PDA

View Full Version : Bad HDMI port or cord?



__TRU__
08-30-2014, 04:08 AM
I have an ASUS G73JH. My external monitor won't show above 800x600 when plugged in to the HDMI port, but it's detected fine in the display settings. Also when it's working it's showing a ton of artifacts, I have attached a few pics. If i touch the HDMI cord on the laptop side, the artifacts get worse or the monitor shuts off completely. i can't tell if it's the HDMI cord or port. currently using a cord from Amazon basics. Any recommendations or solutions?

__TRU__
08-30-2014, 05:27 AM
I have an ASUS G73JH. My external monitor won't show above 800x600 when plugged in to the HDMI port, but it's detected fine in the display settings. Also when it's working it's showing a ton of artifacts, I have attached a few pics. If i touch the HDMI cord on the laptop side, the artifacts get worse or the monitor shuts off completely. i can't tell if it's the HDMI cord or port. currently using a cord from Amazon basics. Any recommendations or solutions?

just switched to VGA works fine. assuming it's the port.

billyray520
08-30-2014, 11:27 AM
Could still be the cable. Don't you have any more?

__TRU__
08-30-2014, 04:27 PM
Could still be the cable. Don't you have any more?

negative. ordered one, but won't be here for a few days.