PDA

View Full Version : G750JX won't see one of the installed SSDs problem.



us18x
08-28-2014, 01:06 AM
Hey there, so one of my SSDs won't be seen by the BIOS out of sudden even though it will see a mechanical hard drive on that specific sata slot (04 slot) I am lucky maybe that it wasn't my OS hard drive as the OS hard drive is another SSD and both models are identical they are Crucial 1TB M550.
The only way my laptop will see the SSD is as external hard drive speaking about that I am cloning the entire hard drive to a mechanical 1TB 7200 Hitashi while wring this post :/
Has anyone here been though same situation here before? I did check the SSD compatibility with the laptop model before I purchase and it is compatible.

hmscott
08-28-2014, 01:12 AM
Hey there, so one of my SSDs won't be seen by the BIOS out of sudden even though it will see a mechanical hard drive on that specific sata slot (04 slot) I am lucky maybe that it wasn't my OS hard drive as the OS hard drive is another SSD and both models are identical they are Crucial 1TB M550.
The only way my laptop will see the SSD is as external hard drive speaking about that I am cloning the entire hard drive to a mechanical 1TB 7200 Hitashi while wring this post :/
Has anyone here been though same situation here before? I did check the SSD compatibility with the laptop model before I purchase and it is compatible.

us18x, are you saying that as an internal drive the 1TB SSD shows up as a physical device, but the formatted Windows partition doesn't mount as a drive? You had to move it to an external enclosure, and now it mounts ok?

If so, after backing up to the 1TB, try putting the SSD back in the 2nd Bay, and go into Windows Manager Storage Manager, and see if it is a conflict with the mounting Letter - like D is defined on your boot drive and as the 1TB SSD, or see if there is no mount Letter assigned - and pick a free letter and assign it - or try a different Letter as the mount if it is defined and clear but doesn't mount.

You could try deleting the partitions on the 1TB SSD after it is backed up and let Windows automatically assign the letter, and try that too.

Here is a Microsoft doc that might help:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/mount-dismount-drive#1TC=windows-7

There are others.

It happens sometimes in Windows that a mount resource gets messed up in the registry - mostly for CD/DVD/BD's, but sometimes for disks. Look around, there are solutions.

us18x
08-28-2014, 01:18 AM
Scott, BIOS won't see it mounted as internal but it will see the mechanical one mounted on the very same slot! what is going on???

hmscott
08-28-2014, 01:48 AM
Scott, BIOS won't see it mounted as internal but it will see the mechanical one mounted on the very same slot! what is going on???

us18x, try the Defaults setting in Save/Exit in the BIOS with the new SSD in the Bay. For booting it needs to be GPT formatted, but I thought MBR was ok for 2nd Bay drive.

My current 2nd bay drive is an SSD that I used Asus Backtracker to create as a boot drive, for testing performance between the RAID0 and a single fast SSD. I am not booted on it now, but it is still formatted GPT.

You could try formatting the 1TB as GPT and then put it in the G750 2nd Bay...

us18x
08-28-2014, 02:09 AM
Cloning is at 71% and man is that slow!!! I cloned the HDD to SSD in less than 2 hours now the numbers are triple if not quadruple in cloning time...
I will have to wait until it's done but I am thinking that I did format it to GPT not MBR but again I could be wrong...