PDA

View Full Version : Anyone with a G750JZ with 2x M.2 SATA RAID 0 config?



VHJC
09-28-2014, 09:02 AM
I have a G750JZ that came with only one 1.5TB HDD, I've already added a 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I want to buy a M.2 SATA RAID board, the only one I've found is this "G750JHA SATA NGFF SSD BD (http://www.asusparts.eu/Asus-60NB0180-HD4010)", I guess this is the board that came with the JH series, so I want to know if this board is compatible with the JZ series so I can put a couple of M.2 SATA SSDs to get RAID 0 performance.

BTW: Is anyone willing to sell theirs SATA NGFF SSD Board? :D

Thanks for your help guys!

Cheers!

hmscott
09-28-2014, 01:20 PM
I have a G750JZ that came with only one 1.5TB HDD, I've already added a 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I want to buy a M.2 SATA RAID board, the only one I've found is this "G750JHA SATA NGFF SSD BD (http://www.asusparts.eu/Asus-60NB0180-HD4010)", I guess this is the board that came with the JH series, so I want to know if this board is compatible with the JZ series so I can put a couple of M.2 SATA SSDs to get RAID 0 performance.
BTW: Is anyone willing to sell theirs SATA NGFF SSD Board? :D
Thanks for your help guys!
Cheers!

VHJC, I doubt it would work, if it didn't come with RAID hardware already. My JH drive bays with the RAID card isn't the same drive bays as with my JW/JX, they are formed differently. In the JH the secondary drive actually plugs into a SATA port on the RAID card, not a SATA port in the secondary Bay itself.

There are additional cables that connect the RAID card to the motherboard, and there needs to be a place to plug in those cables. You would need to do a bunch of dis-assembly to get to the point of being able to compare your JZ against a JZ with RAID.

Best chance for fast disk IO would be a Thunderbolt RAID box outside the G750, and run from there. I haven't tried it yet, but others have reported it works. Be sure you can return your Thunderbolt RAID box if it doesn't work.

Please come back and let us know what you end up getting to work :)

VHJC
09-28-2014, 10:14 PM
VHJC, I doubt it would work, if it didn't come with RAID hardware already. My JH drive bays with the RAID card isn't the same drive bays as with my JW/JX, they are formed differently. In the JH the secondary drive actually plugs into a SATA port on the RAID card, not a SATA port in the secondary Bay itself.

There are additional cables that connect the RAID card to the motherboard, and there needs to be a place to plug in those cables. You would need to do a bunch of dis-assembly to get to the point of being able to compare your JZ against a JZ with RAID.

Best chance for fast disk IO would be a Thunderbolt RAID box outside the G750, and run from there. I haven't tried it yet, but others have reported it works. Be sure you can return your Thunderbolt RAID box if it doesn't work.

Please come back and let us know what you end up getting to work :)

I've already disassembled my JZ and it has the two connectors on the motherboard, one for SSD and one for HDD, they are the same as the ones you can see in here (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39905-G750JH-DB71-Who-has-replaced-the-M.2-drives-with-larger-drives&p=376742&viewfull=1#post376742). My JZ came with the two SATA port card like this (http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39905-G750JH-DB71-Who-has-replaced-the-M.2-drives-with-larger-drives&p=378632&viewfull=1#post378632).

That's why I'm asking for someone with a JZ RAID card, because JZ is pretty much like the JH in terms of hardware.

I hope anyone with a JZ + RAID config can answer my question.

Wulff
09-29-2014, 12:40 PM
The problem is probably that the raid board and second hdd are connected in some way , so if anyone removes their raid board there isnt a way to connet the hdd's. I phoned asus recently about this cause i wasnt all that happy wiht my raid board here, but the guy on the phone said that i could not replace it with a normal drive bay. not sure if that were true or not

VHJC
10-03-2014, 09:06 PM
The problem is probably that the raid board and second hdd are connected in some way , so if anyone removes their raid board there isnt a way to connet the hdd's. I phoned asus recently about this cause i wasnt all that happy wiht my raid board here, but the guy on the phone said that i could not replace it with a normal drive bay. not sure if that were true or not

They are completly wrong, this guy swapped his SSD board for one with two SATA ports and placed two 1TB SATA HDDs without a problem

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39905-G750JH-DB71-Who-has-replaced-the-M.2-drives-with-larger-drives&p=378632&viewfull=1#post378632

That makes me believe I can do the oposite way, replace the board for two normal SATA drives with the RAID board.

hmscott
10-03-2014, 09:14 PM
They are completly wrong, this guy swapped his SSD board for one with two SATA ports and placed two 1TB SATA HDDs without a problem

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?39905-G750JH-DB71-Who-has-replaced-the-M.2-drives-with-larger-drives&p=378632&viewfull=1#post378632

That makes me believe I can do the oposite way, replace the board for two normal SATA drives with the RAID board.

VHJC, the only difference is you will need to Dremel out the plastic between the Bay's on the non-RAID version, to allow the Bay 1 board and Bay 2 connector room to fit.

If it looks like this, you need to remove the plastic:

41755

If it looks like this, you don't have any plastic to remove:

41756

If you do it, please do take photo's and let us know how it works out :)

VHJC
10-06-2014, 05:48 AM
VHJC, the only difference is you will need to Dremel out the plastic between the Bay's on the non-RAID version, to allow the Bay 1 board and Bay 2 connector room to fit.

If it looks like this, you need to remove the plastic:

41755

If it looks like this, you don't have any plastic to remove:

41756

If you do it, please do take photo's and let us know how it works out :)

hmscott, my board is like the second pic you attached, this is a pic of my laptop:
http://i.imgur.com/9kU2uoLl.jpg (http://i.imgur.com/9kU2uoL.jpg)

I just need to know which cable I would need to connect the SSD RAID board to my laptop motherboard and that's it. I hope someone on the other thread can help me.

hmscott
10-06-2014, 06:27 AM
hmscott, my board is like the second pic you attached, this is a pic of my laptop:
...
I just need to know which cable I would need to connect the SSD RAID board to my laptop motherboard and that's it. I hope someone on the other thread can help me.

VHJC, I thought you posted the part number of the RAID0 board, didn't the parts list include the cable part number too? Either the JZ or JH parts list should show it.

I doubt anyone on the user forums can answer definitively, but Asus can, you can ask them via a Technical Inquiry here:

https://vip.asus.com

You can create a user login there, register your laptop, and file a Technical Inquiry telling them what you are trying to do, and ask what part numbers you need to order to add a RAID0 board to your JZ.

Please let us know how it works out :)

VHJC
10-13-2014, 05:55 PM
Well, there it goes my attempt to use the RAID board on my JZ... it doesn't have the SSD connector on the motherboard, I was sure that it was there the first time I opened it to upgrade the RAM... but it has only the HDD connector... :(
http://i.imgur.com/qIla0kLl.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/jQ8Fdzdl.jpg

hmscott
10-14-2014, 03:14 AM
Well, there it goes my attempt to use the RAID board on my JZ... it doesn't have the SSD connector on the motherboard, I was sure that it was there the first time I opened it to upgrade the RAM... but it has only the HDD connector... :(

VHJC, sorry to hear that :(

Nice memory upgrade :)