PDA

View Full Version : Can G73 jh use >8gb ram?



3dcal
08-25-2014, 02:16 AM
Hi,

I wanted to increase the 6gb ram in my G73 jh to 12gb (someone said it could take it).

I also see elsewhere it maxes at 8gb (?)
I didn't realize it had 4 slots......3 under the cover, and 1 hidden behind the main board.......was wondering why it said I had 6gb, but only saw 2x2.
I added a 4gb stick, and now Task Manager reports 10gb.
Will it only use 8gb? Is it possible to have it use 10, 12, 16gb?

Thanks! :)

billyray520
08-25-2014, 12:38 PM
The "A1" version, which I have, came standard with 8 GB (4 X 2 GB sticks) They can be upgraded to 16 GB (4 x 4 GB sticks) maximum. I believe the memory controller on the G73 will not allow any more than that.

3dcal
08-26-2014, 04:20 AM
Ok, thanks........16gb is fine! :)

I'll add 3 more 4gb sticks eventually, replacing the 3x2 gb's.
Also found this thread, (http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/558427-g73jh-bst7-memory-questions.html) and this chart (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa366778%28v=vs.85%29.aspx#physical_memory_limits_ windows_7)which backup your post. ;)

swaaye
08-26-2014, 06:09 PM
The memory limit is based on CPU since the CPU contains the memory controller. The i7 720QM appears to have a 8GB limit. Even the 940xm is limited to 8GB according to Intel specs.

Some forum posts say the BIOS will see >8GB if it is installed but Windows only has access to 8GB.

billyray520
08-26-2014, 07:02 PM
You might want to check here (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?10258-16GB-ram-on-G73jh-WORKS!!!)

3dcal
08-28-2014, 08:20 AM
billyray520, thanks for the link to this info:

Despite intel's ark website stating that the mobile cpus can only support up to 8gb, 16gb works fine. According to cpu-z, windows task manager and even in the BIOS all 16gb show up and is available.
That's great news.

But is it possible that even though the bios & TM say there's 16gb, could the controller still be
a bottleneck that would restrict it to 8gb?

Is there a way to test it? Just launch several ram hog apps at once and see if it
stays at 8gb or less, or goes over 8gb?

I'll add 3x4gb sticks if I know it will be able to use them.

billyray520
08-28-2014, 04:40 PM
If I had my notebook apart, I would definitely upgrade the RAM to 16 GB. Many G73jh users have reported more than 8 GB configurations working, including 10, 12 and 16 GB. see here (http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/510292-max-ram-amounts-speed-asus-g73-16gb-ddr3-1333-8gb-ddr3-1866-a.html) and here (http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/629452-16gb-ram-problem.html)

3dcal
08-28-2014, 08:21 PM
Ok.......I guess I'm 99% convinced. I can add 2 more 4gb sticks myself, for a total of 14gb. I don't want to
take it apart to get to the hidden 2gb stick.

Still, I'd like to know why the Intel specs for the CPU say the limit is 8gb? It may seem to run fine, but
if it really only uses 8 of 14gb, I've wasted $90 if I add 2 more 4gb sticks.
I'm Ok at 10gb for now.

Thanks! :cool:

3dcal
08-29-2014, 08:37 AM
Was digging more, and found this thread: (https://communities.intel.com/thread/13779)


"The 8 GB reported on the ARK website, indicates that the processor supports only a maximum of 8 GB:
http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=43122
So, even if the laptop supports 16 GB, the processor will only be able to recognize 8 GB."

So even if you can put in 16gb, it seems to run fine, and the Task Manager reports it as available,
you're limited to what the controller will allow, i.e. 8gb. :(

Anything >8gb is a waste of money, si?

billyray520
08-29-2014, 11:51 AM
Was digging more, and found this thread: (https://communities.intel.com/thread/13779)



So even if you can put in 16gb, it seems to run fine, and the Task Manager reports it as available,
you're limited to what the controller will allow, i.e. 8gb. :(

Anything >8gb is a waste of money, si?

Found this on the Lenovo site (which advertises 16 GB on their 720QM notebook)

"Lenovo is right. It's been discussed and confirmed multiple times.

In the intel architecture links people have provided, it assumes only two slots for memory capped at 4GB each. The Lenovo systems being discussed here have 4 slots -- so you can get and use up to 16GB.

I'm not sure why the Intel literature assumes only 2 slots, maybe because that was pretty standard for most laptops at the time -- but Lenovo seems to be all about the 4 slot systems now."

So apparently Intel is ASSUMING 2 memory slots of 4GB each, but motherboards with 4 slots can take advantage of more memory.

The maximum memory usable by the processor is determined by the motherboard configuration. There is nothing inherently limiting to 8 GB in the memory controller, other than the 4 GB per slot limitation.

If Laptop vendors, Windows, the BIOS, and every other program reports 16 GB is available for use, then who ya gonna believe?

3dcal
08-29-2014, 10:56 PM
Ok, I'm going for 2x4gb more for 14gb total.

Looking forward to getting another ROG
down the road....maybe a 15.6" 550 Jk.....the 17.3" is not as portable as I'd like.

The G73 hasn't had any major problems since I got it new
several years ago. It runs hot, weighs a ton, and the batteries don't last,
but otherwise, a great machine.....almost embarassing to open it at Starbucks
as its the "baddest" looking one in the room! :D

Thanks for the help! ;)

billyray520
08-30-2014, 12:01 AM
Keep us posted! ;)