PDA

View Full Version : G20aj swap gpu/mem/



Wishmaker
10-27-2014, 04:25 AM
Hey Guys,

I hope someone can help me out with some info.

What is the MAX MEM i can put in it the G20AJ 16G?
Can I upgrade the GPU from 760 to 970

Bogdan

Wishmaker
10-27-2014, 04:46 PM
thanks!

_
10-28-2014, 01:33 AM
No part is upgradable sorry. It's designed to be as compact as possible, which means everything is tightly packed. It's also very specifically designed around the power supplies bundled. Trying to take it apart is very difficult and will void the warranty.

A GTX 980 version is in the works.

g_mk1987
10-28-2014, 04:11 PM
No part is upgradable sorry. It's designed to be as compact as possible, which means everything is tightly packed. It's also very specifically designed around the power supplies bundled. Trying to take it apart is very difficult and will void the warranty.

A GTX 980 version is in the works.

Any idea when it will become available?

Bodycount69
11-11-2014, 11:20 PM
Hey Guys,

I hope someone can help me out with some info.

What is the MAX MEM i can put in it the G20AJ 16G?
Can I upgrade the GPU from 760 to 970

Bogdan

If you YouTube this there's Asus representative there saying t yes you can upgrade GPU and Memory but opening the case voids your warranty.

Bodycount69
11-11-2014, 11:21 PM
No part is upgradable sorry. It's designed to be as compact as possible, which means everything is tightly packed. It's also very specifically designed around the power supplies bundled. Trying to take it apart is very difficult and will void the warranty.

A GTX 980 version is in the works.

Not true but opening the case voids warranty.

stevox85
12-06-2014, 04:54 AM
So I bought a G20aj with a GTX745, I want to upgrade this to the GTX 780, where would I buy this card and the double power adapter to power it, Mine only came with 1 power brick? I dont mind voiding the warranty. Thanks in advance.

toronto699
12-07-2014, 12:33 AM
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?54457-ROG-G20-Overhaul
this guy may help u private message him

XzachX
12-13-2015, 02:21 AM
Does anyone know if it is possible to buy a tower an insert all the parts to this PC into it?

GoHack
12-13-2015, 06:29 AM
Does anyone know if it is possible to buy a tower an insert all the parts to this PC into it?

Anything is possible, w/modifications, but for the most part, No. The m/b isn't a standard one, nor are the power supplies.

The G20AJ is quit a nice capable system, w/quit a punch for it's size, w/the memory expandable up to 16 GB, which is the norm w/socket 1150 CPU's, w/the CPU expandable up to the i7-4790K, and the video card, up to a standard Nvidia Reference Design GTX 980, and w/a Dell 330W power supply, a Reference GTX 980Ti.

If you wanted to max out everything, hardware wise, or overclock everything, then the G20AJ was the wrong system to buy.

Xzach
12-18-2015, 05:35 PM
If I get the dell power supply at 330watts will I still need the 180watt power supply?

GoHack
12-19-2015, 04:33 PM
If I get the dell power supply at 330watts will I still need the 180watt power supply?

It depends on the video card that you install. My system originally came w/the Intel i5 CPU, w/the Nvidia GTX 750 video card. It came w/only the 230W power supply. With my basic system, it only needed the 230W to supply everything.

I went and replaced the Nvidia GTX 750 w/a GTX 670 video card that I had, so I needed the 180W as well, which I bought off of eBay. The 180W supplies the basic system, like the M/B, CPU, HD, etc., while the 230W is for the upper end video card, like my GTX 670 in my case. These two power supplies are good for up to the Reference Design Nvidia GTX 980 video card. If you want to install a Nvidia GTX 980 Ti on the other hand, then you will need to replace the 230W w/the Dell 330W.

I stipulate the Reference Design video card, because of the standard dimensions it has, being non-overclocked, and having the one cooling fan design.

By the way, there are jumper settings that will need to be set on the motherboard if you add another power supply, outside of your 230W, which I assume came w/your system. You can find the jumper settings posted in this forum.

I hope this has answered your question.

Cyb0rge
02-10-2019, 10:25 PM
Anything is possible, w/modifications, but for the most part, No. The m/b isn't a standard one, nor are the power supplies.

The G20AJ is quit a nice capable system, w/quit a punch for it's size, w/the memory expandable up to 16 GB, which is the norm w/socket 1150 CPU's, w/the CPU expandable up to the i7-4790K, and the video card, up to a standard Nvidia Reference Design GTX 980, and w/a Dell 330W power supply, a Reference GTX 980Ti.

If you wanted to max out everything, hardware wise, or overclock everything, then the G20AJ was the wrong system to buy.

Is there really a 330w power supply i can upgrade too besides the 230w + 180w power supplies??? im planning on buying a rtx 2070 so all the extra power i can get helps