PDA

View Full Version : Ram install 8GB to 12GB black screen G75VX



jarrodblake
10-18-2014, 06:02 PM
I wanted a little more speed, I bought a stick of 4B 1333MHz ram, the brand is patriot. Is it a bad stick?

APACHEJP
10-18-2014, 11:36 PM
So you have 4 ram slots in your computer, what are the other 2 brands? i could think of the two other ram is clocked at 1600 mhz( which is what you should have gotten in the first place) and they cant downclock to 1333

GottiBoi55
10-19-2014, 12:36 AM
You should have DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) for your G75VX.
You also need the right "Cas Latency" timing for your NB.(CL-10, or CL-11, I'm not sure witch you have)
Download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/1.71-rog-setup-en.exe) To check for CL (Timing).
Once you download CPU-Z, open app and click on memory tab, scroll down to the third listing under timing.
That should tell what Cas Latency (CL) your NB is running.
Now both these, DDR3 (speed), and the CL (timing) must match for your NB to work properly.
Once you have the correct speed, and the timing, then you need to order ram accordingly.

Hope this helps you my friend, and good luck
PS: Also under the "SPD Tab" that will tell the manufacture, and P/N of your RAM.
If you can find brand. and P/N ram, this would be ideal.

jarrodblake
10-19-2014, 05:02 AM
So you have 4 ram slots in your computer, what are the other 2 brands? i could think of the two other ram is clocked at 1600 mhz( which is what you should have gotten in the first place) and they cant downclock to 1333

I thought I had 1333.


You should have DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) for your G75VX.
You also need the right "Cas Latency" timing for your NB.(CL-10, or CL-11, I'm not sure witch you have)
Download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.com/downloads/cpu-z/1.71-rog-setup-en.exe) To check for CL (Timing).
Once you download CPU-Z, open app and click on memory tab, scroll down to the third listing under timing.
That should tell what Cas Latency (CL) your NB is running.
Now both these, DDR3 (speed), and the CL (timing) must match for your NB to work properly.
Once you have the correct speed, and the timing, then you need to order ram accordingly.

Hope this helps you my friend, and good luck
PS: Also under the "SPD Tab" that will tell the manufacture, and P/N of your RAM.
If you can find brand. and P/N ram, this would be ideal.

I downloaded CPU-Z here is a screen shot.

42225

GottiBoi55
10-19-2014, 08:13 PM
Okay you need to return that ram stick (1333MHz) you have, and order DDR3 1600 PC3 12800 (Dual Channel / 1.35V) with the timing of CL11 (11-11-11-28)

EDIT: 1.5 V memory for the Ivy Bridge processor, not 1.35V)

jarrodblake
10-21-2014, 01:00 AM
Okay you need to return that ram stick (1333MHz) you have, and order DDR3 1600 PC3 12800 (Dual Channel) with the timing of CL11.

Ok thanks,

Will this work? I can not find any with the timing of CL11


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313300

hmscott
10-21-2014, 01:35 AM
Ok thanks,

Will this work? I can not find any with the timing of CL11

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313300

jarrodblake, next time you probably want to go to the forum support for your laptop. Your G75vx is supported here:

G75, G55 & G46 Gaming Notebooks
http://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?146-G75-G55-amp-G46-Gaming-Notebooks

The reason that is important is that there are people there with those same model laptops that have been through the same memory selection process that you are going through and have already come up with a base knowledge of what works best, and what doesn't work.

Here in the G750 support Forum, we have different considerations for memory.

First, we can't run 1.5V memory - and the link you provided is 1.5v memory - it might confuse someone down the road reading this thread that it is ok to use this memory in their G750 - it isn't ok.

Also we have a different make/model range of memory installed in our G750's usually 1.28v memory.

I just wanted to point that out, that as much as we would like to help, you would get more focused advice for your G75vx in the other forum. :)

Edit by cl-Albert: Thanks for the post hmscott and moved this thread to the G75 sub-forum.

jarrodblake
10-21-2014, 01:44 AM
I completely understand where you are coming from, That is how I ended up buying the 1333MHz ram in the first place. With that said do I need to look for ram that uses 1.28v and not 1.5v?

Such as this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231698

or is 1.35v to high?

hmscott
10-21-2014, 01:49 AM
I completely understand where you are coming from, That is how I ended up buying the 1333MHz ram in the first place. With that said do I need to look for ram that uses 1.28v and not 1.5v?

Such as this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231698
or is 1.35v to high?

Please share the post URL that you made/make in the G75 forum, so I can answer there. My answer is of no interest for G750 users.

GottiBoi55
10-21-2014, 10:19 PM
Ok thanks,

Will this work? I can not find any with the timing of CL11

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820313300

Here's a Memory Finder Tool from Newegg.com that should help find what you need.(LINK BELOW)
Just enter you "exact model number", and it will pull up some Memory choices.

Now my older G75VW model uses Voltage of 1.5 memory, but you should check the "SPD Tab" of CPU-Z to make sure what your VX uses
I believe the "Ivy Bridge" processor that's in your VX model uses 1.5 volt memory.(sorry about my mis-quote above of 1.35 for your memory)
Now our G750's with the Haswell Processor uses 1.35 volt memory.
If you use the wrong "voltage memory", now that can damage your CPU. (over heating issue)
So it's better to be safe then sorry when it comes to memory.

Memory Finder Tool (http://www.newegg.com/MemoryFinder/?cm_sp=Cat_Memory-_-Memory%2525252f12-5242-_-http%3a%2f%2fpromotions.newegg.com%2fMemory%2f12-5242%2f118x118.jpg&icid=245947#ad0ABB)

hmscott
10-22-2014, 01:01 AM
jarrodblake has posted here in the G75 forum:

Adding RAM to G75 - Sticky Thread
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?23929-Adding-RAM-to-G75&p=444765&viewfull=1#post444765

There are lots of good posts there on selecting G75 memory:

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?23929-Adding-RAM-to-G75&p=168628&viewfull=1#post168628

jarrodblake
10-26-2014, 04:10 AM
I did and I got no response,

So I bought a stick of Elpida 4GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600MHz 204-Pin EBJ40UG8BBU0-GN-F It is the same exact ram that is currently installed in my computer. However I keeping getting a black screen. Is it a bad stick or is there something I need to do before I install it?

Here is a screen shot of my current ram.

42629