actually.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ________________
UPDATE:

Sooo......My friend brought over this Intel 520 series SSD 120GB 6Gb/s 2.5" and I'm very new the HDD's in general let alone a SSD.

I'd like to tackle this and learn a lot and get this thing running right rather than RMA it, but if you suggest I RMA it then I guess I can fork it over for a month.

Basically, I'd like to know what my best configuration would be and a layman's terms guide on how to achieve it.

I was thinking we put the Win8/8.1 retail DVD OS on the SSD only and the rest of everything (personal files/docs etc) on the 1TB SATA slow-as-chit 5400RPm HDD?? If so, where do we start :)

Oh also, where would I want my games installed? The SSD as well? (with the OS)

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a322/dontry8/20140811_214505_zpsd4875577.jpg (http://s14.photobucket.com/user/dontry8/media/20140811_214505_zpsd4875577.jpg.html)

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a322/dontry8/20140811_214550_zpsb6e725e1.jpg (http://s14.photobucket.com/user/dontry8/media/20140811_214550_zpsb6e725e1.jpg.html)

Maxter
08-12-2014, 10:42 PM
Did you figure out the partition thing?
Anyhow, put the SSD in the computer (only SSD, no HDD) and install Windows. It's a small SSD the one you got there, so you might only want to install your main 1-3 games on SSD and the rest on HDD (which you can place into the next computer bay once Windows has been installed.
You don't know what's wrong with the original drive until you do a full check. So, install OS on SSD, then open a command line (with administrator privilege) and do "chkdsk /r d:" (I'm assuming the HDD will be drive "D". Let it do its thing (probably 30 mins).

Maxter
08-12-2014, 10:42 PM
Another question... why would you format the HDD the G750 came with? you got rid of the Win8 copy it came on it (free).

RayGobot
08-12-2014, 11:19 PM
I know the recovery partition on the drive is wiped, but if you can get an image of a bootable USB drive for your laptop, you could recover windows 8 with that could you not? I believe that laptops that have shipped with Windows 8 have the key in the BIOS (or something) so you won't need to purchase one.

I can upload an image of my G750JM recovery drive if you would like, (It's 14GB though so it'll take a few hours.)

baschulz1
08-13-2014, 02:03 AM
Did you figure out the partition thing?
Anyhow, put the SSD in the computer (only SSD, no HDD) and install Windows. It's a small SSD the one you got there, so you might only want to install your main 1-3 games on SSD and the rest on HDD (which you can place into the next computer bay once Windows has been installed.
You don't know what's wrong with the original drive until you do a full check. So, install OS on SSD, then open a command line (with administrator privilege) and do "chkdsk /r d:" (I'm assuming the HDD will be drive "D". Let it do its thing (probably 30 mins).

Thank you man. It is small indeed. Batman series and Fallout series for now :) (Replays - all except for Origins)

So I merely take the 1 TB HDD out and install the 2.5 SSD in which bay slot? The one I take the HDD out of? Leave the HDD out and simply run my retail version of Window 8 that I immediately update to 8.1 correct? (And YEP....I cleared and wiped the whole OEM 1 TB schabang O_O....) can someone tell me if my key is possibly still usable and in my BIOS? But I guess that wouldn't matter would it, seeing as I'm putting a retail version of Win8 on the SSD as my Primary (and only - no dual boot) OS.

After I install the SSD, do I simply run the retail Win8 DVD and follow the instructions? Don't I need to format or clear or run a CMD Shift + F10 promptor the such prior to installing windows? I may need a quick step by step : /


Another question... why would you format the HDD the G750 came with? you got rid of the Win8 copy it came on it (free).

I know...cuz I was messing around too much. Just trying to reformat and get windows to install as the repair and OS was never bootable hence I could never make a recovery and I had already wiped the whole drive. I know, I'm a moron. Hey ya learn something new everyday!


I know the recovery partition on the drive is wiped, but if you can get an image of a bootable USB drive for your laptop, you could recover windows 8 with that could you not? I believe that laptops that have shipped with Windows 8 have the key in the BIOS (or something) so you won't need to purchase one.

I can upload an image of my G750JM recovery drive if you would like, (It's 14GB though so it'll take a few hours.)

Wow man that would be frickin awesome! I could then sell this $120 version of Win8/8.1. The key has obviously not been used. I have a 32GB Flashdrive in my laptop as I write this. I will wait patiently. haha

Edit: And I now love Canada :)

Can anybody answer my SSD question real quick as I 'd like to get the physical SSD swapped in and that Transformer they call a Toshiba HDD out!

Double Edit: A buddy told me to run this since it's an Intel drive. (which he said was very desirable) Your thoughts?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=18455

RayGobot
08-13-2014, 02:10 AM
Wow man that would be frickin awesome! I could then sell this $120 version of Win8/8.1. The key has obviously not been used. I have a 32GB Flashdrive in my laptop as I write this. I will wait patiently. haha

Okay, I'll make an image of my USB stick tonight and upload it. I'll be using Macrium Reflect to make the image. It'll be from a 16GB Flash drive (the Recovery partition & Drivers will fill the drive) Will report back with the download link.

baschulz1
08-13-2014, 02:18 AM
Okay, I'll make an image of my USB stick tonight and upload it. I'll be using Macrium Reflect to make the image. It'll be from a 16GB Flash drive (the Recovery partition & Drivers will fill the drive) Will report back with the download link.

I can't thank you enough. Long live Canada!

RayGobot
08-13-2014, 02:39 AM
So Macrium Reflect wont read from my external USB drive, so I'm going to use USB Image Tool (http://www.alexpage.de/usb-image-tool/download/). This should work. Just connect a 16GB USB drive, click restore, and select the image file. It should work.


Just note, I'm not 100% sure if this will work for your laptop, or if the image will be bootable (I don't see why it shouldn't be) so I really hope this will work for you.

It'll take me overnight to upload the image, It will probably have to be in a multirar file. I will post the link to the files tomorrow morning or later in the evening (depending when it's done uploading)

baschulz1
08-13-2014, 03:14 AM
No problem, really appreciate it!

baschulz1
08-13-2014, 04:49 AM
Do I put the SSD in the same bay that the HDD came in? The one towards the corner of the laptop. Not under the RAM. Drive 0 I believe.

RayGobot
08-13-2014, 12:51 PM
SSD should be in Drive A I believe (the HDD caddy will say 1 or 2, or a or b, I forget exactly)


And It'll be about another 6-7 hours to finish this upload. It's 9 rar files, about 1.5GB each

baschulz1
08-13-2014, 03:26 PM
Don't I need to format or clear or run a CMD Shift + F10 prompt on the new SSD prior to installing windows? I may need a quick step by step : /

A buddy told me to run this since it's an Intel drive. (which he said was very desirable) Your thoughts?

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=18455

Thanks amigo! I'm somewhat software illiterate and may need some walking through as far as the unpacking and installing process. If they are rar files.....do I simply upload all 9 files then unpack them in order 1 to 9 and then what? Sorry for my ignorance : / Also, are you able to answer my questions here below? I feel like I need to clean and format this used SSD do I not? Hence the Intel Toolkit question and link!

Is there the option to PM on this forum? I can't find it and was going to PM you a few questions. For starters....what BIOS/driver setup is the recovery from? Basically I'll need to know if I need to update some things (BIOS to 206 if that's the latest and most desirable and the latest drivers off of the ASUS site etc) Personally...on my G73, I found the most stable and best driver and BIOS setup was the old school OEM BIOS 204 setup and drivers that come installed from the factory! (So if your recovery is stable then I may just keep it as is :) )


SSD should be in Drive A I believe (the HDD caddy will say 1 or 2, or a or b, I forget exactly)


And It'll be about another 6-7 hours to finish this upload. It's 9 rar files, about 1.5GB each

Sounds good. I'm taking the HDD out at lunchtime and will check if it's 1 or 2 or a or b etc...One would think that that bay, the one the HDD is installed on is the bay that I want to put my SSD in (it's the bay in the corner, not the bay directly under the RAM.

RayGobot
08-14-2014, 01:53 AM
Thanks amigo! I'm somewhat software illiterate and may need some walking through as far as the unpacking and installing process. If they are rar files.....do I simply upload all 9 files then unpack them in order 1 to 9 and then what? Sorry for my ignorance : / Also, are you able to answer my questions here below? I feel like I need to clean and format this used SSD do I not? Hence the Intel Toolkit question and link!

Just make sure you have WinRar installed and have all 9 rar files in the same folder. Open the one that says "part01" in the name and then extract it like any other rar file. As long as all the parts are in the same folder, it should unpack properly into one file.

Once you restore the image onto a usb stick, boot into it by pressing (I believe F12) at boot, and then selecting the USB drive in the boot menu. During recovery, it will format the drives.


Is there the option to PM on this forum? I can't find it and was going to PM you a few questions. For starters....what BIOS/driver setup is the recovery from? Basically I'll need to know if I need to update some things (BIOS to 206 if that's the latest and most desirable and the latest drivers off of the ASUS site etc) Personally...on my G73, I found the most stable and best driver and BIOS setup was the old school OEM BIOS 204 setup and drivers that come installed from the factory! (So if your recovery is stable then I may just keep it as is :) )

To send a PM, click on my username (or anyone's) and once their profile opens, under the left menu, select "Send Private Message"
.

As for my system settings. My Bios is v205 (factory default).

I had made the recovery drive from a fresh install of Windows 8 after the 8.1 update, but I don't believe this will make a difference, as the recovery partition is for Windows 8, and the drivers will be the original versions shipped with the laptop.


My default laptop specs are:

17.3" display
2x 1TB HDD*
16GB RAM
GTX 860m

* The only thing I could think of that MIGHT cause a problem, is when you do a system recovery, it formats and partitions the drives. I don't know if this is specific to the original drives shipped with the computer or not. So I'm not sure if it will work properly being installed to a smaller SSD. But there's only one way to find out ;)

TIP: USE A USB3.0 FLASH DRIVE IF YOU HAVE ONE! IT WILL MAKE EVERYTHING GO SO MUCH FASTER!



HERE IS THE LINK TO DOWNLOAD G750JM RECOVERY IMAGE. (https://mega.co.nz/#F!NZpjxAzT!uaN-ksWWoaxVCm_N0zaUJA)


Edit: I just noticed the the file says G750JW. THIS IS WRONG! It is more defiantly for a G750JM. My mind was elsewhere when I made the file name.

I'll probably end up recreating the image and uploading it. But this will work regardless of the filename.

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 03:22 AM
I feel like an idiot even asking this.....but I don't see an option to download the rar's to my flashdrive? It keeps going to my browsers download location (my desktop). Even though I changed the download location in firefox to I: (the flashdrive)

What am I missing...?

Can I download them to my desktop then extract/unzip them to my I: (flashdrive) Is that ideal?

Also what's the USB Image Tool and md5 image? I wish there was some way to set it to download all 9 one after another as I'm doing this at work and will be leaving for the night soon.

Maxter
08-14-2014, 03:22 AM
Do I put the SSD in the same bay that the HDD came in? The one towards the corner of the laptop. Not under the RAM. Drive 0 I believe.
doesn't matter. just make sure it's the only drive in the computer

Maxter
08-14-2014, 03:25 AM
I feel like an idiot even asking this.....but I don't see an option to download the rar's to my flashdrive? It keeps going to my browsers download location (my desktop). Even though I changed the download location in firefox to I: (the flashdrive)

What am I missing...?

Can I download them to my desktop then extract/unzip them to my I: (flashdrive) Is that ideal?

Also what's the USB Image Tool and md5 image? I wish there was some way to set it to download all 9 one after another as I'm doing this at work and will be leaving for the night soon.

Yeah. Extract into desktop folder, unRAR, then you need to copy the image into the flash drive. It's not as simple as drag and drop. You have to use the software and sort of "decompress" it into the flash drive. The image might be on IMG or ISO extension (or other).

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 03:29 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. Im at 7% @350kb/s on the first 1.5GB rar.

I'm downloading individually as they finish rather than having 5 going on at once. That's a good idea right? Not sure how bandwidth works and this stuff

RayGobot
08-14-2014, 03:32 AM
I feel like an idiot even asking this.....but I don't see an option to download the rar's to my flashdrive? It keeps going to my browsers download location (my desktop). Even though I changed the download location in firefox to I: (the flashdrive)

What am I missing...?

Can I download them to my desktop then extract/unzip them to my I: (flashdrive) Is that ideal?

Also what's the USB Image Tool and md5 image? I wish there was some way to set it to download all 9 one after another as I'm doing this at work and will be leaving for the night soon.

By default, the Mega extension downloads files to the desktop. You can set files to the download queue by highlighting the files and selecting the first download option.

The md5 file is just an extra file to compare to the original I made. You don't need it, it's more for the really technical people, I just put it there in case someone needed it.


You will need to download all the rar part files into the SAME location. And then open the frist one and a file will be extracted from them. It's name will be "G750JW_RECOVERY_IMAGE.img" (Note the name is wrong, it's for a G750JM)

THIS FILE WILL BE 14.6GB in size

Next you will need to connect your empty flash drive to your computer and download and run the USB Image Tool.

In the program, highlight your USB Flash Drive and click on "restore" and browse to where the recovery image file is located and click Open. It should start copying the image to your drive.

Once it's finished, you should have a USB drive called "RECOVERYHDD" mounted on your PC.

Take this USB stick and connect it to your laptop and boot from it and follow the on screen instructions.

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 03:36 AM
Thank you. Perfect. I'm a moron.

Is there any way to set them to keep downloading after each finishes? I'd rather leave em and come back in a few hours.

RayGobot
08-14-2014, 03:37 AM
Thanks for the quick reply. Im at 7% @350kb/s on the first 1.5GB rar.

I'm downloading individually as they finish rather than having 5 going on at once. That's a good idea right? Not sure how bandwidth works and this stuff

You will download files faster if you do one at a time. The website should do one file at a time in the queue.

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 03:41 AM
Gotcha. Thank you again so much. I'll post back tomorrow with my progress.

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 05:37 AM
I'm on my connection at home now and I'm getting 2.3Mb/s. When it gets to a new file though, it's hanging on "temporary error, retrying". It's been on there for some time now. Good news is, each rar is breezing through at over 2Mb!

baschulz1
08-14-2014, 03:45 PM
Almost done. On 6 of 9 :cool:

Question: After it's loaded to the flashdrive and I'm ready to boot the recovery to the SSD, do I need to F2 into the BIOS and change/choose the boot order to the USB? I think I had it set to boot from the optical first then SATA second. Also....do the settings in the BIOS need to be set back to default? As it stands, unless it got wiped, the BIOS is set to fast boot disabled and IDE with EUI etc

Also, after the Windows install. DO I immediately update to 8.1?

Lastly.....after Windows installs and everything looks good, do I simply plug in the OEM HDD Tohsiba 5400 drive into the open bay and then boot back up and follow these directions (posted by Maxter below)? (open cmd and do a chkdsk)

Thanks again everyone!!!

By Maxter:
"you might only want to install your main 1-3 games on SSD and the rest on HDD (which you can place into the next computer bay once Windows has been installed.
You don't know what's wrong with the original drive until you do a full check. So, install OS on SSD, then open a command line (with administrator privilege) and do "chkdsk /r d:" (I'm assuming the HDD will be drive "D". Let it do its thing (probably 30 mins).

Maxter
08-14-2014, 10:02 PM
You don't really need to go into BIOS change anything. If no OS is detected it'll automatically go into the DVD (there is nothing), then the USB drive and catch the installation. After you install and start the OS, the Windows key will be read from your MoBo. Activate windows. Download all drivers for Win 8.1 from the suport.asus.com website. Upgrade to Win8.1. Install the drivers you downloaded. Add the HDD to the other bay. I recommend you put the SSD on the bay that is recognized as Port 0, and the HDD on the other Bay which is recognized on Port 1,2,3 or 4 - doesn't matter as long as it's not Port 0. Port 0 is the port for OS, usually (on mine, Port 0 = Bay B and Port 4 = Bay A, weird I know...).
When you plug the HDD it automatically will detect, install drivers and you are set. I recommend that you do a full wipe (return all cylinders to value of 0). You can use the CCleaner program from Piriform; it's free. After this is done, do a chkdsk /R d: (it'll take about 45-60 mins)

RayGobot
08-14-2014, 11:22 PM
I think this is getting more complicated than it should be...

Install your SSD in bay B and HDD in bay A, boot your from your USB stick (Press ESC at boot, and select the USB drive) and then follow the on screen instructions. The recovery will format all drives and install the OS. It will reboot, into Windows and once you've gone through the setup, browse the recovery USB and browse to eSupport->eDriver and run AsInsWiz.exe and it will guide you through the installation of the laptop drivers and applications.

Then you can run Windows update and update your system (There will be a bunch of initial updates (few hundred MB) and then after those are installed, you should be able to install the 8.1 update.

baschulz1
08-15-2014, 02:46 PM
Houston.....we have success.:rolleyes:

The rig is up and running flawlessly! :) 8.1 with the most current updates. I'm installing my steam account and downloading Origins now. I made sure the Nvidia card is set for default for all applications. Can't thank the both of you enough. RayGobot if you're ever in Arizona I owe ya a cold one.

Last question, with this factory 1TB HDD. Can I simply install it in the other bay and then when I boot, windows will identify it as just another drive? I assume it will be drive D. When I swapped the Intel SSD in, I put it in the same bay as the HDD came out of. The bay in the corner of the laptop. It displays as drive C.

Is there any formatting etc that needs to be done with this HDD swap back or simply plug and play? If you remember, I believe that drive was left off at either totally unformatted or Only a single partition created but not sure whether it's MBR or GPT

RayGobot
08-16-2014, 02:11 AM
Houston.....we have success.:rolleyes:

The rig is up and running flawlessly! :) 8.1 with the most current updates. I'm installing my steam account and downloading Origins now. I made sure the Nvidia card is set for default for all applications. Can't thank the both of you enough. RayGobot if you're ever in Arizona I owe ya a cold one.

Awesome! I'm glad things worked!!! (And now we know for anyone else who has the same question!

I don't know when I plan on going to Arizona, I like Canada quite a bit. But feel free to add me on steam. Username is poopdedoop


Last question, with this factory 1TB HDD. Can I simply install it in the other bay and then when I boot, windows will identify it as just another drive? I assume it will be drive D. When I swapped the Intel SSD in, I put it in the same bay as the HDD came out of. The bay in the corner of the laptop. It displays as drive C.

Is there any formatting etc that needs to be done with this HDD swap back or simply plug and play? If you remember, I believe that drive was left off at either totally unformatted or Only a single partition created but not sure whether it's MBR or GPT

If it's formatted in a way that Windows will recognize it, then it'll just show up as an additional drive most likely D. If it isn't formatted, then you will need to format it in Disk Management.

If there's nothing on the drive you need, I'd just do a fresh format anyways, you can remove any additional partitions that may be on the drive that aren't needed.