PDA

View Full Version : Ready to throw this thing off my balcony.

readytosnap
10-22-2011, 07:32 PM
Let me give you guys the back story before so you know what my problems are.

A few months ago I had a bad flash and and of course my G73JH was bricked. No big deal in this situation one could RMA and get it fixed. Well, My situation is a little different since I'm a government contractor overseas and shipping back to the US just to RMA is a little difficult to put the least.

Anyways, I let it set for in my storage shelf for about 4 months til I found a guy online that sells re-flashed BIOS chips for motherboards. I got him on the phone and told him my situation and he shipped me out a re-flashed BIOS chip for my laptop. When it arrived I went into this local shop where I could have the old BIOS chip removed and the new one installed. Now, before we assume I dont know what I'm doing when it comes to computers please let me embellish myself by explaining to you I'm a contractor working for a Big name defense company where my job to say the least is "fixing" computer systems and such. Everything from breakdown to rebuild to re-install and troubleshoot. I see everything and fix most of it unless it's been blown up or burned or degaussed out of existence.

Now that I got that out of the way, when I took the motherboard to a local place to have it fixed I did my research with them and discovered they had a good track record and could trust them handling what is obviously simple but very sensitive procedure of de-soldering the old chip and applying the new one. The only reason I did not do the procedure myself is the lack of means at my disposal to do it myself, because for security reasons I cant bring my own equip to my location.