PDA

View Full Version : G750 JH Audio Issues



themeonster
11-21-2014, 07:07 PM
I have had this issue on my G750 JH for quite a while now across multiple audio drivers. What happens is that I start playing music or whatever and set the volume. Then I pause the audio or it and when I start it again the volume is about 50%+ higher than it was. So I go hit fn+f11 to turn the volume down and it jumps to where I originally set it.

This happens on the speakers and when I use headphones through the audio jack. It does not happen when I use my wireless headphones that use a usb sound card. Oddly enough, it also went away when I replaced the (painfully slow) HDD with a 1TB samsung 840 EVO but has since slowly come back. I find this incredibly annoying and would appreciate any help you can give. Thanks

hmscott
11-22-2014, 12:24 AM
I have had this issue on my G750 JH for quite a while now across multiple audio drivers. What happens is that I start playing music or whatever and set the volume. Then I pause the audio or it and when I start it again the volume is about 50%+ higher than it was. So I go hit fn+f11 to turn the volume down and it jumps to where I originally set it.

This happens on the speakers and when I use headphones through the audio jack. It does not happen when I use my wireless headphones that use a usb sound card. Oddly enough, it also went away when I replaced the (painfully slow) HDD with a 1TB samsung 840 EVO but has since slowly come back. I find this incredibly annoying and would appreciate any help you can give. Thanks

themeonster, I had this same problem with my G750JH recently, it was Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultimate that was causing the problem.

Like you said, very annoying especially when you have headphones on and stuff comes on blaring at full volume.

After uninstalling Cyberlink PowerDVD Ultimate, I reinstalled the Asus DVD using Asus Install (in C:\eSupport), and have been using that for DVD/BD playback with no volume issues at all since.

Please let us know what you find as your volume problem :)

themeonster
12-06-2014, 06:05 PM
Sorry that it took me so long to get back to this. I notice it most when using audacity but it seems to be universal across games, movies (I have used asus DVD since I got the computer), chrome and even the windows sounds. I think that it is a driver or hardware issue because I don't have problems with my headphones using an external usb sound card.

Might it be some sort of driver or software conflict? Other than installing various drivers, I have no idea where to start troubleshooting. What should I be looking for? Is there anywhere that I could find an error log or something of that nature?

hmscott
12-06-2014, 06:33 PM
Sorry that it took me so long to get back to this. I notice it most when using audacity but it seems to be universal across games, movies (I have used asus DVD since I got the computer), chrome and even the windows sounds. I think that it is a driver or hardware issue because I don't have problems with my headphones using an external usb sound card.

Might it be some sort of driver or software conflict? Other than installing various drivers, I have no idea where to start troubleshooting. What should I be looking for? Is there anywhere that I could find an error log or something of that nature?

themeonster, I don't have the problem, but I have updated all of my drivers to the latest Windows 8.1 version available at Asus, either in the G750/G751 sections, or from the central support download locations for each item, you need to dig a bit to find the latest version number, not always at the top of the list or the newest download posted by Asus - look for the version number.

I would think the 2 associated hardware drivers would be the Intel INF chipset driver 10.0.13, and the Realtek driver V6.0.1.7335, those are the versions I have installed.

Here is the list of places I look for updates for my G750JH; the best way to get a stable fully functioning G750/G751 is to update all the drivers / apps to the latest Windows 8.1 release.

The G750JW/JX/JH/JM/JS/JZ download areas haven't had new updates for a while, BIOS updates still happen in your model's support area, so check there from time to time.

The G750/G751/551/500/etc share the same basic hardware components; check support download areas for new hardware for newer drivers.

Asus maintains central support areas for hardware component features common to all products, those areas usually have the latest drivers after new hardware releases, sometimes there is a lag before the newer drivers show up there, so still to new product releases support downloads for the latest drivers.

Asus G751 Support / Download areas - Asus hasn't updated all the versions of these support areas, this link discusses the 3 locations were started independantly and not sync'd/updated through to the latest driver releases - check them all to be sure.
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?55572-Asus-G751-Support-Download-areas&p=461698&viewfull=1#post461698

This G751JM/JT/JY/JL download area has the latest drivers of all the G750/G751 support download areas:

G751 Support / Download Areas - Newest - has all 4 G751 models
http://www.asus.com/Search/?SearchKey=g751

G750 Support / Download Areas - Newest - has the G750JY/JZ/JS/JM/JH models
http://www.asus.com/Search/?SearchKey=g750

G750JX - new support location, updates?
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_ROG_G750JX/

G750JW - new support location, updates?
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_ROG_G750JW/

Here are the latest Asus posted VGA drivers currently 347.25 ; it's better to get the latest from Nvidia - 347.88

Asus doesn't modify the drivers, they release the identical driver packages as Nvidia releases.
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=VGA&p=3&s=111

Notebook Audio drivers - Realtek 7443 - current confirmed to work on G751/G750, some G750 users say 7335 works best for them, if you find a newer release version that works, please let us all know which version and G750/G751 model it works on.
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Audio&os=30

Notebook Card Reader (realtek) G750 / G751(?)
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Card+reader&os=30

Notebook Bluetooth drivers
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Bluetooth&p=3&ft=27&os=30

Notebook WLAN drivers (no Intel)
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=WLAN&os=3

Notebook LAN drivers
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=589&m=LAN&os=&hashedid=n%2fa

KBFilter driver
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=KBFilter&hashedid=n%2fa

Asus Backtracker for Windows 8.1 download
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=Backtracker&hashedid=n%2fa

Asus Backtracker FAQ
http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1008640/

Asus SmartGesture
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=ASUS+Smart+Gesture&hashedid=n%2fa

Asus Touchpad
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Touchpad&os=30

Asus ATK Package
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=ATK%20Package&hashedid=n/a

Asus GPU Tweak for Graphics Cards, currently at release 2.7.9.0 for the G750JW/JX/JH and G751JT/JY
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=9&m=ASUS%20GPU%20Tweak%20for%20Graphics%20cards&hashedid=n/a

Asus GPU Tweak for Laptops, currently at release v1.0.9 for the G750JS/JM/JZ and other new ROG laptops with Optimus
http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&m=ASUS+GPU+Tweak+for+Laptops&hashedid=n%2fa

Here are the Asus posted VGA drivers, it's better to get the latest from Nvidia - currently 347.88
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=VGA&p=3&s=111

Nvidia Drivers direct from Nvidia
http://www.geforce.com/drivers

Asus stopped updating their Intel INFUpdate support area, so go directly to Intel to get the latest chipset INF - currently 10.0.26
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/20775/Intel-Chipset-Device-Software-INF-Update-Utility-

For the G750JH/JZ RAID and G751JY PCIE SSD, or if you have implemented RAID, the latest SetupRST.exe is currently 13.6.0.1002
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/SearchResult.aspx?lang=eng&keyword=Intel+Rapid+Storage+Technology+%28Intel+RS T%29+RAID+Driver

When you find additional locations, or corrections, please PM me and I will add it to the list :)

Apothocarist
01-01-2015, 01:33 PM
Any updates on this issue? I have the exact thing happening to me

g750jz

hmscott
01-01-2015, 06:08 PM
Sorry that it took me so long to get back to this. I notice it most when using audacity but it seems to be universal across games, movies (I have used asus DVD since I got the computer), chrome and even the windows sounds. I think that it is a driver or hardware issue because I don't have problems with my headphones using an external usb sound card.

Might it be some sort of driver or software conflict? Other than installing various drivers, I have no idea where to start troubleshooting. What should I be looking for? Is there anywhere that I could find an error log or something of that nature?


Any updates on this issue? I have the exact thing happening to me g750jz

themeonster, it's not something I am seeing, or have seen reported before your posts.

Like I said the only one I had a problem with was Cyberlink PowerDVD kicking up the volume all the way when starting. But, if Audacity is doing it, maybe uninstall it and run without it for a while to see if the problem goes away.

It doesn't seem to be a general problem with the drivers, more like a compatibility issue with apps.

There is only one place I know of that the system allows adapting to inputs to change volume, but that is only for reducing volume for incoming calls. I set mine to "do nothing" you could try that too.

44814

It might be the apps are tickling this the wrong way and causing volume jumps.

themeonster
01-02-2015, 02:27 PM
I still have the issue. The only way I can get it to reliably go away is to uninstall the realtek driver and use the windows default one which results in some oddities such as the speakers and headphones being considered separate audio devices. But I am going to live with it as I am sick of dealing with jumping audio.
Thanks for the suggestion hmscott but I had tried that already and it is set to do nothing for me as well.

hmscott
01-02-2015, 05:53 PM
I still have the issue. The only way I can get it to reliably go away is to uninstall the realtek driver and use the windows default one which results in some oddities such as the speakers and headphones being considered separate audio devices. But I am going to live with it as I am sick of dealing with jumping audio.
Thanks for the suggestion hmscott but I had tried that already and it is set to do nothing for me as well.

themeonster, which Realtek driver are you using? I am using 7335, and have no trouble with jumping audio in speakers / headphones now or before with the JW/JX/JH.

I don't know what to suggest as to the problem, other than another audio controller / app.

Do you install the Nvidia Audio drivers? Maybe try uninstalling them and only have the Realtek drivers installed.

Here are the Nvidia drivers I have installed, and I have the Nvidia HD Audio installed...:

44841

I wouldn't give up, as it doesn't normally occur... maybe do an F9 reset back to out of the box and reload updates/drivers/apps checking for the culprit that changes the audio?

themeonster
01-02-2015, 07:15 PM
I considered doing a reset but with a highly customized skyrim install and a 1mb internet connection, I have been hesitant.

It occurs to me that it might have something to do with the secondary hard drive. Maybe a hidden virus or some corruption or something else Last time I did a factory reset I left it out of the computer. And when I replaced it with an SSD (via drive mirroring) the issue went away and came back.

I think that I will try backing up and resetting over the weekend to see where that gets me. Wish me luck.

How many TB of writes are our m.2 ssds rated for? I think that mine are sitting at about 8TB right now and I want to know when I should look in to replacing them.

Apothocarist
01-02-2015, 09:33 PM
If it helps any, on mine, its a new laptop. Havent installed anything save for whatever bloatware installed at first sign in. I tried updating to the new audio driver under the g750 section

But im still experiencing the issue.

I can replicate it rather reliably. Pause media, be it youtube, Netflix, etc, click a few time in another window, go back and hit play, and its louder a few clicks, adjust the volume in either direction and itll jump back to where it was originally, plus one click depending what you hit to adjust the volume.

Driving me maad

As far as I can say, its been happening right out of the box. I have nothing on the compter yet, so I can test whatever to see if it takes care of the issue.

Laptop is a few days old

Thanx in advnce!!

hmscott
01-02-2015, 09:39 PM
I considered doing a reset but with a highly customized skyrim install and a 1mb internet connection, I have been hesitant.
It occurs to me that it might have something to do with the secondary hard drive. Maybe a hidden virus or some corruption or something else Last time I did a factory reset I left it out of the computer. And when I replaced it with an SSD (via drive mirroring) the issue went away and came back.
I think that I will try backing up and resetting over the weekend to see where that gets me. Wish me luck.
How many TB of writes are our m.2 ssds rated for? I think that mine are sitting at about 8TB right now and I want to know when I should look in to replacing them.

themeonster, it might be a good idea, if you want more space, to get an M.2 SATA drive soon as the M.2 PCIE's are becoming more popular - I don't know how easy it will be to get the M.2 SATA in the larger sizes later.

But, as far as wear I wouldn't worry about it, in the long term tests at TechReport, the numbers make our usage pale in comparison.

The SSD Endurance Experiment: Casualties on the way to a petabyte - And then there were three
http://techreport.com/review/26523/the-ssd-endurance-experiment-casualties-on-the-way-to-a-petabyte

Please let us know how it works out, and what is/was causing it :)

hmscott
01-02-2015, 09:50 PM
If it helps any, on mine, its a new laptop. Havent installed anything save for whatever bloatware installed at first sign in. I tried updating to the new audio driver under the g750 section
But im still experiencing the issue.
I can replicate it rather reliably. Pause media, be it youtube, Netflix, etc, click a few time in another window, go back and hit play, and its louder a few clicks, adjust the volume in either direction and itll jump back to where it was originally, plus one click depending what you hit to adjust the volume.
Driving me maad
As far as I can say, its been happening right out of the box. I have nothing on the compter yet, so I can test whatever to see if it takes care of the issue.
Laptop is a few days old
Thanx in advnce!!

Apothocarist, which G750 do you have? Which version Realtek HD driver do you have installed?

Asus doesn't typically update product downloads after release, so you have to chase down the latest model releases to find the latest drivers for your same hardware... the newest that is stable is V6.0.1.7335, available here:

Notebook Audio - for G750 => Realtek driver package Version V6.0.1.7335
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=Audio&os=30

Not many people report this failure, you 2 are the first in a very long time, but if there are 2 there are more, so it would be nice to find out what is causing it. :)

I don't suppose either of you have an external mouse which has a Wheel that can be bound to changing the volume?

I had that set for Cyberlink PowerDVD long ago, and found that annoyingly I would bump the wheel in/out of the program and when I went in / out of the program the mouse reading was retaken and the change in wheel position was registered as a volume change...I disabled that :)

Apothocarist
01-02-2015, 10:01 PM
Hmscott,

G750jz-xs72

Driver: V6.0.1.7304

Negative on external mouse

Ill try that driver tonight and post my findings

*Correction edit*
model: g750jz-xs72

themeonster
01-02-2015, 10:24 PM
Apothocarist, can you access the maxx audio panel? I am unable to get it to open properly and I was wondering if that was somehow connected. My theory right now is that there is somethin interfering with the realtek driver. Largely because the issue is nonexistent when I use an external sound card and when I uninstall the driver and because it persists regardless of what I am doing, games, YouTube, iTunes, windows media player, vlc, even the system sounds are louder than they should be.

Hmscott, I do have a mouse that could have the wheel bound to volume (Logitech g700s) but I do not recall seeing any related settings. I will check again as soon as I get home and have a minute.

Apothocarist
01-02-2015, 11:20 PM
Themeonster,

I was able to access the panel once the driver was updated to 7304, it actually automatically made a shortcut on the desktop once updated. Never even knew about it before I saw the shortcut

update: new driver installed (.7335); same issue.

noticed tho, the sound, when its automatically louder does sound more flat, it lacks depth, which comes back when you manually adjust the volume.

themeonster
01-03-2015, 08:01 PM
I am in the process of backing up all of my important information and will perform a factory reset likely sometime tomorrow.

I also tried to uninstall the nvidia hd audio driver but after restarting to complete uninstallation it was still there so it seems that is is part of the graphics driver.

Apothocarist
01-04-2015, 02:19 AM
Ill reset mine now, and report what I find. Id hate for u to go thru all that for nothing.

Apothocarist
01-04-2015, 02:46 AM
bad news

f9 reset. everything fresh. fist thing I did before ANYTHING, went to IE and headed over to netflix.

Issue presists.
current realtek driver 6.0.1.7164
current nvidia virtual audio driver 1.2.20.0

going to head over and install new drivers from hm's list and see what happens

themeonster
01-04-2015, 04:58 AM
That is unfortunate. I will probably still do a reset though for a larger sample size and simply to reset windows.

How did you do it? I am going to use a flash driver that I set up with backtracker shortly after first setting up the computer. I am pretty sure that it is the same process as an f9 reset.

Ideally in our case it would probably be best to do a clean install using an iso from microsoft but I am unaware of any way to do such a thing without legal muddiness. If anybody else has any alternatives I am open to trying anything.

hmscott
01-04-2015, 05:27 AM
That is unfortunate. I will probably still do a reset though for a larger sample size and simply to reset windows.

How did you do it? I am going to use a flash driver that I set up with backtracker shortly after first setting up the computer. I am pretty sure that it is the same process as an f9 reset.

Ideally in our case it would probably be best to do a clean install using an iso from microsoft but I am unaware of any way to do such a thing without legal muddiness. If anybody else has any alternatives I am open to trying anything.

themeonster, don't restore to the original HDD, your only backup of the Asus OS.

If the restore fails, it will start by erasing the existing partitions and making new partitions, should the restore fail you won't be able to make another flash drive because the original HDD / OS / recovery partition will be lost.

Best to restore to another SSD/HDD - with the original HDD taken out of the laptop.

The restore process erases and repartitions any drive found internally. So pull out the secondary drive, whether it is the original HDD or not.

The F9 process runs from the recovery partition on the boot drive, and restores to the existing partition, so you won't lose that drive should the restore fail. And, it doesn't erase / partition the drive in the secondary bay.

Have fun :)

themeonster
01-04-2015, 03:12 PM
So you are saying that if I use backtracker there is a chance I could lose the OS? And that if I use the recovery partition within windows I have a backup? I did not know that. So what I should do is pull the secondary drive (the 1TB), mash f9 while starting and reformat from there?

hmscott
01-04-2015, 06:45 PM
So you are saying that if I use backtracker there is a chance I could lose the OS? And that if I use the recovery partition within windows I have a backup? I did not know that. So what I should do is pull the secondary drive (the 1TB), mash f9 while starting and reformat from there?

themeonster, you don't need to mash, just tap it every 1/2 second after powering up (do it from power off0. And, you don't reformat, you reset the OS and it is installed fresh from the Recovery Partition.

And, if you test the Asus Backtracker restore on another SSD/HDD - don't test it with the original HDD, with your only other backup copy of the Asus OS, installed during the restore, you can use that for the test.

The Asus Backtracker is good when it works, but there are several ways to shoot yourself in the foot - don't leave any other disk installed internally, and don't leave any USB storage attached during the creation of the flash drive or during the restore, and don't test the restore against the original HDD. Be aware of those rules, and you will be fine.

Good luck :)

themeonster
01-04-2015, 10:54 PM
Ok I am back to a usable state after resetting. A few notes about that first.

Windows would not let me use the recovery partition so I was forced to use backtracker. At first I tried (despite your warnings) to do it with both the raid array and secondary hard drive installed because I wanted to make sure both got wiped. However it did not complete but crashed leaving me with a computer that booted straight to BIOS. After a short panic I tried removing the secondary drive and the process completed as it should. Upon completion it booted to the ROG themed setup.

After setting everything up I reinstalled the removed drive but it still took a couple of boots to get it to show up. When it did, it was also factory formatted into two separate empty partitions labeled Data1 and Data2.

At the end of it all, the weird audio issue seems to be gone for now. I will report back as I get everything installed and windows updated (~100 in the first batch).

hmscott
01-04-2015, 11:03 PM
Ok I am back to a usable state after resetting. A few notes about that first.

Windows would not let me use the recovery partition so I was forced to use backtracker. At first I tried (despite your warnings) to do it with both the raid array and secondary hard drive installed because I wanted to make sure both got wiped. However it did not complete but crashed leaving me with a computer that booted straight to BIOS. After a short panic I tried removing the secondary drive and the process completed as it should. Upon completion it booted to the ROG themed setup.

After setting everything up I reinstalled the removed drive but it still took a couple of boots to get it to show up. When it did, it was also factory formatted into two separate empty partitions labeled Data1 and Data2.

At the end of it all, the weird audio issue seems to be gone for now. I will report back as I get everything installed and windows updated (~100 in the first batch).

themeonster, all good info, nice job :)

Glad to hear the audio bug isn't there out of the box OS install.

I didn't mention it, but you can also do System Restore points between System updates to rollback. Since you are doing masses of them instead of 1 at a time, you have a higher chance of needing to uninstall a bunch of updates - so a System Restore point makes it easier:

Create System Restore Point in Windows 8.1 to Keep Data Safe (describes Windows 8 and before, and new Windows 8.1 methods)
http://techzend.com/create-system-restore-point-windows-81/

More examples:
https://www.google.com/search?num=50&safe=off&q=windows+8.1+save+restore+point&oq=windows+8.1+save+restore+point&gs_l=serp.3..0.8922.15309.0.15719.30.22.0.5.5.1.18 1.2164.11j9.20.0.msedr...0...1c.1.60.serp..6.24.19 86.kaWeiTUX34A

Good luck :)

Apothocarist
01-05-2015, 07:13 AM
great news that your past whatever was causing the issue. how did you reset? I thinking about doing it again, but following your method.

I hadnt removed either ssd or the 1tb hdd.

rstarted the computer and tapped f9 at post, selected trouble shoot, and picked the option to delete all files.

let me know if you went a diffrent route, id like to try that

after the reset, i read hms post about the drives causing a problem restoring. scared me enough to make a usb stick with backtracker, thanx hms!!

themeonster
01-05-2015, 03:53 PM
I had created a recovery flash drive using backtracker on the first day that I got the computer.

First, I booted to the recovery drive with all of the other drives in and attempted to reformat from there but the progress bar would go maybe 5%-ish and it would restart. I tried this a few times.

After I realized that this wasn't working I took out my data drive (the 2.5in. drive without the OS on it) and tried the backtracker flash drive again. This time it worked and after a while, I was back at the setup screen for windows.

After verifying that everything was ok, I shut it down and put the data drive back in. I expected it to still have all of the data still on it but it was also formatted.

That's pretty much it. I had tried to use reset all in the f9 menu but it gave an error (missing partition or something like that) so I don't think that it affected it in any way. I am still in the process of updating windows then I will start installing drivers and finally programs. I update you if anything brings the issue back.

Apothocarist
01-06-2015, 04:23 AM
Take a look at this is ya don't mind.


G750jz audio issue: http://youtu.be/sl4mWd6EAOQ

Hopefully it'll make sense

themeonster
01-06-2015, 07:27 PM
That is exactly what was happening to me and unfortunately I still only have guesses as to why.

The only way for me to get rid of the issue seemed to be to restore the OS to a out of the box state. Did you attempt to reset it with backtracker? When you first tried to reset through windows, were both hard drives formatted (blank except for the OS and divided into two partitions each)? If I am not mistaken, the G750JZ-xs72 has two 256GB m.2 drives in RAID and another 1TB HDD as a secondary. So out of the box it would have four logical partitions, two around 250GB labeled OS and Data and two more around 500GB labeled Data1 and Data2.

It is possible that your first restore took some shortcuts and didn't fully wipe whatever is causing the problem. If you find anything or have any other questions, let us know.

Apothocarist
01-07-2015, 01:10 PM
First rest, I attempted to just format the main drives and not the storage drive. All positions remained, but somehow there was suddenly data on the storage drive. Reset again this time formatting all the drives and all partitions remained and this time storage was empty like when out of box.

But the pesky issue persisted. I haven't restored via usb yet, going to try that next, or just exchange the thing with Amazon.