PDA

View Full Version : Bios 204



Boaz Beatz
11-22-2014, 12:24 PM
Should i update to BIOS ver 204?

guvadc
11-22-2014, 02:00 PM
From what has been in other posts , it looks like yes. What model is yours? I have the G751JM and 206 was the latest. I updated to that knowing that I might be returning it due the strange behavior I've been having with the charger.

Exostenza
11-23-2014, 03:48 AM
Apparently it makes the laptop run cooler on idle, but if you overclock any BIOS over 202 takes away one multiplier step away from us which actually hinders performance a bit because the the CPU in this laptop is not fast enough to fully run our GPU. I would stick with 202 personally and make use of the extra 100mhz.

Also, 205 is the newest and if you have USB 3.0 problems that BIOS is worth upgrading to.

hmscott
11-23-2014, 07:20 AM
Apparently it makes the laptop run cooler on idle, but if you overclock any BIOS over 202 takes away one multiplier step away from us which actually hinders performance a bit because the the CPU in this laptop is not fast enough to fully run our GPU. I would stick with 202 personally and make use of the extra 100mhz.

Also, 205 is the newest and if you have USB 3.0 problems that BIOS is worth upgrading to.

Exostenza, which CPU do you have? The 4710HQ or the 4860HQ?

203 dropped the multiplier, but 204 restored it. No report on that aspect from BIOS 205.

The 4700HQ max multipliers are 36x,35x,34x,34x for the Cores 0-3, and 36x for the CPU Cache.

What do you see for your CPU, which is it?

Exostenza
11-24-2014, 01:35 AM
Exostenza, which CPU do you have? The 4710HQ or the 4860HQ?

203 dropped the multiplier, but 204 restored it. No report on that aspect from BIOS 205.

The 4700HQ max multipliers are 36x,35x,34x,34x for the Cores 0-3, and 36x for the CPU Cache.

What do you see for your CPU, which is it?

You are mixing up the 4700 and the 4710 as we have the 4710 in the G751 which has a max multi of 35x and not 34x. In BIOS 202 the max multi for all four cores is 35x.

I wish I had the 4860 in this 2200 dollar laptop, but Asus has me stuck with the 4710HQ. My last gaming laptop that cost 700 bucks less had a better CPU in it... 4810MQ.

hmscott
11-24-2014, 06:04 AM
You are mixing up the 4700 and the 4710 as we have the 4710 in the G751 which has a max multi of 35x and not 34x. In BIOS 202 the max multi for all four cores is 35x.

I wish I had the 4860 in this 2200 dollar laptop, but Asus has me stuck with the 4710HQ. My last gaming laptop that cost 700 bucks less had a better CPU in it... 4810MQ.

Exostenza, I haven't mixed anything up, and you didn't answer the question :)

There are some G751 configurations that have the 4860HQ, which is why I asked which CPU yours came with.
https://www.google.com/search?sclient=psy-ab&q=asus+g751+4860hq&oq=asus+g751+4860hq&gs_l=serp.3...76405.77260.1.77950.2.2.0.0.0.0.131. 249.0j2.2.0.ccynfh...0...1.1.58.serp..2.0.0.46_P3y SGnd8&bav=on.2,or.r_cp.r_qf.&bvm=bv.80185997,d.cGU&biw=1426&bih=903&ech=1&psi=XM1yVN-pO4TSoATluIDQCA.1416809819883.3&ei=q81yVNnrK8n1oASJzoKYBw&emsg=NCSR&noj=1

The 4700HQ example was what I was looking for from you as XTU sees your CPU.

4710HQ on BIOS 202 has a max multiplier 35x for which cores?

BIOS 203 was supposed to drop 1x in multiplier, but the same person that reported that first said that BIOS 204 restored it. I haven't seen any report on BIOS 205 yet.

This whole interchange started because you said *any* BIOS after 202 loses 1x multiplier, but since others have reported differently I am asking you to please check and confirm in BIOS 205 what multipliers the 4 cores and 1 cache can be set to, as in my example for 4700HQ - 36x,35x,34x,34x cores and 36x cache.

Thanks Exostenza :)

Exostenza
11-24-2014, 01:43 PM
Exostenza, I haven't mixed anything up, and you didn't answer the question :)

There are some G751 configurations that have the 4860HQ, which is why I asked which CPU yours came with.
https://www.google.com/search?sclient=psy-ab&q=asus+g751+4860hq&oq=asus+g751+4860hq&gs_l=serp.3...76405.77260.1.77950.2.2.0.0.0.0.131. 249.0j2.2.0.ccynfh...0...1.1.58.serp..2.0.0.46_P3y SGnd8&bav=on.2,or.r_cp.r_qf.&bvm=bv.80185997,d.cGU&biw=1426&bih=903&ech=1&psi=XM1yVN-pO4TSoATluIDQCA.1416809819883.3&ei=q81yVNnrK8n1oASJzoKYBw&emsg=NCSR&noj=1

The 4700HQ example was what I was looking for from you as XTU sees your CPU.

4710HQ on BIOS 202 has a max multiplier 35x for which cores?

BIOS 203 was supposed to drop 1x in multiplier, but the same person that reported that first said that BIOS 204 restored it. I haven't seen any report on BIOS 205 yet.

This whole interchange started because you said *any* BIOS after 202 loses 1x multiplier, but since others have reported differently I am asking you to please check and confirm in BIOS 205 what multipliers the 4 cores and 1 cache can be set to, as in my example for 4700HQ - 36x,35x,34x,34x cores and 36x cache.

Thanks Exostenza :)

Gotcha, sorry. So, BIOS 202 gives 35x for all four cores so it would be 37x, 36x, 35x, 35x on the 4710HQ in my machine. 203 and 204 give 36x, 35x, 34x, 34x. I will have to try 205 soon and report back.

EDIT: BIOS 205 also limits the max multiplier by 1 instead of 2. :(

hmscott
11-24-2014, 02:20 PM
Gotcha, sorry. So, BIOS 202 gives 35x for all four cores so it would be 37x, 36x, 35x, 35x on the 4710HQ in my machine. 203 and 204 give 36x, 35x, 34x, 34x. I will have to try 205 soon and report back.

EDIT: BIOS 205 also limits the max multiplier by 1 instead of 2. :(

Exostenza, thanks for checking :)

What do you mean by 205 also limits the max multiplier by 1 instead of 2? The multiplier drop from 202 to 203/204 for you is only 1, not 2...

37x, 36x, 35x, 35x
36x, 35x, 34x, 34x <= All 1 less, not 2.

I didn't notice, do you have a JT or a JY, I think the guy reporting before had a JY... he said 204 restored the multiplier to normal.

Exostenza
11-25-2014, 07:57 AM
hmscott I meant that normally we should be able to +2 each multiplier and 205, same as 203/204, limit our max multiplier by 1 thus not letting us attain the +2x on each setting that 202 allows us.

I hope I didn't muddle that even more, lol.

EDIT: I sent off the information to technical support and asked for them to hand it off to the BIOS team so I hope this gets a quick fix. Should be super straightforward and simple.

hmscott
11-25-2014, 11:17 AM
hmscott I meant that normally we should be able to +2 each multiplier and 205, same as 203/204, limit our max multiplier by 1 thus not letting us attain the +2x on each setting that 202 allows us.

I hope I didn't muddle that even more, lol.

EDIT: I sent off the information to technical support and asked for them to hand it off to the BIOS team so I hope this gets a quick fix. Should be super straightforward and simple.

Exostenza, thanks, one last thing, do you have a JT or a JY?

Exostenza
11-27-2014, 12:53 PM
G751jy

hmscott
11-27-2014, 01:07 PM
G751jy

Exostenza, thank you. I look forward to hearing what Asus says. I was under the impression that the 204 BIOS restored full multiplier, but it looks like not.

The 202 to 204 update gives you about 10c less on the temps for the CPU, I originally thought it was just adjustment / tuning of the temperature probe calibration - but dropping 1x is going to help drop the temps too.

Seems like a bit of a cheat to reduce performance to reduce temperature. It was a trick used for bringing down temps for long rendering runs. You drop the 4th core down 4x from 34x to 30x, and that was enough to keep the JS out of thermal throttling for dblkk.

If that is what Asus has done, I would request they leave the single core at full multi and drop the reset of the cores 1x, or maybe put the drop all into the last 2 cores, or even the last core like above. You will notice it more on Core 1/2 than 3/4.

Boaz Beatz
11-27-2014, 08:41 PM
my multipliers are 1 active core 35x 2 active cores 34x 3 active cores 33x 4 active cores 33x is that the right vaules? BIOS 205

hmscott
11-28-2014, 02:50 AM
my multipliers are 1 active core 35x 2 active cores 34x 3 active cores 33x 4 active cores 33x is that the right vaules? BIOS 205

Boaz Beatz, highest, not always the same, varies according to load if you are on CPU Min/Max 0%/100% (Balanced Power Plan), or CPU Min/Max 100%/100% (High Performance Power Plan), or CPU Min/Max 0%/99% will turn off Turbo and only run at base speed max, I haven't actually tried 99%/99% but that should run at fixed base speed all the time.

Boaz Beatz
02-22-2015, 01:55 PM
So when will there be an update to the bios to fix it