PDA

View Full Version : New user with AsusG74 multiple questions [Please Help the noob :) ]

Johnny_B
10-26-2011, 01:01 AM
Hello all! First i just want to say that a few of my questions were addressed in other posts but I'm still unclear on procedures. I'm not new to computers, but I am new to modifying/changing things about them. My extent of knowledge is how to use emulators and such. Hopefully I can be helped and I thank you all who read this in advance.

Here are my specs. I've read talk about other things but I'll include everything i can get from right-click-> My Computer-> Properties

Rating: 5.9 (weird everyone else has 7.2, i never changed anything and this has always been this way. I noticed that someone had this problem after updating a driver; however, as I already stated, I haven't done so)

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)

i7-2630QM CPU @
2.00GHz 2.0GHz

Installed memory (RAM): 12.0 GB
System Type: 64-Bit Operating System
Pen and Touch: No Pen or Touch Input is
available for this display

Extras (noted on sticker from manufacturer or retailer)

ODD: 4x BLU-RAY
HDD: 750+750GB
nVidia 3DTV Play
DirectX11
Wider Backlit Keyboard
Easy Access Cover for Upgrading
nVidia GTX 560M 3GB <---- (different sticker)

1. Linux Possibilities?
First things first, I'm curious about running this side by side with Linux. I've heard a bunch about this and I'm just curious as to what the experience really entails and the usefulness of it. My problem here is, I have absolutely no clue where to even begin to try this.

2. Clean Install
Probably not important but it seems some people (from what I've read) ALWAYS re-install/re-format their computers/OSs for clean installs. I've never had to set up a computer so I wouldn't know exactly how to set it up even if i did know how to wipe it in the first place. Also, it would be pointless for me right now because I wouldn't know what drivers to install and which ones to ditch. That's another problem.