PDA

View Full Version : Where do you get FW Update v1.0.3.0 and the latest Firmware?



RickSinGA
09-18-2014, 06:39 PM
Should have read v1.0.3.3.

I have been thru all threads in this forum and saw several references about updating the Front Bay firmware. I have been all over the ASUS update page and can't find anything but v1.00.10 driver and it doesn't seem to do anything. No reference to firmware updates.

I am running a M7F with BIOS v603 (latest) and a i7-4790k at stock speed right now.

My CPU Frequency on the FB Panel is locked at 1298 but the crazy thing is that it was working earlier today! I have spent the morning updating different drivers etc but have no idea when it went bonkers.

Would someone please point me in the right direction?

Rick S.

MeanMachine
09-19-2014, 12:13 PM
Hi RickSinGA. I assume your talking about ROG Front base update.
Is this what your looking for: http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG_Front_Base/HelpDesk_Download/
Also read the guide: http://rog.asus.com/317732014/maximus-motherboards/front-base-upgrade-guide-for-maximus-vii-motherboard-owners/

RickSinGA
09-20-2014, 06:06 PM
Yes, that is what I was looking for but couldn't find it to begin with.

I have downloaded the FB Driver 1.0.1.11, ran the Asussetup.exe after unzipping the files to a extraction folder, most of it works but installShield wizard always quits working before it finishes. Just locks up, have to go into task manager to kill it?

I followed the instructions to update the Firmware by running in the Extracted file Folder\FRONTBASE\FBFW\ROG Front Base.exe then selected the *.h00 file but after starting it stops:
Front Base: V1.0.4.7
Front Base- ICP_Mode Init Failed
Error- Index was outside the bounds of the array.

I am sure I have done something wrong, but what?

I have no idea what firmware the device has as pushing/holding the "Escape" key does not bring up anything?

The RPM and Temp dials work as expected, but no CPU Frequency, locked at 4400.

Thanks
Rick S.

MeanMachine
09-21-2014, 02:35 AM
Did you run the .exe as an administrator?
That's the only thing I can think of, unless someone else comes in, who has had your experience.
Have you followed this thread: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?47735-Problem-with-asus-front-bases-and-maximus-vii-hero-firmware

RickSinGA
09-21-2014, 03:27 PM
Yes, I have tried all of that MeanMachine.

From what I see I have a similar problem, CPU Freq not working, as many others.

I don't see my "FW upgrade tool freezing" problem listed by anyone else though; curious?

I guess I will wait and see if the next BIOS release fixes the problem, otherwise I did not get the features I was expecting.

Thanks
Rick S.