PDA

View Full Version : G750JW HDMI Audio *Not plugged in*



darcNLO
10-17-2014, 06:36 PM
Hello all,
I've been trying to solve this problem for about 6hrs now, and have gotten to my end point. I need help.

Been trying all day to connect my G750JW laptop to my new Samsung 60" (5500 series) plasma TV, connected through my Yamaha (RX-V1700) receiver via HDMI. When I plug my HDMI cable into the laptop, I get a beautiful picture with no sound. In short, I have narrowed the problem down to my Asus ROG laptop and have ruled out any other component being the issue. This is how I ruled everything else out:


Different HDMI cables do not fix problem (even those known to support audio)
My old laptop (Dell XPS 1645) works perfectly. I just have to select 'HDMI Output' under playback devices
Plugging new laptop directly into TV seems to work fine - audio comes through TV speakers. So the problem is the HDMI hand-shake between my receiver and my laptop.
Turning the TV off, leaving the receiver on, shows the receiver listed as a playback device - but selecting it still doesn't allow audio through my receiver


My audio playback devices tab looks like this:
42189
The laptop picks-up on the Samsung TV, but for some reason it does not play any sound through my receiver. I am unable to make 'HDMI output' the default device because that option is greyed out. I'm positive if I could only select 'HDMI output' as the default device, things would work (as it does on my old laptop) - it's like my laptop doesn't recognize I've plugged anything into my HDMI port - but then again, it does recognize it as the video plays fine. The audio device also recognizes something got plugged in there - so why does it still grey it out?

I have tried uninstalling & reinstalling & updating my graphics card and audio card devices/drivers. NVIDIA & Realtek (including display adapter) are now all running the latest drivers. I've done all this a few times now. This is what my device manager looks like:
42190
There is a thread on here where someone with an almost exact same issue - they resolved it by disabling or uninstalling/reinstalling the Intel HD 4600 audio device. But as you can tell, that isn't listed as a device on my laptop.

I have tried playing with the NVIDIA Control Panel. This is what the 'Set up digital audio' section looks like for me:
42191

Trying to change the device from SAMSUNG to something else provides no other options besides 'turn off audio':
42192

I also read somewhere that you can alter the 'Connector' setting to an option that was 'HDMI with audio' but I get no drop down bar at all to change anything under the 'Connector' heading:
42193

Other things I've tried to no avail:

Plugging HDMI in, restarting.
Removing HDMI, restart, plug everything back in
Various other reboot sequences plugging different things in at different times
I'm sure I've tried other minor things as well - like I said, been at this 6hrs now


I am truly at a loss for anything else to try here. I'll do anything at this point to get this working. I've renovated my entire rec room, make a custom in-wall AV rack, brand new TV, brand new couch just arrived today - everything is all ready to go after a year of hard work - and now this has failed. Not sure if I should be angry with ASUS or NVIDIA or both.

Please help! :(

hmscott
10-17-2014, 09:04 PM
Hello all,
I've been trying to solve this problem for about 6hrs now, and have gotten to my end point. I need help.

Been trying all day to connect my G750JW laptop to my new Samsung 60" (5500 series) plasma TV, connected through my Yamaha (RX-V1700) receiver via HDMI. When I plug my HDMI cable into the laptop, I get a beautiful picture with no sound. In short, I have narrowed the problem down to my Asus ROG laptop and have ruled out any other component being the issue. This is how I ruled everything else out:


Different HDMI cables do not fix problem (even those known to support audio)
My old laptop (Dell XPS 1645) works perfectly. I just have to select 'HDMI Output' under playback devices
Plugging new laptop directly into TV seems to work fine - audio comes through TV speakers. So the problem is the HDMI hand-shake between my receiver and my laptop.
Turning the TV off, leaving the receiver on, shows the receiver listed as a playback device - but selecting it still doesn't allow audio through my receiver


The laptop picks-up on the Samsung TV, but for some reason it does not play any sound through my receiver. I am unable to make 'HDMI output' the default device because that option is greyed out. I'm positive if I could only select 'HDMI output' as the default device, things would work (as it does on my old laptop) - it's like my laptop doesn't recognize I've plugged anything into my HDMI port - but then again, it does recognize it as the video plays fine. The audio device also recognizes something got plugged in there - so why does it still grey it out?

I have tried uninstalling & reinstalling & updating my graphics card and audio card devices/drivers. NVIDIA & Realtek (including display adapter) are now all running the latest drivers. I've done all this a few times now. This is what my device manager looks like:

There is a thread on here where someone with an almost exact same issue - they resolved it by disabling or uninstalling/reinstalling the Intel HD 4600 audio device. But as you can tell, that isn't listed as a device on my laptop.

I have tried playing with the NVIDIA Control Panel. This is what the 'Set up digital audio' section looks like for me:

Trying to change the device from SAMSUNG to something else provides no other options besides 'turn off audio':

I also read somewhere that you can alter the 'Connector' setting to an option that was 'HDMI with audio' but I get no drop down bar at all to change anything under the 'Connector' heading:

Other things I've tried to no avail:

Plugging HDMI in, restarting.
Removing HDMI, restart, plug everything back in
Various other reboot sequences plugging different things in at different times
I'm sure I've tried other minor things as well - like I said, been at this 6hrs now


I am truly at a loss for anything else to try here. I'll do anything at this point to get this working. I've renovated my entire rec room, make a custom in-wall AV rack, brand new TV, brand new couch just arrived today - everything is all ready to go after a year of hard work - and now this has failed. Not sure if I should be angry with ASUS or NVIDIA or both.

Please help! :(

darcNLO, have you tried connecting to another receiver? It may be this receiver isn't going to work. You have tried everything that should work, but that receiver isn't being recognized as a supported HDMI audio device.

I would focus on the receiver options/settings, google for the hdmi audio problem using the model number.

You don't say it, but I assume you have tried all the HDMI input ports on the receiver, did you try the front panel HDMI input?

darcNLO
10-20-2014, 03:27 PM
darcNLO, have you tried connecting to another receiver? It may be this receiver isn't going to work. You have tried everything that should work, but that receiver isn't being recognized as a supported HDMI audio device.

I would focus on the receiver options/settings, google for the hdmi audio problem using the model number.

You don't say it, but I assume you have tried all the HDMI input ports on the receiver, did you try the front panel HDMI input?

Thanks for the reply, hmscott.
I have tried other HDMI inputs on the receiver (it only has 2 on the back). I haven't tried another receiver (only have one in the house). But a buddy of mine has a G750 laptop as well, with a receiver/home theater setup. I'm going to try his laptop with my setup and try my laptop with his setup and see if I can learn anything else from that.

Because of your suggestion, I ran a search for Yamaha RX-V1700 and hdmi audio problems with laptop - but I can't seem to find anything or anyone with even a similar problem to mine. Seems this is a NVIDIA problem. But can't seem to find many people in the last little while with this issue... most posts/threads seem to come from a year or more ago.

I'll keep this thread updated at least. Help me organize my thoughts and help potential others in the future.

darcNLO
10-20-2014, 05:18 PM
ASUS tech support didn't have any other tricks up their sleeve. Might call NVIDIA...

But an update on my situation: unplugged the HDMI from my TV and then connected the receiver only to my laptop. Sound! I checked my audio playback devices and it had "RX-V1700" listed and the audio worked perfectly. Then I tried plugging in my TV, and the audio stopped as soon as I got picture. The audio playback devices now doesn't show "RX-V1700" but only my TV: "SAMSUNG". So it seems I can get only one, video or audio. Not both.

hmscott
10-20-2014, 06:11 PM
ASUS tech support didn't have any other tricks up their sleeve. Might call NVIDIA...

But an update on my situation: unplugged the HDMI from my TV and then connected the receiver only to my laptop. Sound! I checked my audio playback devices and it had "RX-V1700" listed and the audio worked perfectly. Then I tried plugging in my TV, and the audio stopped as soon as I got picture. The audio playback devices now doesn't show "RX-V1700" but only my TV: "SAMSUNG". So it seems I can get only one, video or audio. Not both.

darcNLO, now I understand, your receiver is doing a pass-through of audio to the TV, instead of consuming the audio stream through it's AMP. I did a search and found this description - this guy wants why you have - reverse the settings - hopefully this triggers recognition of similar settings in your receiver.

No sound from HDMI from Receiver to TV Speakers - Pioneer VSX-1022
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-receivers-amps-processors/1488451-no-sound-hdmi-receiver-tv-speakers-pioneer-vsx-1022-a.html#post23685759

"Why have a A/V receiver at all if you don't want to connect any speakers? You could just connect all the devices directly to the TV if you have enough inputs. An HDMI video switcher would have been much cheaper if your TV didn't have enough inputs.

Since you're only using it as a video switcher do the following steps.

Look on pg 36 of your manual. If you don't have one you can download it here.
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/Manuals/Home/VSX-1022-K_OperatingInstructions062612.pdf

Follow the pictures on this page

1. Hit Receiver button on the remote
2. select the audio parameter button
3. toggle down until you get to HDMI
4. Change the setting to THRU, its probably on AMP right now.

When THRU is selected no sound is output by the receiver. Sound will be output to the TV.

Then go to page 52 and set CONTROL to OFF and ARC to OFF since you're not using those functions anyway. "

Search I used:
https://www.google.com/search?q=receiver+passes+hdmi+sound+through+to+tv+ how+to+get+sound+out+of+reveiver&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&channel=sb

Good luck :)

darcNLO
10-20-2014, 06:47 PM
Thanks for keeping up on this for me, hmscott!
I was playing around with my receiver and trying all those similar settings before, and nothing would work... BUT, NVIDIA tech support came through for me! It's all working now... this is what fixed the problem:

In NVIDIA Control Panel>Set up multiple displays, this is what mine looked like when it wasn't working:
42294
Both monitors (laptop & TV) were being cloned (which is the way I prefer it actually). But the NVIDIA guy got me to right click over the Samsung TV (the big 2) and select "Extend". Then I had to ensure the laptop monitor was set as "primary".

After that my NVIDIA Control Panel>Set up multiple displays looked like this:
42295

Immediately, everything worked perfectly. Audio was coming our my receiver speakers perfectly. Also, a point to note, that my audio playback devices still listed "SAMSUNG" as the default playback device, and "HDMI High Definition Output" was still listed as not plugged in and greyed out.

So, this wasn't a driver issue. Wasn't a windows issue. Wasn't even an NVIDIA issue. It's just my lack of understanding of the NVIDIA Control Panel and the difference between cloning and extending your screen.

However, in my defense, this still should be able to work with the images being cloned. But I'm not looking a gift horse in the mouth. I was about to give up on this whole thing and chalk it up to hardware conflict. Now all is well in the world. Hope this helps someone else down the road.

hmscott
10-21-2014, 01:27 AM
darcNLO, excellent!

I think you are correct in that it should have worked as you had it configured, and the fact that even in this working configuration it still doesn't represent the elements correctly is bothersome.

Good to know for future debugging :)

Thanks for reporting back the fix!

Marian Iulian
06-16-2015, 09:40 AM
I have the same problem as you but i have the 750jm version and i don't have those option in nvidia control panel :( what sould i do?
In nvidia control panel i have just 3D Settings.

Doesn't matter anymore i solved it.

remusc182
06-22-2015, 09:35 AM
I know it's been some time since you posted this but I hope you can still help me as I am ****ing desperate.
I own a Asus ROG G56JR that runs a NVIDIA GTX 760M and I have the exact same problems that you described. The only problem is that
it seems that I am cursed forever. Why? My Nvidia control panel only shows 3D Settings so I can't access the only solution that worked for you.

On the other hand , I read that the control panel not showing all the options is not actually a problem for this setup as the Integrated
Intel graphics card deals with the rest of the options. So I found those similar settings inside the Intel Driver but when I select CLONE DISPLAYS I don't get the option to set the main display.49988

Is there another way around this? Thank you

Cobra12678
07-03-2015, 10:41 PM
Hi all I soved the problem with my HDMI audio not working. I found that the problem was with the intel Graphics drivers. I had to change the HD and I put an SSD when I installed window a generic Intel Graphic driver was install and I had no audio from my hdmi port. It took me a while to figure out that the Intel graphic card is the one that sends the video and audio threw the HDMI port. I downloaded the Intel drivers form the ASUS driver page for my G750jm Laptop and presto I now had sound and my TV was recognized as a audio device. I hope this helps you with this problem.

hgarza9
08-27-2015, 08:03 PM
How did you fix it? I'm having the same problem.