PDA

View Full Version : RamDIsk help

Brighttail
10-24-2014, 04:59 AM
Hey all,

So I see this wonderful "new" feature (okay not so new) called Ram disk. I have some knowledge of what it is supposed to accomplish and have looked it up a bit using the old google resource.

I have dual SSD in raid 1 format handling my games and was wondering if there would be any discernible different from running it normally or setting up a Ramdisk partition of 6gigs or so (i have 16) for my games like ESO / Starcraft II / Everquest 2?

I know how to create a Ramdisk partition but have no idea how i would point my games to it if this indeed would increase performance. So is it worth it or is it just a flashy, not needed item?

jab383
10-24-2014, 04:43 PM
The ROG RamDisk can create junction points whereby the data/programs/etc in a disk folder is all copied to the RamDisk, then any reference to the disk folder is handled by the RamDisk. RamDisk also backs up its contents and restores them at reboot. Junction points may be a convenient way to set up access to your games.

I have used it in that way for several purposes. Two examples: ROG Realbench runs a little faster from RamDisk; Photoshop handles hundreds of photos through several steps of processing much faster than from HDD.

Performance increase depends on how much the disk used in the process. A program like Realbench that loads data into RAM then crunches on it will only speed up the disk access. Photoshop uses lots of those in transferring between programs for various steps of processing. YMMV.

Hope this helps

Jeff

Dr. Zchivago
10-24-2014, 05:28 PM
My experience with games like ESO, BF4, WoW, CS:GO, and Skyrim has been that there is no distinct improvement with games loaded to RAMDisk instead of my SSD. I don't do A/V editing, so I can't speak to that. I also have seen no discernible improvement having Realbench run from the RAMDisk over SSD (I have tested MANY times).