PDA

View Full Version : G750JZ-4110H. Does it have 2 x 128gb SSD's in RAID 0?



agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 11:53 AM
Hi guys!
New to this forum, looking to buy a G750 laptop.

I'm looking for the G750JZ-4110H model, EU version (english kb)
example link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00K7Y8VJG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

but I can NOWHERE find whether it has 2 SSD's in RAID 0, or just 1 SSD.

If you've got something else in mind (from the G750JZ or G750GS) with 2xSSD's and about the same specs, feel free to suggest.

Thanks!:o

Prostar Computer
09-29-2014, 03:35 PM
Neither. It's a hybrid drive; 1.5 TB of platter storage, 256 GB of SSD storage.

It's probably one of these or similar: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=1190#Tab2

The G750JZ has two SSDs in RAID 0 (two 128 GB drives = 256 GB).

agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 04:07 PM
Thanks for your answer, but now got me more confused...

You say that 1.5tb+256gb might be a hybrid drive, and after that you say that all G750JZ come with 2 x 128 ssd's.

I'm mainly interested for the m.2 sata raid configuration, as loading speed is my main priority.

Thanks.

hmscott
09-29-2014, 05:03 PM
Hi guys!
New to this forum, looking to buy a G750 laptop.

I'm looking for the G750JZ-4110H model, EU version (english kb)
example link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00K7Y8VJG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE

but I can NOWHERE find whether it has 2 SSD's in RAID 0, or just 1 SSD.

If you've got something else in mind (from the G750JZ or G750GS) with 2xSSD's and about the same specs, feel free to suggest.

Thanks!:o

agiorgitis, there are 2 JZ configurations in the US I have seen, the least expensive, close to $2299US list price, has 1 256GB M.2 device on a 2.5" adapter, and is a slow SSD. The higher priced JZ at $2999US list price has 2 x 128GB M.2 devices in a 256GB RAID0 - which is the one you want.

As advertised both those models say they have a 256GB SSD, but the correct one should mention the 2 x 128GB in the details, if it doesn't say it has 2 x 128GB, you can't assume it does.

The model version in your URL only mentions a 1.5TB drive, so it doesn't have the RAID0 you are looking for.

This one says 256GB SSD, and in the details spells out 2 x 128GB in the 4th line from the bottom of the Product Description

ASUS G750JZ ROG 17.3-Inch Laptop, Full HD (1920x1080) LED Display, Intel Haswell Core i7-4700HQ Processor (Quad-Core 3.4GHz), 24GB DDR3L 1600MHz Memory, 1TB HDD, 256GB SSD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 4GB GDDR5, Killer 1202 Wireless, Bluetooth v4.0, USB 3.0, Thunderbolt, DP, Windows 8.1 64-Bit
http://www.amazon.co.uk/ASUS-17-3-Inch-1920x1080-i7-4700HQ-Thunderbolt/dp/B00IAACWH6/ref=sr_1_3?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1412010133&sr=1-3&keywords=g750JZ#productDetails

Product Description
Locked and loaded with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M dedicated graphics, the G750JZ lets you visualize victory on HD+ resolutions with the fastest notebook GPU ever. With ASUS-exclusive TurboMaster technology, the G750JZ supports overclocking for superior graphics performance. The new GPU Tweak software, which carefully monitors the stability of the graphics card, lets you push your notebook to the limit. The G750JZ uses an upgraded intelligent cooling system that guarantees stability and low temperatures even when overclocking. Dual independent CPU and GPU fans adjust to each component's needs and work with copper heatsinks to provide maximum cooling efficiency. The G750JZ's audio system packs a punch, providing extra power to headphones so they perform to their full potential. An onboard amplifier produces a wider frequency range for more accurate and detailed stereo sound, while reducing audio distortion and unwanted interference like headset crosstalk. The G750JZ features Intel Thunderbolt technology, combining PCI Express and DisplayPort in one consolidated connection and cable. This delivers data and graphics at a blistering rate up to 10Gbits/s, roughly twice the bandwidth of USB. The G750JZ comes future-ready, supporting 4K2K HDMI output and with Trinity Display Technology you can output graphics to three displays simultaneously via HDMI 1.4 or Mini DisplayPort 1.2. Specification: Intel Core i7-4700HQ Quad-Core Processor with Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz, 6MB Smart Cache, Intel HM87 Express Chipset, 24GB DDR3L 1600MHz RAM, 1TB SATA Hard Drive, 2x 128GB SSD, 17.3" FHD LED Backlit Display (1920 x 1080), Integrated HD Web Camera, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 4GB GDDR5 Graphics, SuperMulti Combo Drive, Killer Wireless-N 1202, 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet, Bluetooth v4.0, 3-in-1 Card Reader, Ports: 4 x USB 3.0, RJ-45 (LAN), Headphone-out, Microphone-in, VGA, HDMI 1.4, Thunderbolt, DP, Dimensions (WxDxH): 415 x 320 x 17~52 mm, 4.5 Kg.

It's more expensive to get the RAID0, and it's worth it :)

41686

agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 05:39 PM
Thanks for your time!

So that's why the difference in pricing. The model you linked is more expensive, even though it has less specs than the one I linked...

hmscott
09-29-2014, 05:56 PM
Thanks for your time!

So that's why the difference in pricing. The model you linked is more expensive, even though it has less specs than the one I linked...

agiorgitis, the CPU difference is the only one of note, I don't know if you can use Intel XTU to get even more speed out of the i7-4860HQ 3.6ghz stock speed, but the i7-4700HQ can have it's multipliers unlocked to 3.6ghz too. If you get a i7-4860HQ, please come back and we can figure out if Intel XTU will give it even more speed. If not then the 2 CPU's are identical except for the shipping multi's.

The HDD of either config should be removed and a 512GB or 1TB SSD used instead. HDD's are so slow in throughput and access they really don't belong in a high end laptop any longer.

Please come back and let us know what you get :)

agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 06:07 PM
So 4860 is not worth it that much... Hmmm...
The price tag (on your link) was more than I can afford, so I'm looking for a JS model, since I don't care about GPU that much.
Only CPU, RAM, SSD RAID, cooling.

From my search, G750JS-DS71 might be the perfect balance between specs and price.

hmscott
09-29-2014, 06:28 PM
So 4860 is not worth it that much... Hmmm...
The price tag (on your link) was more than I can afford, so I'm looking for a JS model, since I don't care about GPU that much.
Only CPU, RAM, SSD RAID, cooling.
From my search, G750JS-DS71 might be the perfect balance between specs and price.

agiorgitis, AFAIK only the JH/JZ models can come with RAID0, and you need to verify it before purchase - it can't be added afterwards.

agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 07:06 PM
I've seen it has, but JH is no problem to me. GPU is the least that I'm interested in. (not too much HD games)

Something like that?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00K1B4Y3W/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE
It's the T4188H model.

But once again, can't find if there is a RAID in it...

hmscott
09-29-2014, 08:10 PM
I've seen it has, but JH is no problem to me. GPU is the least that I'm interested in. (not too much HD games)
Something like that?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00K1B4Y3W/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE
It's the T4188H model.
But once again, can't find if there is a RAID in it...

agiorgitis, the JH's in the US all came with 2 x 128GB RAID0.

There were 2 configurations I saw over the life here, the first came with a 750GB HDD along with the RAID0, which is the same as the link you posted. And, later a JH bundle with Assasin's Creed shipped with a 1TB drive along with the RAID0.

The link you posted doesn't show a face on photo of the keyboard. If it was the later model it would show an Assassin's Creed logo on the right side, just under the number pad to the right of the arrow keys - this is the model I have.

Here it is on Amazon US:

ASUS ROG G750JH-DB71 17.3-Inch Laptop - Put the best to the test with a free copy of Assassin's Creed® IV Black Flag™
http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-G750JH-DB71-17-3-Inch-Laptop-VERSION/dp/B00EZ8BJNK/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1412021591&sr=1-1&keywords=g750jh

agiorgitis
09-29-2014, 08:48 PM
I can't say what's there, but there is clearly a logo!

Visit .co.uk again, or look straight at this:
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41rXmIgp1AL.jpg

Hope they don't have copied the image and have different specs on it..

Or maybe 4188H is the US's DB71 equivalent

agiorgitis
09-30-2014, 12:05 AM
I think I found the one that suits me
http://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B00LOARGES/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A11IL2PNWYJU7H

QWERTY keyboard too, so that's fine.

I don't know why there should be so much frustration about specs. On asus websites they don't mention the exact specs, like they are hidding or something. Makes you wonder whether you should dig up the whole internet to find the information, or change to another company with more easy-found exact specs...

hmscott
09-30-2014, 02:28 AM
I can't say what's there, but there is clearly a logo!

Visit .co.uk again, or look straight at this:
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41rXmIgp1AL.jpg

Hope they don't have copied the image and have different specs on it..

Or maybe 4188H is the US's DB71 equivalent

agiorgitis, that's the ROG logo, mine has that too, here is what both look like together, closeup:

41702

hmscott
09-30-2014, 02:33 AM
I think I found the one that suits me
http://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B00LOARGES/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A11IL2PNWYJU7H

QWERTY keyboard too, so that's fine.

I don't know why there should be so much frustration about specs. On asus websites they don't mention the exact specs, like they are hidding or something. Makes you wonder whether you should dig up the whole internet to find the information, or change to another company with more easy-found exact specs...

agiorgitis, Asus supports more regional variations that most, that is a good thing for many. You probably don't want to be buying localizations other than your own region, support might be problematic.

If you are considering a JH, I wouldn't look at a JZ - Optimus really gets in the way - given the choice between the JH and the JZ, I would really recommend sticking with the JH.

agiorgitis
10-04-2014, 11:57 PM
hmscott, after a lot of thinking, and many hours of searching, I decided to go with g750jz-t4110h.

because:
cpu, ram, 1,5tb, gpu.

I'll go with a single ssd option, and later change to a samsung 840 evo, 500gb, and keep the 256gb ssd as an external for my travels.
the reason is the 4k reads, that a single 840 evo is faster than 2 ssds in raid 0, which is more important in everyday use.

Optimus is actually a nice option for me, since I only play 2-3 games (can set the nvidia to kick in on those), and I can have more battery during my travels for business reasons. I not always want speed.

Finally, I'm buying from the UK, since I'll live there for quite a long time, so warranty is fine.

Thanks for all your help and time you devoted for me :D

ps: also saw the new g751 options. can't say they impressed me (except of the ips screen), + the availability + the price + the waiting, so... G750... :)

hmscott
10-05-2014, 01:01 AM
hmscott, after a lot of thinking, and many hours of searching, I decided to go with g750jz-t4110h.
because:
cpu, ram, 1,5tb, gpu.
I'll go with a single ssd option, and later change to a samsung 840 evo, 500gb, and keep the 256gb ssd as an external for my travels.
the reason is the 4k reads, that a single 840 evo is faster than 2 ssds in raid 0, which is more important in everyday use.
Optimus is actually a nice option for me, since I only play 2-3 games (can set the nvidia to kick in on those), and I can have more battery during my travels for business reasons. I not always want speed.
Finally, I'm buying from the UK, since I'll live there for quite a long time, so warranty is fine.
Thanks for all your help and time you devoted for me :D
ps: also saw the new g751 options. can't say they impressed me (except of the ips screen), + the availability + the price + the waiting, so... G750... :)

agiorgitis, you might be comparing Samsung's RAPID cache results, instead of the raw SSD results. The RAPID numbers aren't real world results.

The Crystaldiskmark test fits in RAPID cache memory after the first pass, then all the subsequent passes are lightening fast, averaging out to some ridiculous number.

Here are the results for the stock 2 x 128GB, imagine the speed with 2 x 512GB Crucial M550's 1GB/sec in both read and write, and 2x write speeds for the rest of the tests.

41797

Here is a single SSD 840 Pro 512GB raw results with Samsung RAPID off, to compare against your Evo with RAPID turned off.

41798

I wish I could find the Crystaldiskmark results from someone in the forum that already installed 2 x 512GB Crucial M.2's, but can't find it right now.

Here are the results with Crucial M550 2 x 512GB 2.5" drives RAID0, from a Tweaktown review:
http://www.tweaktown.com/articles/6380/crucial-m550-512gb-2-drive-ssd-raid-report/index3.html

41803

Have fun!, Scott

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 07:00 AM
Thanks!

I see your point.
hmmm...

maybe in the future replace my ssd with a m.2 card and place 2 ssds, instead of an 840 single. I can do it, right?

One more reason for going with 4110 was the price too. Got it for 1400p, where a JH would be 1650p. In $, it's $2250 vs $2650.

hmscott
10-05-2014, 07:29 AM
Thanks!
I see your point.
hmmm...
maybe in the future replace my ssd with a m.2 card and place 2 ssds, instead of an 840 single. I can do it, right?
One more reason for going with 4110 was the price too. Got it for 1400p, where a JH would be 1650p. In $, it's $2250 vs $2650.

agiorgitis, unfortunately the 2 m.2 cards would be splitting 1 SATA III interface instead of the RAID0 2 x SATA III interfaces - so in that case your RAID0 speed wouldn't be faster than a single SSD... 1 SSD will max out 1 SATA III interface by itself.

My JH has 3 SATA III interfaces, so I get max speed through for all 3 SSD's at the same time. If I upgrade the 2 x 128's to something faster I could get 1500MB/sec combined READ/WRITE.

For me, the RAID0 is as big of a draw as the 780m GPU :)

You can always hook up a RAID0 through the Thunderbolt port!

Have you already ordered?

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 07:46 AM
yes, i ordered.
but i can change until monday...

the next thing I can do, is buy a used one (JH), for about 1100p, but I don't know it's condition. Amazon sais is in good condition, but... I don't know if worths...

on jh, the 16gb is 2 x 8gb, or 2 x 4 + 1 x 8?

hmscott
10-05-2014, 08:51 AM
yes, i ordered.
but i can change until monday...

the next thing I can do, is buy a used one (JH), for about 1100p, but I don't know it's condition. Amazon sais is in good condition, but... I don't know if worths...

on jh, the 16gb is 2 x 8gb, or 2 x 4 + 1 x 8?

agiorgitis, I would imagine the JH with 16GB might be 4 x 4GB, but it could also be 2 x 8GB :) You can ask the seller...

Do you have a link to share for the JH? PM me if you like.

The other benefit of the JH is no Optimus - I know you want some battery use/life, but you can buy an extra battery or two, they are pretty small and not heavy - so you can fit 1 or 2 in the laptop bag. There are many things you give up with Optimus - without you are connected directly to the Nvidia GPU so you can set custom resolutions, 144hz through Display Port, along with 3D support, not to mention 10c cooler CPU without the Intel iGPU enabled :)

http://estore.asus.com/ <= pick region, I can't connect to it right now, otherwise I would give you UK links below...

For US here is the battery and ac adapter _ I always get an extra AC adapter - when 1 goes out you have a dead laptop until you get a replacement - been high and dry once, never again :)

230w AC Adapter
http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=6517

G750 Battery
http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=6392

My JH came with 24GB, 3 x 8GB, and I picked up the same make/model 8GB off of ebay for $99 to complete 32GB. If you want to get as fast as possible, you can replace all 4 with 4 x 8GB G.skill memory:

G.SKILL Ripjaws 32GB (4 x 8G) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3L 2133 Laptop Memory Model F3-2133C11Q-32GRSL
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231776

That comes out to less than I paid per 8GB SODIMM :)

Let us know what you find :)

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 08:53 AM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B00FC55WLK/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used

this is the one. it's the Assassin's Creed version.

i understand what you say, and really thinking of it...

hmscott
10-05-2014, 09:03 AM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B00FC55WLK/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used
this is the one. it's the Assassin's Creed version.
i understand what you say, and really thinking of it...

agiorgitis, thats good, the Assassins Creed model is the newer rev, and it likely has 2 x 8GB, it likely came as 3 x 8GB, and for some reason they pulled the easily accessed 8GB - probably to make extra $$ - you could ask them how much it would cost to expand to 32GB using the exact same make/model 8GB SODIMM's. This is the model I have :)

The JH's with the 750GB disk are the first gen version.

That is a good price, about $2000 US, especially with the Amazon 30 day return - is there an extended warranty available to assign to it? Can you call Amazon for questions? An Asus 2 year warranty would be best, but I don't know if you can assign one to a refurbished unit. Over in the US we have Warrentec? with a 3 or 4 year warranty for $240/320 uS.

Found the main page for the listing, and there are 2/3 year warranty options :)

And, the seller Laptop Outlet UK. has good ratings, and you can likely email them, not sure about response from vendors in the UK on Sunday.

Here is the US listing for the G750JH-DB71 I have:

http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-G750JH-DB71-17-3-Inch-Laptop-VERSION/dp/B00EZ8BJNK/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1412500205&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=g750jh

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 09:07 AM
the new model also comes with 16gb memory, and generally this t4106h version. so not the sellers fault. he hasn't stole the memory.

Ok, i'll cancel my other order and buy this one. when it comes, i place a second order with 16gb ram of the same type (fingers crossed it's 2 x 8) and 2 ssds (crusial 128gb).

hmscott
10-05-2014, 09:11 AM
the new model also comes with 16gb memory, and generally this t4106h version. so not the sellers fault. he hasn't stole the memory.
Ok, i'll cancel my other order and buy this one. when it comes, i place a second order with 16gb ram of the same type (fingers crossed it's 2 x 8) and 2 ssds (crusial 128gb).

agiorgitis, so there was never a 24GB version offered in the UK?

In the US the first version had a 750GB drive along with the 2 x 128GB SSD, the Assassins Creed model was a new gen with a 1TB and 2 x 128GB.

AFAIK, there wasn't a JH made without 2 x 128GB RAID0, but I don't know all the models shipped in Europe, so it might be a good idea to ask Amazon.

Refresh the page, I got through on the site, and made additional comments.

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 09:16 AM
there is an 24 version. t4110h.
this used jh, t4106h, comes with 2 x 128 raid.

I'll go for it, and if it's THAT used, i send it back within 30 days.

2y warranty is 260p, so not worth it! almost $400

PS: have you thought about working for Asus??? You are greater on customer support than their customer departments...

hmscott
10-05-2014, 09:23 AM
there is an 24 version. t4110h.
this used jh, t4106h, comes with 2 x 128 raid.

I'll go for it, and if it's THAT used, i send it back within 30 days.

2y warranty is 260p, so not worth it! almost $400

agiorgitis, good news on verifying the 2 x 128GB :)

Warranties are funny, they seem expensive until you need a repair - you might be able to get Asus to RMA it if you have a problem, and then they would charge parts + labor. The Asus 2 year extended warranty was $275 - adds a 2nd and 3rd year to the US 1 year warranty.

Even though it isn't listed, they might offer a 1 year warranty - what kind of warranty does it have beyond 30 days?

Hopefully you will get a pretty one :)

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 09:27 AM
Thanks!

I'll post again as soon as I receive it... :)

agiorgitis
10-05-2014, 11:14 PM
Hmscott, after having read 2-3 times all your posts in this topic, I feel like I have to devote a single post just to say "thank you :)"

Your posts have so many details, you're helping a complete stranger from the other side of the earth, and you are so friendly!
You remind me of myself, as I was doing the same thing on a car forum...

Keep it up my friend, there are people that acknowledge your contribution and your time :)

hmscott
10-06-2014, 02:17 AM
Hmscott, after having read 2-3 times all your posts in this topic, I feel like I have to devote a single post just to say "thank you :)"

Your posts have so many details, you're helping a complete stranger from the other side of the earth, and you are so friendly!
You remind me of myself, as I was doing the same thing on a car forum...

Keep it up my friend, there are people that acknowledge your contribution and your time :)

Thats great agiorgitis, I would normally ask to be sure and pay back the help as you can, but you are already doing that. :)

Thanks agiorgitis!