PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! Asus g73jw Random freeze and beep



havik
09-23-2014, 09:48 AM
Hey guys, for some random reason my Asus g73 jw 3de edition keeps freezing every couple of minutes, Followed by a single beep.
It almost never freezes when i play games, but roughly every 5-10 minutes when using it for basic computing (facebook, youtube, ect.)
So far i've re-pasted the gpu and cpu a while back with artic silver 5, making the computer runs at 45 degrees and about 60 when gaming. I even thought it was me overclocking the computer and removed the program, yet the problem continued. Any ideas?

ConkersGrillforce1337
09-23-2014, 01:21 PM
AMI Bios Beep Code:
1 short | DRAM refresh failure | The programmable interrupt timer or programmable interrupt controller has probably failed

Sounds like one of your RAM sticks isn't working correctly.
Remove the three RAM sticks under the maintenance cover and boot your G73Jw and look if the error occurs. If your machine is running stable, shutdown, insert a second one and do the same procedure until you found the stick which is possibly faulty. (Could be the single one on the other side of the motherboard as well. ;)

http://i.imgur.com/bez1q7s.jpg

havik
09-24-2014, 02:43 AM
knew it was ram. Is it possible to upgrade to 10-16 gigs of ram (1600 ddr3)? i keep reading on the intel 740qm and that it only supports 8 gigs.

ConkersGrillforce1337
09-24-2014, 06:27 AM
knew it was ram. Is it possible to upgrade to 10-16 gigs of ram (1600 ddr3)? i keep reading on the intel 740qm and that it only supports 8 gigs.
Yes, it's possible. ;) You can upgrade to 12Gb or 16Gb of DDR3 RAM, 1600Mhz or 1866Mhz should work too. ;)

Notebookcheck did a Review on a prelaunch model of the G73Jw (http://www.notebookcheck.com/Test-Asus-G73JW-Notebook-GTX-460M.36700.0.html) which was equipped with 12Gb of DDR3 RAM :) Other vendors on the internet like XoticPC,... offered up to 16Gb DDR3 ;)
http://i.imgur.com/vQi3VD8.jpg

Though the Intel Ark says the i7-7XXqm processor only supports 8Gb of RAM. But it's 100% possible to upgrade ;) A colleague did the same to 16Gb DDR3 in his Alienware with i7-720qm and i7-920xm. ;)
http://i.imgur.com/yMAnFLe.jpg