PDA

View Full Version : Hello! Questions!

PineBerries
10-25-2011, 08:03 PM
Hey guys!
I read through a bunch of threads but I'm completely lost ^^
I just got my Asus G74SX-XA1 today.
And I was wondering if somebody could point me in the right direction regarding updates..
Sorry ^^ I'm new to the Asus family.
Any help would be awesome!
Thanks in advance!

o//PineBerries.

fuzon1337
10-25-2011, 08:09 PM
Hi

What updates are you wondering about ? You can use Windows Updater, and Asus Live Update.
That should cover some of the updates to your computer :)

JRd1st
10-25-2011, 08:09 PM
I have pretty much the same system. Look in my sig for my current drivers. Plus look here http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?5126-Any-Kind-of-Lag-and-Atheros-WiFi-Card

BTW uninstall ASUS live update. It's useless.

BrodyBoy
10-25-2011, 08:23 PM
BTW uninstall ASUS live update. It's useless.
Worse than useless.....it's bad, glitchy software. Uninstalling it should be high on every user's To-Do List.

dstrakele
10-25-2011, 08:31 PM
There's another new Atheros WiFi driver - 9.2.1.459 (ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/nb/Drivers/WLAN/WLAN_Atheros_Win7_64_Z921459.zip) Don't know what's different but if someone wants to try it let us know how well it works. :D

And as JRd1st usually points out, updating the stock Atheros Wireless Adapter driver is one of the most critical updates. The stock driver is responsible for more issues than you would believe because of its high DPC Latency.

I also recommend configuring Windows Update to let you choose which updates to download and install. Microsoft updates can occasionally cause problems on some systems, even if they don't encounter problems on installation. If Windows Update installs them automatically, you may never know what change caused the problem on your system.